We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel with great food in the BEST location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #19 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel with great food in the BEST location”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

ok, the downsides - parking is a bit of a joke, but you can get day passes to park in the street. The staircase is very steep and very narrow. A bit on the pricey side but not over the top.

Upsides - lots of character, fantastic food, lovely staff (though sometimes a little disorganised, but go with it, they're great). And the BEST location bar none - close enough to walk to everything in York and yet across the lovely park so you're not annoyed by any noise that may be going on.

I woke up every morning to a view of the Minster, its minutes to the wall, the river, the Shambles.

Love love loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussipom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    137
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
94
372
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have stayed at the Coach House Hotel several times and will be staying again in the future.My elderly mother and myself have stayed at this hotel several times each time in different rooms, all the rooms have been clean, well presented and the beds very comfortable.The staff are very friendly and always pleased to advise us on the attractions and places to visit in York. We have had dinner in the restaurant several times as guests and also on day trips to York, we would not dine anywhere esle now when in York. The menu is varied, the food of a high standard, the service good and it is good value for money. The bar area is cosy with a good range of drinks including real ales and has comfortable seating. Breakfast is very good it is self service and includes cooked food. cereals,fruits,yougurts and quality teas and coffees an additional bonus is the hotels free parking .A good hotel, friendly staff, good food and great location in York.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We wanted to book this hotel because of the excellent reviews. Unfortunately, no hotel rooms were available so we were offered their self catering apartment. I couldn't see any pictures of the apartment but since the hotel looked so lovely, I assumed it would be of the same standard. Unfortunately, we were wrong, the apartment was no more than a tatty, cold student flat. The kitchen area was dirty and an ironing board and bucket and mop greeted us. The TV in the lounge area had no reception, three plug sockets didn't work. The bathroom was just awful, once again, tatty, cold with no space for toiletories. There was nowhere to do your hair/make-up, the plug socket for the hairdyer in the bedroom didn't work. The clothes storage was a couple of hooks at the back of the hoover cupboard. All in all, avoid this apartment. We were given a refund of our deposit and booked into the Hilton (only place we could find) at great extra expense.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have just had a weekend stay and found the whole experience to our total satisfaction.
It is very easy to travel to by car and the free car park at the rear is an added bonus. We received a very warm and friendly welcome and shown up to our room which was number 8 at the front of the hotel looking out onto the city wall and the Minster further across. A very comfortable room with a large bathroom and everything was spotlessly clean.The building dates back to the 1700's and is made up of small areas downstairs where you can relax with a drink, the whole place has a warm and cosy atmosphere. We used the hotel restaurant on our first night and found the food and service to be first class, a good selection to choose from on the menu and a very reasonably priced wine list.Breakfast was just as good with a good selection of food on offer and the chef constantly tops up the serving dishes with freshly cooked food so nothing lies about long before it is eaten.Then of course the location of the hotel itself, it is lierally facing the city wall and it is no more than a 3 minute walk into the city itself or you can walk into the museum gardens and go into the city that way, an absolute perfect location.Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay and will stay here the next time we visit York.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the Minster .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GEORDIETRAVELLER011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It's great to hear we are meeting our business goals, and fulfilling your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Just returned with my Father from a few days at this excellent Inn. What a lovely place. Quaint, quirky, cosy just a few words to describe it, I could go on and on. The staff were ALL brilliant, nothing was too much trouble.
I could see that the Double Rooms with Four Poster Beds were fantastic but we required twin beds so I would recommend Room 15 on the ground floor.The attic Twin Room 14 which I loved unfortunately was challenging for the taller person but then it is in the attic, can't have quirky without sacrifice! It did have a big shower/dressing though.
My Father and I do not normally sleep well at home and were surprised how well we slept at Coach House, the beds, pillows and bedding were really comfortable.
The buffet breakfast was hot, plentiful and wholesome and set us up for the day.
The food especially the Carvery was delicious, we ate in the quaint restaurant every night.
It was so good after walking around York all day to relax in the many nooks and crannies on the comfy sofas in the lounge area with a drink after your meal.
We had some lovely walks turning right out of the hotel and strolling down to the River or through the Museum gardens early in the morning and a definate must is to walk the City Walls, it is free, took us a couple of hours all in all but was brilliant.
We also bought a joint ticket for the Tour Bus and River Cruise which was well worth the money and by the end of the trips and the wall walk we knew York very well.
Obviously the Shambles is the famous Street but don't forget Stonegate - make it your duty to go into Tumbling Madness, looks like an Off Licence but has a bar upstairs serving the biggest Pie and peas I have ever seen as well as Mulled Wine which warms your cheeks! Plus all the other amazing shops and buildings to be found in the maze of little cobbled streets.
Just remember to KEEP LOOKING UP or you will miss the unbelievable architecture above your head but be careful not to trip on the cobbles. Comfortable footwear is a must!
Finally, even if you are not a Railway buff we were very impressed with the National Railway Museum, it is FREE yes FREE. Loads of trains and carriages from Queen Victoria's to the Japanese Bullet with memorabilia and huge library. Allow a few hours, it really is great for all the family.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for such a nice review. We are all very glad that we met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Spent two nights here in October. The Coach house made me feel like I was in Merry Olde England. My room was very comfortable, with a huge bathroom and all the amenities. Their restaurant is very good, with the best coleslaw I've had in a long time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PKOLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed in the family suite (Main room: 1dbl, 1 sofa-bed; other room 1dbl 1 sgl, although we put all 3 children in the other room). Worked very well for us. Restaurant was good although doesn't stay open that late (which was fine for us - we ate with the children and then retired to the bar). Real ale was available (one or two I forget).

All 'round very good. Great location too. Car parking is a bit of a faff as cars have to be shuffled 'round, but that wasn't a problem for us.

Will definiely stay here if we come back to york.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 192 in York
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 192 in York
753 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#22 of 192 in York
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing