We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lads & Dads trip to the races”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #20 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lads & Dads trip to the races”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

What a great little hotel,near the river and the town centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the apartment a little way down the street and found it very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic,the best hotel sausages I have ever had.I have already recommended this place to friends and will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thankyou for your positive feedback I will show the girls. Christine sends her best wishes and a message to say she really misses her friendly neighbors!
Kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    136
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
93
367
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

we were advised by another hotel reception to try the Coach House as the breakfast had a very good reputation. They were not kidding it was the best breakfast ever, fantastic choice of fresh well cooked quality food. Staff were extremely polite and very helpful, room was very clean (did the hotel inspector check lol) bathroom was a bit snug but clean , bed was very comfy and the complimentary cake, tea, coffee and beer was appreciated . The stairs are quite steep but that come with an old building with all the charm and quaintness that The Coach House has, literally a few minutes flat walk to the minster but quiet position. Unfortunately won't be visiting again because we came from somerset/Devon but would thoroughly recommend it, whole feel was very friendly but extremely high standards and well run. r&d farley

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Debra, Thankyou for the lovely review! it means so much to us when people leave with a "rosy glow". I will show the review to all the girls and I really enjoyed our chat at reception. Thankyou once again,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just back from a fantastic two night stay in the Honeymoon Suite at the Coach House Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay; the room was fantastic, with an extremely comfortable four poster & a view of York Minster! The evening meals & the breakfasts were delicious. Easy to find and parking was not a problem, either in their own car park at the rear or on street nearby with a permit provided free by the staff. Would definitely recommend the Coach House Hotel to anyone looking for a quality Guest House/B&B in York.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thankyou Bill for your lovely response. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again and I look forward to seeing you both at some point in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Julie.
P.S.
My daughter has made a new u-tube for our web page it will be going live shortly, check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just arrived home from a weekend at York races and stayed at the coach house, loved it, had a great weekend at the races, lovely weather and and a great hotel. Will definately be back..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastYorkshireLevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thankyou for your kind words, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we couldn't have asked for better weather :-)
Hope to see you in the future.
Kind Regards
Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just had to say what a lovely stay we had this weekend. The room was scrupulously clean, the bed was very comfy indeed and the complimentry fruit, brownies and beer were not only a nice touch but very tasty! The breakfast was fantastic, freshly made, piping hot and very good. A wide choice from fruit salads to fry up! Its also true that Julie and her staff are fantastic, friendly and helpful, nothing was ever any bother. We have stayed at lots of diferent hotels and b&bs in York over the years but this is the one we will be making a return to! Can't recommend it enough, C&C Stewart.

Room Tip: Old building so expect to hear the occasional squeaky floorboard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
So glad you noticed all the little extras we try to stand out from our competitors- making you feel at home the moment you step foot through the door.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future :-)

Kind Regards
Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

after staying numerous times at the coach house i feel i have to comment on the review dated 1st may 2012 in which the person regards the coach house hotel tacky. myself and my husband are always made to feel welcome the rooms we have stayed in are always very clean and the food here is excellant.the staff are always very friendly and helpfull. i would not hessitate to reccomend this hotel to friends and family so much so we have already booked to go again in october for my husbands birthday we cant wait to get there. sharon buttle.

Room Tip: room 8 view of the minster at night is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcashaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear alcashaz, Im very pleased that you and your husband had a nice time staying with us (we like to make people happy!) We really do get job satisfaction when a good review comes in and I am now going to print your feedback to show the girls and "our Keith"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

What a great place to stay even comes with free onsite parking. Julie & her staff are so friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Comfortable room with views of the Minster from both the bedroom and shower room, with complimentary fruit, beer & brownies. Also enjoyed the complimentary cake and coffee served in the lounge during the day. The breakfast was certainly a feast, so much choice. I would recommend dining here even if you are not a resident, great fresh cooked food. Ideal location for visiting the sites, minster around the corner or take a short cut through the museum park again, to find more shops/bars and attractions. I left York feeling happy and relaxed so well done the Coach House Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90dawn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear 90Dawn90,
happy and relaxed is what we strive for, when guests arrive we like to take all stress away and replace it with comfort, good food, friendly staff and warm atmosphere. I also like the Chocolate brownies which Caroline makes along we the scrumptious complimentary cakes served in the lounge, which is why I am "plump but happy" partial to the beer also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#2 of 45 in York
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing