We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Yorkshire Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at Alhambra Court in March and stayed for 2 nights,can't beleave some of the latest reviews, we found the hotel first class the staff were warm and friendly and gave us refreshing drinks upon arrival, we found the food in the resturant to be excellent with plenty of choice and good value for the money. We stayed in a 4 poster bed room over looking the road which had all the facilities required. The hotel is a Georgian building and well furnished to suit the period, it has excellent parking at the rear all in close walking distance to the Minster and museum gardens

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Alhambra Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 516 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
42
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

A friendly welcome and a decent room. However the double was in fact two singles joined together and the shower was terrible. The breakfast was a standard fry up. Overall, the location is the best thing about this spot! If the shower facilities were improved I might consider staying here again because I do love visiting York!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel was in a brilliant location but when we arrived we did not feel comfortable staying in our room for more than 10 minutes as there was an unpleasant cooking smell in the hotel. The room was dull and the decoration was tired and a bit shabby. The window in our room (2) overlooked the road and there were no blinds or nets up so the only was to have privacy was to close the curtains even during the day, The bed was comfortable enough and breakfast was ok, although scrambled eggs were not good at all. The staff were not particularly welcoming on arrival and we did not feel particularly well looked after. The parking is about the only plus for this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have no privacy from the street
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great value for money, super food, quite quaint really, near enough to the city centre without being right in the middle, every room is different and it's a very comfortable and peaceful place to stay. Car park at the rear. A ten minute walk over the bridge from the station (and whilst in York you really must get a sandwich from the Hog Roast which is open til quite late in the evening)

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Nikkilalgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I plus parents both mid eighties stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early April and found it to be an extremely pleasant experience. Very good value with great breakfast and a dinner menu the quality of which bettered anything else in the locality for the price. The hotel is family run and the chef and front of house staff are great. Apart from the cosy comfort (I had the best nights sleep in a hotel ever) in spacious, well equiped rooms, the real advantage is its close proximity to the city centre. A short walk across the stunning museum gardens leads straight to York Minster with other attractions close by. Shortly after our arrival in York my husband and I needed a taxi to the local hospital, and the receptionist/owner did not hesitate in offering to take us in her car, which she did. In my opinion the decor is fitting for a house of that period and I would not like to see it become modernised, sterile and fitted with Ikea furniture (or worse) like so many others we have come across on our travels. The house is in a very quiet street too which is great - the only slight criticism is the the thin walls between rooms which could do with a little sound insulation next time around. We felt a bit guilty about switching the TV on too late or early in the day, but not much of a problem and something most of us can live without.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Having finished an amazing weeks tour of Scotland and The Highlands, we stopped for a night at the Alhambra Court Hotel on our way back to London. We had paid £79 per night which was either greater or equal to the most expensive hotel that we had stayed in during the week.

The hotel is in a fantastic location and only a short walk from the outer walls of the city. First impressions were that the hotel was tired and there was a lot of decorative damage within the communal areas that had not been addressed. Our room (Room 8) was out dated and in need of repair. The bedroom carpet was badly stained and the bathroom was of a poor standard with cork flooring and a shower curtain hanging off the rails around the bath. Luckily, the quality of the room gave us the impetus to leave and explore the York as soon as we got there.

Given the high quality of the hotels in The Highlands and Edinburgh that we had stayed in, this hotel did not even come close to the deliver for the money that was being charged.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Adam101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I recently had a weekend here as part of a small group and was very pleased with the hotel both in terms of its location and general ambience.

It's only a few hundred yards from one of the old city gates and about 10 minutes walk to the Minster and central part of the city. The hotel has plenty of free parking at the back of the building which is another bonus. My single (small double) room was very clean and nicely firnished and both the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Service was very good and the reception staff were excellent. Breakfast was good and the evening meal was OK if nothing special (which is why I've only given 4 stars).

I'd very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammysgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £61 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing