We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alhambra court Hotel York - lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went here for my daughter's graduation in York. The hotel is in a lovely spot, easy walk to the Minster and nice part of the city. It is very beautifully furnished in the sitting rooms and the bedrooms were very nice - especially for the price! I would definitelu use it again if I go back

Room Tip: The room we had had 3 single beds in it which can be very useful for families.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PatOgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Alhambra Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I wanted a small friendly family hotel near the centre of York and within easy walking distance of the National Railway Museum for a father and son trip with my 7 year old son - I found everything we were looking for in this warm, friendly, welcoming hotel. Staff were helpful and flexible, the food was very good and the free WiFi very useful, as was the secure off-street parking. It's an easy stroll to the city centre but a quiet street. Would definitely stay here again - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Their are a number of positives about this hotel but also some negatives.
It has the opportunity to be of real value but just fails. First the plus points, very friendly staff, large car park, good location, garden to sit in, breakfast was fine, large lounge, good size tv in room. Now the minus points, the room we had was very dusty needed a good hoover, the extractor fan in bathroom was not working although the bathroom was clean, no blinds or net curtain at windows to have privacy you had to draw curtains, the bed linen looked clean but had some stains, no wifi connection in room only in lounge, bar ran out of draught beer. Some parts of the hotel are worn but this added to the character, it's a shame because it has real opportunity to be so much better if the points above were addressed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank HAMISH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our usual friendly welcome, clean room, excellent breakfasts, and nothing was too much trouble.
The location is excellent, just a short walk into the centre of York.
The public rooms are homely and restful, and the garden is a peaceful haven.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gpajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have been staying at the Alhambra for over 25 years and haven't a bad word to say.

Great breakfasts, beautiful and clean rooms and friendly staff, Only a few minutes walk into the City centre this is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor at the back which was very quiet but does have the occasional train p...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

we stayed here on 10th june for 2 nights as a nice break from work and treat for my partner as I knew she liked the city as a child. was bit unsure what to expect with the low starring online but couldn't have been more happy with our experience. staff were very friendly and helpful, made us feel welcome, room was good size nice bed even tho it was 2 singles together was very spacious. everywhere was clean and tidy, breakfast was very good, they adjusted things on menu if you asked aswel overall great experience and already talk of coming back to same hotel in near future

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clintdanni8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights whilst sight-seeing in the city. The location in perfect, being 10 minutes walk to both the river or Minster in different directions. Our top floor room was spacious but old fashioned in decoration and not quite as clean as I would expect. Be aware that noisy goods trains travel behind the gardens from around 7am to 11pm weekdays, not too frequent but loud enough to wake. Breakfast was half buffet of juice, cereals and tinned fruit and cooked to order English with exceptionally good poached eggs and delicious bacon. Dietary needs are catered for on request. We didn't eat dinner in as there are so many places to try and not many people seemed to so I expect the atmosphere would be a bit non existent. Wifi was only on the ground floor and a bit patchy, would have liked this available in bedrooms too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parrotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £61 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing