We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely last minute find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #20 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

When travelling back to Scotland from a trip down south we decided we would like to have a short stay in York as we have often thought about visiting the sights there.
We found this gem by accident, we had parked ourselves in a nearby pub with yellow pages and had phoned several places some were way out of our price bracket and we didn't want to settle for a Holiday Inn or other generic hotel
We managed to get their last vacant room; it was a twin attic room. Getting the cases up the narrow stairs was challenging.
While the room was small, my hubby thought it was like being in a fancy cute tent, it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with all you need but the separate WC room size/height and faint odour was the only thing we could slightly fault
The owners & staff were lovely as was breakfast. They were kind enough to allow us to leave our car with them for the day even though we had checked out that morning
I would not hesitate and have already recommended this hotel to friends and family, we would stay here again
York was a great place to visit, we started with an open top bus tour then explored on foot. Minster is of course a must see, when we were inside the choir were rehearsing and the sound was a complete delight

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

Enjoyed a super weekend - made to feel nothing was too much trouble the use of mobility scooter was a an added bonus making our York experience truly memorable

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalaland1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here two nights in August. The first night, we stayed in the family suite on the top floor. Perfect for our family of 2 adults and 3 teens with 2 bathrooms, a bedroom with two beds for our teen girls and a fourposter and daybed for the rest of us. Complimentary wine and chocolates in our room - something for everybody. That night, there was a problem with our room, which we informed them of. The problem itself isn't important - something can happen in any room or any hotel. How they handled it was what impressed us. They moved our bags to 3 different rooms (2 for the teens, one for the parents). They treated us and our time with great respect. They made us feel like our comfort and satisfaction was of the utmost importance. The owner made sure we were happy with our new rooms. Some 5 star hotels could learn a bit about customer service recovery from the staff here. So, why stay here? 1) The great layout of the family room. This room was pretty unique and perfect for our needs. 2) Location is fantastic - better than many of the Boothem B&B's we have stayed in. You can't go wrong with the location. 3) The mix between hotel and B&B. You can be anonymous if you want like in any hotel, without an overly friendly owner getting in your business OR you can engage with their great staff. Your choice. 4) They have a bar! This was great - the kids could go upstairs after touring and watch TV or read and the husband and I could relax in the lounge and discuss our day Two more notes - crazy parking situation but staff have a sense of humour about it and will help make sure you get a sport. Sunday dinner was also very good - roast buffet. Even our picky vegetarian enjoyed her specially made nut roast. I'm very enthusiastic about the Coach House.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mommysdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Overall not a bad hotel, heres our review;
This hotel is old, so brings a lot of character which is great but creaky floors which means when one guest is awake you all are.
Room has tv, clock radio, tea and coffee facilities etc. It was a little cramped but ok.
Bed was very comfortable and we slept great. Everything was really well cleaned and maintained.
Bathroom was cramped and not ideal for people with mobility problems I would think.
All the staff were very friendly and in particular the owner Julie was a real gem.
Yes parking is a bit limited, you are asked to leave your car keys and Julie did a great job of keeping everything in order out there, our car was not moved in any case. I would not let this put you off at all. We can't comment on any of the food as we didn't try any, in line with all our other trips we just can't get up in time!
The hotel is just a very short walk to the river or the walls and in a pretty quiet street with no traffic noise and view of the Minster. York is a great place with lots of really old splendid pubs and loads of eateries and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MANCHESTERTOM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Fantatsic location only a few minutes walk from the Minster. Our room was huge with two shower rooms, a four poster bed, one double and two singles! The decor was plush, in brief, a beautiful room that went beyond expectations.

The breakfast was fantastic - buffet style and the meals were superb. Staff were on the whole very friendly with some really going that extra mile. The bar area was roomy but cosy and you could enjoy a drink here after a long day's sight-seeing. You could literally walk anywhere in the city from the hotel without having to catch a bus.

You are within a stone's throw of the wall and ruins of St. Mary's Abbey and St. Olave's Church. Tea making facilities were regularly re-stocked by staff and we were allowed to keep our cases on the hotel premises after check-out but before our train. The hotel is generally fantastic and that is even before you have ventured into amazing, historic, "haunted" York....

Simply put, i cannot impress on you enough how impressed with this hotel you will be.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel could not be in a better position when visiting York, very friendly staff couldn't do enough for us on our stay, good english buffet breakfast and the traditional sunday buffet lunch was exellent, we have stayed here before and would do again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellapasta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I called the hotel direct for a two night stay and was upgraded from a room to an apartment. Bonus. On arrival the staff were very pleasent and showed us to the flat, located at the bottom of the street and then gave me a parking token. The flat was well appointed clean and located close to the river. Breakfast was served in the hotel and there was everything expected. Would I stay here again? Yes.
Thank you Coach House

Room Tip: The Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loki-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#22 of 194 in York
1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £75 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing