We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inn in the heart of York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #20 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Inn in the heart of York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel could not be in a better position when visiting York, very friendly staff couldn't do enough for us on our stay, good english buffet breakfast and the traditional sunday buffet lunch was exellent, we have stayed here before and would do again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellapasta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    136
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
94
368
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I called the hotel direct for a two night stay and was upgraded from a room to an apartment. Bonus. On arrival the staff were very pleasent and showed us to the flat, located at the bottom of the street and then gave me a parking token. The flat was well appointed clean and located close to the river. Breakfast was served in the hotel and there was everything expected. Would I stay here again? Yes.
Thank you Coach House

Room Tip: The Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loki-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

A fine wee hotel which only needed a bit of tweaking to make it really good. A good location, only a short walk into the centre of the town. We had the Minster View room (the best in the hotel) which was at the top of a steep set of stairs. The room was small but reasonably comfortable, the big four-poster bed took up most of the space, the bathroom was good sized with a large modern shower unit but no bath. The breakfast was good although the fried eggs were underdone for us, the usual range of breakfast fare. Our dinner, although tasty, was spoiled as we felt that the vegetables were frozen and therefore disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimnJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for the ebor race meeting only because they had a cancelation . . Lucky for us . One of the best we have stayed in york . Breakfast was brill as were the evening meals . We found that the staff were an asset to the place . Only one fault one of the staff must of worked in a school canteen and thought she was still there . We thought that was the only downfall . Been in the catering trade my self it was like going back to school . !

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madgeandbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We had never been to York before and we wanted to stay somewhere with a bit of character . Thats why we opted for the Coach House Hotel rather than your Premier Inns . And we were not let down . The place was lovely , the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was GREAT . It was a nice touch as well with wine and chocolates being there to welcome to your room . When we are coming back to York we will definetley staff here . All in all a great hotel .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed in room 3. Really comfortable bed. Decent bed linen & towels. Bath with a shower over. Clean room. Tea/coffee/biscuits/chocolates & wine all provided. Yes the floors creak but that adds to the charm.

Had a fantastic meal which was very reasonably priced. The staff are really friendly. Cannot fault anything.

The hotel is 5 minutes walk through the museums gardens into the town.

Room Tip: Ask not to overlook the rear - you can get some noise from the bar next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dillydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potteries
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Great location, just outside the city wall. Good room, clean and tidy with complimentary Wine and chocolates. Great breakfast! and free parking! What more could want!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#2 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing