We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.very grand.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.very grand.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for one night B&B, old hotel but lovely inside, not far from the river,and museum gardens. Free parking, antique furnishings in lounges, our bedroom fine on second floor nice ensuit room, the railway does run behind this property but we had a great nights sleep. The lift was a bit on the ancient side had no light in while we were there but it did the job. We did have an evening meal which was lovely the breakfast was also very good, well worth the price. Finally just want to mention the staff all were helpful excellent all round. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    191
    44
    13
    4
See reviews for
66
276
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked 2 nights b+b on a weekend trip to York to visit friends and celebrate a birthday - we booked the Alhambra because of its location near the city centre and its Trip Advisor reviews. What a find - this is a very traditional attractive smallish hotel located on a side street. It is perfect for the river, the Minster and the shops - we really enjoyed staying here. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us directions to find the places we wanted to visit. The traditional English breakfast was a good start to a day's sightseeing. This is the perfect base if you want easy access to the city centre - well recommended! We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 20 has a nice view (a bit of car park) and a big opening window for fresh air. There's occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

perfect for a short break in York, less than 10 mins walk through the museum gardens and you are in the centre of town. Hotel is spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and a cozy bar, Will stay here again on our next visit to York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newportscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We ended up extending our stay by 3 days in York at the last minute and our existing accommodation was booked so we found rooms at the Alhambra Court Hotel. The hotel room was basic (took us awhile to find the switch on the outside of the bathroom to turn on the hot water for the shower). The carpets and just the room over all was in need of updates (I was surprised given the prior reviews, maybe it was just our room?). But overall we thought the staff were friendly, the breakfast was good and the location was great. We could easily walk right into the heart of York. Overall the stay was good/average, nothing special, but nothing terrible.

Room Tip: Rooms above the main floor might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiDH503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked this hotel 'blind' for a 2 day trip to York due to its location. We were impressed with the large free car park on arrival and ease of location. All the City centre attractions are a short walk away through a lovely park. The room was a bit dated but as we were immediately above the lounge managed to get a weak WiFi signal. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. We had an evening meal here on one of our nights and very impressed with the quality and cost. As suggested by other reviewers, net curtains for the rooms at the front would be an advantage for privacy as the houses directly opposite have an uninterrupted view! All in all a great little hotel that could just do with a bit of updating. If visiting York again we would definitely consider returning to the Alhambra Court.

Room Tip: Room 2 directly above the lounge picked up a weak wifi signal. Very hot when we went but so was eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went here for my daughter's graduation in York. The hotel is in a lovely spot, easy walk to the Minster and nice part of the city. It is very beautifully furnished in the sitting rooms and the bedrooms were very nice - especially for the price! I would definitelu use it again if I go back

Room Tip: The room we had had 3 single beds in it which can be very useful for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatOgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I wanted a small friendly family hotel near the centre of York and within easy walking distance of the National Railway Museum for a father and son trip with my 7 year old son - I found everything we were looking for in this warm, friendly, welcoming hotel. Staff were helpful and flexible, the food was very good and the free WiFi very useful, as was the secure off-street parking. It's an easy stroll to the city centre but a quiet street. Would definitely stay here again - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 46 in York
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Property: Alhambra Court Hotel
Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing