We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, well located, family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I plus parents both mid eighties stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early April and found it to be an extremely pleasant experience. Very good value with great breakfast and a dinner menu the quality of which bettered anything else in the locality for the price. The hotel is family run and the chef and front of house staff are great. Apart from the cosy comfort (I had the best nights sleep in a hotel ever) in spacious, well equiped rooms, the real advantage is its close proximity to the city centre. A short walk across the stunning museum gardens leads straight to York Minster with other attractions close by. Shortly after our arrival in York my husband and I needed a taxi to the local hospital, and the receptionist/owner did not hesitate in offering to take us in her car, which she did. In my opinion the decor is fitting for a house of that period and I would not like to see it become modernised, sterile and fitted with Ikea furniture (or worse) like so many others we have come across on our travels. The house is in a very quiet street too which is great - the only slight criticism is the the thin walls between rooms which could do with a little sound insulation next time around. We felt a bit guilty about switching the TV on too late or early in the day, but not much of a problem and something most of us can live without.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Having finished an amazing weeks tour of Scotland and The Highlands, we stopped for a night at the Alhambra Court Hotel on our way back to London. We had paid £79 per night which was either greater or equal to the most expensive hotel that we had stayed in during the week.

The hotel is in a fantastic location and only a short walk from the outer walls of the city. First impressions were that the hotel was tired and there was a lot of decorative damage within the communal areas that had not been addressed. Our room (Room 8) was out dated and in need of repair. The bedroom carpet was badly stained and the bathroom was of a poor standard with cork flooring and a shower curtain hanging off the rails around the bath. Luckily, the quality of the room gave us the impetus to leave and explore the York as soon as we got there.

Given the high quality of the hotels in The Highlands and Edinburgh that we had stayed in, this hotel did not even come close to the deliver for the money that was being charged.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Adam101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I recently had a weekend here as part of a small group and was very pleased with the hotel both in terms of its location and general ambience.

It's only a few hundred yards from one of the old city gates and about 10 minutes walk to the Minster and central part of the city. The hotel has plenty of free parking at the back of the building which is another bonus. My single (small double) room was very clean and nicely firnished and both the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Service was very good and the reception staff were excellent. Breakfast was good and the evening meal was OK if nothing special (which is why I've only given 4 stars).

I'd very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammysgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Spent two nights here,dinner,bed & breakfast. Hotel in great location,only 5 minute walk through the park into the city. Hotel also has it's own car park to the rear.
Staff friendly and keen to please. Evening meal was part of our package. this like the breakfast was acceptable.
Hotel decor a little dated,but bedroom was clean and tidy. Usual tray of tea/coffee etc, only item missing was some bottled water perhaps.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed for two nights at Alhambra Court and can highly recommend this hotel. Reception staff friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble, even to taking group photographs on the stairs. Public areas and bedrooms spotlessly clean and spacious. Breakfast was traditional fare and first class.
Good location to visit York attractions only 10 minute walk to York minster and other tourist areas.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifersdownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked for a 2 night stay Fri & Sat. Room on the top floor was satisfactory if a little tired. Bathroom needed a little tcl - new shower curtain & loo seat - but otherwise fine. Breakfast was good traditional though unimaginative - sliced bread toast, no croissants, limited fruit. Staff were helpful & friendly. Easy walk into city centre, 7-8 mins to the Minster.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Capbrown2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay at the Alhambra. The location is perfect for a weekend in York, just a short walk to the centre and train station. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakkie was good although being from Lincolnshire the sausages weren't up to my usual standards! Aside from this, very good and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hubb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,508 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 47 in York
1,563 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £52 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing