We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #19 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here as a couple in the year and booked the honeymoon suite on the top floor, it was breathtaking. Clean, spacious and well worth the money. We had initially only booked the one night and were devastated when we couldn't book it the next evening, but the place was so busy. Breakfasts here are to die for, but only a small restaurant and at peak times had to wait for a table to become free, but worth the wait. Staff very friendly and cheerful, entire hotel was spotless and well looked after. Parking is minimal, as there are literally only a few spaces by the back door. So car keys have to be left at reception in case of a quick move around. All in all, a pleasant stay, well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thankyou Bev, very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
The big room with the four poster is one of the favourite rooms and in January we are having 2 rooms knocked into one room with a Tudor decor. We hope to see you both again, if you ring us check to see if the Tudor room is available.
kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    137
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
94
372
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Been to this old coach house 4 times and it is just wonderful, the staff are very friendly ,the food is good, we go b b &evening meal and the deal is very good ,great location can walk into the town in 5 mins ,just up from the river ,the rooms are a little small but clean and tidy.(great place)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANDAVIES_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thankyou Alan for the great review, we pride ourselves on very good beds, great location, (a new pedestrian path is being built direct to York Minster) and a hearty yorkshire breakfast to see you throught the day. I am pleased you tried our simple evening meals and very pleased you have returned.
Kindest regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Pros:
-Great location (could see part of the York walls from our window).
-Very close to town (easy walk).

Cons:
-Tough to get around in the room (only 2-3 feet on both sides of the bed).
-The lounge area was very old fashioned and drinks were pricey (can of Guinness more than draught at a pub).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thankyou for your review, yes we are old, infact we are 17century, beams, creaky floor boards, every room different, some small some large. We are also only 300 yds from York Minster which is medieval. However we do have modern bathrooms and extremely comfortable beds.
Kind regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for one night and loved it. Staff friendly and helpful (especially the young lady who greeted us at reception). We had a lovely room with a view of the Minster. Had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. Very good location, short walk to shops, restaurants and sights etc. We will be visiting York in the near future and will definitely book the Coach House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GERI50386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Ahhh...... Geri, thank you for your review.Sometimes I really don't want to come to work, especially when the mornings are dark, then I read a nice review and I am reminded about why I have worked in the hospitality industry for 35 years. I really love it when people have a good holiday and return home with happy memories.
Kindest Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If we go to York again, I will definitely look to stay here first. I like the feel of the place. The staff were very nice and the place was welcoming, clean, and cozy.

This is an old coaching inn - so you will get creaky floors and funny little hallways. Which are two things I like about old buildings. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable - a little softer than I usually like, but not too soft so I slept really well. Feather pillow was nice too.

Staff was helpful and professional. Great breakfasts too. Price was good. Parking is a bit tight, a bit like a puzzle game, but no cars were injured while we were there.

The only negative thing I'd have to say is that the water pressure in the shower just didn't quite measure up. I love a good strong stream of hot water, so I feel clean even when I'm too tired to soap up properly! Other than that, the bathroom was fine - there was steady hot water and a good shower head..

York is quite a touristy city and so picking a place to stay can get tricky. We like quiet areas and were worried about noise. Having the Museum Gardens across the street probably helped with the quietness of the area. One night I heard people walking past, but otherwise it was fairly quiet.

Room Tip: The standard room is small but the size is not uncommon in older "city" establishments, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walking4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear walking4beer,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I will show it to all the staff. We like to describe The Coach House as a 'little hidden gem'! We're are glad you enjoed your stay in York.
If you book again, ring us direct and ask for a room with a powerful shower.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a somewhat old fashioned but comfortable hotel. Our room was very small but more than adequate for a city centre stay. Good to have onsite parking. The daily coffee and excellent home made cakes was a lovely addition, and the breakfasts were very good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it as a city centre place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebstersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear The Websters,

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the lovely complimentary cakes and coffee.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Regards,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverforrdwest
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I've been to some places and there are many that I'd visit again. There were a few that felt so comfortable that I wanted to stay put - The Coach House is one of them. What a great Team of people. Everyone went out of their way to make us welcome. The food for all our meals was excellent. We were ten in all and had a most enjoyable weekend. I have no need to look for anywhere else to stay on my next trip to York - I'll be back.

Room Tip: The top room is a long way up steep stairs so avoid if you're not fully mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you for such a lovely review! I have shown all the staff and they all said how pleasant your party of 10 were to serve. It was lovely to serve such happy people! We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal and stay in York.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Take care.

Regards,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 192 in York
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 192 in York
754 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#23 of 192 in York
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing