We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Jorvik House(York)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
480
143
34
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
143
34
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housecoffee and cakehome made cakesmuseum gardensbrowniemulled winehomemade breadcity centrefree parkingb bon arrivalcar parkfour poster bedlittle toucheslots of characterlovely touchshort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed here for an overnight trip to see the sights in York. The hotel is really close to the centre and parking is free so that was one less thing to worry about. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the 'luxury double' room and it was a little small but perfect for what we needed. The bed was the comfiest I've ever slept and it was lovely and clean. The bathroom was again nice and clean, the shower was big.The English breakfast was freshly cooked to order and very nice, and there was also a good choice. The decor is traditional which is in keeping with the rest of the hotel and enhanced the fact that we were staying in such a beautiful and historic town, we could see the Minster from the hotel room.. Couldn't find a thing to complain about with this hotel and would definitely stay here again on a return trip.

Room Tip: The 'luxury double' we stayed in had a view of the Minster.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thankyou Nicola, I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable break staying with us. York has so much to offer and I have to confess when I travel and return to york it makes me feel very very privilaged to live here. The staff at the Coach House are fab and it shows that they enjoy looking after our guests. Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I travelled solo, but this is also a good choice for families. The lounge area is very inviting, as is the offer of complementary tea/coffee and cake here during the day and on arrival. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The location is fabulous with the Museum Gardens just across the road, and the river at the end of the street. And, they'll do you an evening meal too if you and the kids are just too tired to step out again after a hard day's sightseeing. The building is great too - 16th century.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinnieS138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Winnie,

Thankyou for your great review.
Caroline's homemade Cakes are Wonderful.
Im so glad you were made to feel at home especially when you were traveling solo.
We aim to be a home from home.

Kind Regards
Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My group of 5 couples have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Coach House Hotel in York. From the moment we set foot in the nhote on the Friday afternoon until we left on Monday after breakfast, we had a ball. The staff and their boss nand owner of the hotel, Julie Thomson,made us feel at home. Literally we all felt we were staying in a friends home.
The food was superb. Alwayss piping hot and very generous portions.
Another lovely touch was that tea and coffee PLUS a selection of ckes ws always on hand at no extra cost.
The rooms maybe small, as it is in a 300 year old property, but the hospitality was huge. And obviously Julie must be very nice to work for as it reflects in the friendliness of all members of the staff.
Cannot praise it more and we are genuinely looking forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: My w2ife and I stayed in Room 13 in the so-called attic. Quaint and a tremendous view of York Minster, especially at night as it was lit up.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiltyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Milty Boy,

Thankyou so much for your kind words, it really does help to keep a happy team when we get great feed back. I have printed off your email/review to show all the girls.
It was a pleasure to meet you all, you brought a great atmosphere to the hotel.
Really hope to see you all again in the furture it was a pleasure to meet you all.

Kind Regards
Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is well worth visiting if you're planning a trip to York it is so close to the centre and they have free car parking available which can be a problem in the centre of York. The staff were really helpful and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere plus you get complimentary coffee and cake available in the lounge (the coffee and walnut cake was so tasty) you get a good choice of breakfast menu too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinel240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Christine thankyou for your review, Carolines cakes just keep getting bigger and better, we encourage our guests to slice a peice themselves now instead of us cutting up the cake. This means a big slice tastes even better!
Kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel at Easter 2013, in the 2 bed annex. Staff were extremely accommodating, breakfast was superb. The only down side was there wasn't a bath in the annex, the location was ideal, just walked across the museum gardens and we were in the middle of town

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louloumoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear louloumoir, Thankyou for your review, I used to live in the annex and I was very happy there, it has a nice feel. interestingly I did have a bath in the bathroom but had it romoved.....am now thinking of putting one back in. kind regards, Julie. (like the Louloumoir name)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews