We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve Hampson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #19 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Steve Hampson”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay at this very friendly hotel - feels like home from home with nothing too much trouble. Conveniently situated and complimentary mulled wine cake and coffee - great place for a short or extended stay and very handy for the Centre. Next to a real ale pub - the Minster (no noise nuisance) - and full of character

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevieutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Ahhhh Steve, Thank you! I hope your brother had a good time and Jane enjoyed the chocolate brownies. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you all a happy Christmas xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    137
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
94
372
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I just spent 2 nights with 4 friends at this wonderful hotel. We had the attic rooms, 1 family and one twin, although we could all have stayed in the family room as it slept 6 with a Four poster bed, double and two singles.
Warm cosy entrance with welcoming snug and bar, mulled wine and homemade cake available each afternoon, bliss!! Breakfast was amazing and plentiful, each order taken individually by the friendly staff. Little touches throughout such water, brownies and biscuits in each room. Julie the owner was on hand to give advice on where to eat and drink, however we would have happly stayed in the hotel as it was so welcoming. Great staff nothing was too much trouble. We hope to return in the summer. Thanks again Julie.

Room Tip: Family room 2 rooms sleeps 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghPigeons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Edinburgh Pigeons, thank you for staying with us and writing such a lovely review. We really love our work here especially when people appreciate our "little extras". It really was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again.
Kindest regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the 'Coach House'it was truly 'first class' in everything from the wonderful room 8, the lovely breakfast, the welcoming and helpful staff, nothing was a trouble for them especially the lovely Caroline in the bar. So looking to returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you Jean for your splendid review! I will show the lovely Caroline and all the staff. It might be a little early but....Happy Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again in the new year.
kindest Regards,
Julie xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have to say this was a find for me doing a vintage fair on the same street and had booked this through late rooms.com.

When me and my boyfriend arrived there was an issue that there was not noticeable parking at the hotel even though we had rang to ask for a space previously. However, the owner could not have done enough to sort this out for us and gave us a permit to park further down the street. great customer service, first rate in fact :-) She also informed us to book with the hotel direct to get a cheaper price and we thought this was a very useful tip to know.

There was complimentary home made cake and coffee on arrival which I just thought was a lovely touch and it was all laid out in a cosy nook of the hotel near they main entrance.

We then meandered out way up the beautiful old stair case to the top of the hotel and had a very cosy and cute room. Me and my boyfriend are very tall and still there were was enough space..The owner did say however that if we booked again we could request different rooms with views etc and this is why she prefers people to book through her direct. So a tip for you all there!! :-)

Like I say the room was very comfortable and clean and no complaints there for me! I slept like a log.

The hotel is handy to the main city which took a walk through the minster grounds to the main drag of shops which was only about 5-10 mins walk away.

The breakfast was to die for. And the waitress was great and took your order for the cooked one of different items you requested on your it rather than just serving up something as standard. A good range of cold cereals and fruit too one of the best laid out I have seen in an independent hotel I have to say.

All in all you made our stay a very enjoyable stay and we will hopefully be returning again as the place was so convenient to all amenities too!

Thanks so much! :-)

Room Tip: Speak direct to the hotel rather than go through your usual internet sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaingoat_rll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Mountain goat...wow our heads are swelling as we read your fab review! its lovely when people give us good feed back in fact it gives us a warm glow especially first thing in the morning when its cold and chilly..... Work is work...lets face it, however we really do feel lucky to be able to be a part of making people happy.
Kindest regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a short break (over night) with my husband. We had a very pleasant experience. Love the location, room was very clean and a decent size. The bed was soooo comfortable and all the staff were very friendly. Best of all was the chocolate cake in the room (melt in the mouth). We will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
yes our chocolate fudge brownies (A gift in the rooms) which Caroline makes are very very moorish! They and her other cakes are the reason for my vastly expanding waistline. We love-it when people have a good time here and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.
Kindest regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were generally pleased with our stay at the Coach House. However, there were some issues which need comment. The waitress for our first two mornings at breakfast seemed to be in a hurry to take orders and serve to the point of being very blunt in her attitude. The light above the wash basin did not work properly, we left a note relating to this item on two separate occasions but this was ignored. When we arrived there was an empty bottle under the bed and it was still there when we departed. In addition the towels were not changed during our four day stay.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room remains clean and tidy during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueHandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your review. I have spoken to the ladies who cleaned your room and they have explained to me that because the bed is a mahogany four poster it takes 4 girls to move it. (two ladies were on holiday )
The light above the mirror has now been replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here on the first weekend of November. The hotel is lovely, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast was very nice. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the city centre and has free parking which is ideal as we just walked everywhere. The room was quite small but it had everything we needed and was very clean and the bed was very comfy.
The only negatives I can think of are that the room could've done with the heating being on at times (especially in the mornings) and it could do with a new tv as the one in the room the picture kept freezing and the remote barely worked, but not a big deal as (minus sleeping) we didn't spend much time in the room anyway and it wouldn't stop us from staying here again in the future. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to York.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 on the 1st floor. It's a nice quiet room. It has a bath with shower head, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Smurfin Thank you for the epic review! you were exactly spot-on with the directions and everything else really. we Foxy Ladies who are often running about the place (more like headless chickens) and so we don't feel the cold, but this is no excuse! we have altered the timer on the boiler so that it comes on early in the morning. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing