We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice restored Inn w. a very good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minster Walk Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #19 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice restored Inn w. a very good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Coach House is very nicely restored historic Inn with comfortable beds and very clean rooms and bathrooms. We were very pleasantly surprised to find that the Pub and restaurant are excellent! You do not need to wander York searching for acceptable eating when you stay here, indeed it would be a shame to miss the fine food here. We definitely recommend this Inn!

Room Tip: The family room on the 3rd level is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MainetoEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    135
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
93
359
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

As always this hotel improves each time we visit, it is not large, has no sauna's or swimming pools but it is clean,friendly very welcoming, free cake and coffee after four in the afternoon. A fantastic restaurant with great value food, take the dinner bed and breakfast option and save money. You won't eat better in York. Turn left outside the hotel go down the road and . Visit St Oswalds Church, walk through St Margarets Abbey Park or walk down to the river, all beautiful

If you like pubs, you pass The Bootham Tavern, Sky TV, The Exibition, great food, try the hot beef baquette and just under the Bootham Bar Gate there is the hole in the wall, also great food, try the filled yorshire pudding this is about 400 yards away from Hotel, another 2oo yards there is the Minster

We stayed in Room Number 4 last time four poster bed, view of the Minster separate bathroom with a brilliant shower, no bath, some rooms have baths, parking for around 7 cars. If you want more flexibility there is a private apartment owed by Julie the owner and you can still breakfast in the hotel.

Breakfast is to die for, self service, fruit juice, croissants, cereals, toast, Bacon, smoked and none smoked, sausage, black pudding, thin and thick, tomatoes, hash browns, mushrooms, beans, eggs, fried, poached, scrambled, Im may have forgotten a few items, Tea or coffee. If you come out hungry its your own fault. Lela is the day Manager and she is the most helpul person.

I thought twice about fiulling this in because it may jeopardise my getting accomodation next time I go. It is the only place we now stay in York, if we can't get in Coach House we don't go.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff-Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed for 3 nights, lovely hotel made even better by the staff, everyone was so helpful. Hotel was snug and very clean, room the same. Did I mention the staff.... very friendly with nothing too much trouble for them, food was good too with some of the chef specials the best we have eaten.
Location was ideal, just outside city wall, with a gate into the beautiful yorkshire museum garden just a few minutes walk down the road, 5 minute walk to the Minster area and city centre. only 10 minute walk to the railway museum too as you can cross the river at the bottom of Marygate.

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaySkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We loved our room--four-poster bed with a view of the York Minster and a large bathroom. Breakfast was good, and the pub/restaurant attached to the place had great food (and reasonably priced for what it was) and great dessert. Overall the good location and nice room made this a good value, and we'd probably come back if we return to York.
I will say that we were a bit off-put by the reception when we arrived--one receptionist was a bit brusque. Following this encounter, however, every other staff member I encountered was extremely nice--I bring up the first encounter only to put in perspective how lovely everyone else was.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Minster
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8111Traveller1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

very enjoyable stay, we stayed on 15 and 16 th , of june 2011.
the staff were great,room was clean,with a good bed,breakfast was great with no problems,
evening meal was all home made and very nice.
would recommend, and would stay again.
RECOMMEND THE ONIONS. very freindly staff.
J Robson.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muzzydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

i went for an overnight stay with my husband first time here.a very cosy place,friendly people the breakfast was excellent everything you could possibly need.we were so imppressed with this place we have booked to go back in december we wouldnt hessitate to reccomend this place to anyone cant wait to get back there.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcashaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We retuened to the Coach House after a gap of 3 years. It was just as well kept and friendly as before. It's was I'd call "cosy" in size but the staff provide all you'd want to make life comfortable - only place I've stayed in the last 10 years with comfortable mattresses.

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb the steepish stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing