We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #20 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“happy holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

had a great time a warm welcome with coffee and cake ready and waiting for us after we had unpacked.im an early riser i was up early and reading when julie(the owner)came and asked if she could make me a coffee,and it is great coffee.the place is spotless and nothing is too much trouble for julie or her staff.i am a baker and coffee and cake is there all day for you to help yourself and the cakes are some of the best i have ever had.breakfast is served with a cheery goodmorning and a smile and the food is as good as any ive eaten.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Good Morning Brian. Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to have met you and your wife and I am happy that you had a nice time and enjoyed our food. Its lovely early in the morning at the moment (as I'm sure you know!) we hope to see you again in the future, kindest regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    138
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
96
372
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We go to York every year for our annual girls weekend and the staff and hotel are fantastic. We always have the family apartment and a twin room opposite. The staff always remember you and Julie the Manager makes the time to come and see you and catchup with you. The tea and fresh cake is always welcome after a long day sight seeing and christine's cakes are amazing! Breakfast is always yummy and sets you up for the day. We had dinner at the hotel both nights we stayed as 1 of our party was injured and the food was excellent. The rooms are changed every year we go as Julie and her staff are always trying to make this hotel look at it's best and it is this care and attention to detail which makes us come back year after year and reccomend to all our friends. Keep up the good work everyone and christine I want your red velvet cake receipe.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYork_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Hello and thank you for your great review! Yes we keep trying to improve every year and in January we are having a new room built (joining 10 and 11 and making one larger room) I think we might call it the Tudor room. Kind Regards
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stenhousemuir
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Checked in then was offered complimentary coffee and cake ! A fine start to a great stay. All the staff were friendly and helpful,the meals were excellent. The hotel is spotlessly clean with such a relaxing atmosphere , in a quiet street so near the Minster and city centre , would definitely recommend a stay here .Thanks to all the staff .

Room Tip: Attic room had excellent view of the Minster and the stars at night ! Also has beams ,might be a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HELEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Hi Helen. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Minster is a Splendid view at night, I still look on it with awe every time I see it and I have lived here for over 20 years. I am also happy when people appreciate our beams. (the building is 17th century) Kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We chose to stay here for our first ever visit to York back in March (25th- 28th). We loved the city and will be back later this year and we will definately be staying here again.
Friendly welcoming staff, great atmosphere, lovely breakfasts and comfy, clean rooms.
We even enquired about spending Christmas there!
Thanks to all the staff and hope to see you later this year :)
Claire and Angus

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Claire. Thank you for your lovely review. Happy guests make us happy and it really was a pleasure to make your stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you at Christmas....York is magical at Christmas.
kindest regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Another great weekend once again fantastic time, Once again a big thank-you for making us very welcome, and a big big thank-you to Christine from all the lads. always makes us feel very welcome at the most unsociable hours 100%. Next year will be the forth time at the hotel cant wait till next year. Once again a massive thank you to Julie and all the Staff.

Room Tip: Room 15 on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi George, it was great to see you again and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Kind regards, Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 10 June, staff were very friendly and helpful with everything and the complimentary cake was gorgeous! Very good value for money. Breakfast was lovely. Everywhere was lovely and clean. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelhuntersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Hotelhunterx. I really do enjoy my work especially when people express their appreciation. The Coach House Hotel serves nice people in friendly comfortable surroundings, when my guests are happy ....I am happy. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for 3nts at the end of May and thoroughly enjoyed it, The Coach House is a lovely building that has retained all its original charm throughout including the room we stayed in which had an original beamed ceiling and a view of the minster. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival by Lela and was served coffee after being shown to our room. Breakfast was lovely with a wide range of things to choose from. Again with excellent service from Lela. Complimentary afternoon tea was available in the snug every day with delicious cake courtesy of Caroline. How could we resist. Hotel is located within walking distance of the minster and shops, and if you want good pub grub would recommend the Hole in the Wall, just around the corner from the hotel. Loved York and will stay at the Coach House again next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benhol5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE_THOMSON, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Ben, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Lela is such an asset to our charming little hotel and we will miss her soooooo much when she has her baby. During Lela's maternity leave I will be consuming vast quantities of Carolines cakes and drinking copious amounts of Christines fine Theakstons Beer, however when the baby is thriving and Lela returns, the Coach House will be stress free once again! I'm really pleased you enjoyed staying in our little gem of a hotel, "tucked away" in the heart of York.
Kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,549 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing