We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #20 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Checked in then was offered complimentary coffee and cake ! A fine start to a great stay. All the staff were friendly and helpful,the meals were excellent. The hotel is spotlessly clean with such a relaxing atmosphere , in a quiet street so near the Minster and city centre , would definitely recommend a stay here .Thanks to all the staff .

Room Tip: Attic room had excellent view of the Minster and the stars at night ! Also has beams ,might be a goo...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HELEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Hi Helen. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Minster is a Splendid view at night, I still look on it with awe every time I see it and I have lived here for over 20 years. I am also happy when people appreciate our beams. (the building is 17th century) Kind Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Minster Walk Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We chose to stay here for our first ever visit to York back in March (25th- 28th). We loved the city and will be back later this year and we will definately be staying here again.
Friendly welcoming staff, great atmosphere, lovely breakfasts and comfy, clean rooms.
We even enquired about spending Christmas there!
Thanks to all the staff and hope to see you later this year :)
Claire and Angus

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Claire. Thank you for your lovely review. Happy guests make us happy and it really was a pleasure to make your stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you at Christmas....York is magical at Christmas.
kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Another great weekend once again fantastic time, Once again a big thank-you for making us very welcome, and a big big thank-you to Christine from all the lads. always makes us feel very welcome at the most unsociable hours 100%. Next year will be the forth time at the hotel cant wait till next year. Once again a massive thank you to Julie and all the Staff.

Room Tip: Room 15 on the ground floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hi George, it was great to see you again and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Kind regards, Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 10 June, staff were very friendly and helpful with everything and the complimentary cake was gorgeous! Very good value for money. Breakfast was lovely. Everywhere was lovely and clean. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelhuntersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Hotelhunterx. I really do enjoy my work especially when people express their appreciation. The Coach House Hotel serves nice people in friendly comfortable surroundings, when my guests are happy ....I am happy. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for 3nts at the end of May and thoroughly enjoyed it, The Coach House is a lovely building that has retained all its original charm throughout including the room we stayed in which had an original beamed ceiling and a view of the minster. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival by Lela and was served coffee after being shown to our room. Breakfast was lovely with a wide range of things to choose from. Again with excellent service from Lela. Complimentary afternoon tea was available in the snug every day with delicious cake courtesy of Caroline. How could we resist. Hotel is located within walking distance of the minster and shops, and if you want good pub grub would recommend the Hole in the Wall, just around the corner from the hotel. Loved York and will stay at the Coach House again next time we visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benhol5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Ben, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Lela is such an asset to our charming little hotel and we will miss her soooooo much when she has her baby. During Lela's maternity leave I will be consuming vast quantities of Carolines cakes and drinking copious amounts of Christines fine Theakstons Beer, however when the baby is thriving and Lela returns, the Coach House will be stress free once again! I'm really pleased you enjoyed staying in our little gem of a hotel, "tucked away" in the heart of York.
Kind Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

stayed on may 29th for our20th anniversary stayed in room 3.upon arrival we were early but we were offered tea and coffee and the most wonderful carrot cake,room lovely service fantatic felt comfortable and very welcomed by staff,our room was available early and despite the rain in york had a wonderful time,when we come again we will not hesitate to book here. breakfast fantastic Mark and barbra

    • Value
    • Service
Thank owls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Mark and Barbra, Thank you for making me smile. I really am very lucky to be surrounded by people having a nice time. If my guests are happy I am happy and the Coach House retains its charm. I am really pleased you enjoyed your anniversary and our hospitality.
Kindest Regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed at the Coach House with my nine-year-old son, we both thought it could not be better as our place to spend the night and be well fed with a hearty evening meal, the haddock was moby-dick sized ! Staff were all really friendly and helpful and the room perfect for what we needed, hotel is close to a really nice park with gardens and old ruins which leads to the city and is close also to the riverside. Many thanks to the Coach House from John and James.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

John and James....... what a lovely father and son, freshly shaved and showered for dinner! It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and I am really pleased you had a good time in York. As a repeat visitor we try to give a discount for booking over the telephone and so if you return, remind us about "John and James freshly shaved and showered for dinner" !
Kind regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 194 in York
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#26 of 194 in York
1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#14 of 194 in York
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 194 in York
389 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £78 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing