We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Minster Walk Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$90
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
482
143
34
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
143
34
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housecoffee and cakecoffee loungehomemade browniesmuseum gardensmulled winecity centrefree parkingon arrivalcar parkfour poster bedlots of characterlittle toucheslovely touchshort walkquiet streetnothing too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

returned to the coach house in December 2013, solo, and with my family in April 2013, and have rebooked solo for December 2013. it really is one of the best hotels in the uk for the atmosphere, the welcome, the breakfasts, and the uniqueness of the building. The staff are incredibly good, nothing is too much trouble for them. It is also so close to the Minster and the centre of York, that everywhere is within walking distance. The owner Julie is brilliant and by far the best looking hotelier in the UK !!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: book very, very early.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyeaterNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Me oh My !!! ......thankyou for the compliment, You have absolutely made my day! Next time I'm feeling "washed-up and over the hill" I will think of your review and hope you never catch me on a bad day.
Thankyou for being so nice.
Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a lovely old hotel within walking distance of most of York's attractions. The building itself is an interesting maze of stairways. The rooms are neat and clean with all one could need including tea making but there is also tea, coffee and cake available in the sitting room downstairs. The breakfast is great and we also had an evening meal one night which was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. We'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie437_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thankyou Annie for your lovely review. When I first walked into the Coach House (many years ago) I was moved by its charm. There is something about this building which is very special, History, happiness and charm. The Minster bell ringing practice on Tuesday evenings,
the botabical gardens across the road, the Abbey Walls and St Olaves Church, which dates back to the Tudor period all add to the magical beauty of Marygate.
Thankyou.
regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

After a fantastic xmas here we had a long weekend for the viking festival, food was excellent as normal, staff wonderful as norm, everywhere clean and fresh, rooms tended to each day, complimentaries each day, cant wait to go back again this xmas. Would totally recommend it for everyone so friendly.

Room Tip: Have been in several different rooms all are very good, you can have minster views or quite back rooms
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueandytipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear libpixie, thank you for your lovely review. I used to live in the annex (up stairs flat) and my daughter lived in the downstairs flat. It was a long time ago....... and one of the happiest of times. It is a lovely location and on a Tuesday evening you can hear the Minster bells.
Kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I recently booked the Annex which is a spacious two bedroomed flat just down the road from the Coach House Hotel proper. Staff were friendly upon booking in and parking was provided. It was a really good choice for a self catering apartment and in a great location. Flas was clean and pleasant. Breakfast was really lovely. Would definitely recommend staying at the Coach House, we also requested a late check out which was no problem - they gave us until 2pm free of charge!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libpixie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear libpixie, thankyou for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the holiday flat and breakfast at the hotel. It really up-lifts us all when we get good reviews. thankyou again.
Kind regards, Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We came for my Dad's 60th Birthday and were very impressed with the hotel. The hotel was in a perfect location and just 2 minutes walk from the park and the river and 8 minutes stroll to the centre of York. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fantastic. We had an evening meal on the first night and there was a good menu to choose from and the food was lovely. There are complimentary tea/coffee and cake served up until 6pm which I thought was a nice touch.

I would definatley reconmend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 689RebeccaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you Rebecca it was lovely reading your review. I am really pleased your dad had a good 60th and you enjoyed the food. I remember your birthday week-end and what a happy family you are.
P.S. the birthday cake was very nice yum yum!
Kind Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews