We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay...can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minster Walk Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #19 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay...can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Coach House Hotel. It's close to the city centre, and we were made a fuss of. We had a bottle of wine left in our room for us on arrival, there were mince pies and mulled wine each afternoon (it was near Christmas) and the restaurant food was so good, we ate there each night of our stay. The room itself was cosy, and the decor is old-fashioned without being tired.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighthouse_Keeper83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Lighthousekeep I am relieved that you consider old doesn't necessarily mean tired, the girls and I are all "ripe in years" but all the better for it!!!
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond and we really do appreciate good reviews, when people have a city break its something to look forward to and we do really care that you are comfortable here.
Kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    135
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
93
358
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and i stayed in March 2014 for 1 night, we booked on the recommendation of a family member. have to say we weren't dissapointed at all. We arrived earlier than the specified check in time but as our room was unoccupied they allowed us to check in allowing us to make the more of our day, the staff were so friendly and helpful, we were attended to and shown to our room by a member of staff on maternity leave just popped in for a cuppa. the young lady could clearly see the staff on duty were all rushing about tending to other matters and rather than leave us standing she stepped up and checked us in (now thats dedication).
The hotel itself was cosy and spotless and with complimentry tea, coffee and cake this was my kinda place. The rooms spotlessly clean with all the ammenities and a great view of the Minster with the added touch of complimentary hand made brownies and as for comfort the bed was amazing.
The hotel at night was so quiet we actually thought the hotel was empty, it wasn't until breakfast the next morning we realsied just how busy it was.
The breakfast was lovely, pleantiful and very relaxed. the staff were super efficiant and the cooked breakfast arrived very quickly.
I only wish we could have stayed longer...........

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carla_kaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Carla...wow thank you I really do love my job. This morning when I came into work I was cursing the leaves and newspapers on the road outside (the wind had blown them into the porch) and then I read your review and everything ......is beautiful again! ...thank you
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at this lovely little hotel. Room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was promptly served and delicious.

Excellent location just a 10 minute walk from the city center & train station, also situated on a quiet side street with little passing traffic.

Finally the little touches such as the bag of chocolate brownies & the complimentary tea/coffee & cake served daily in the lounge area made this stay extra special.

Will definitely be going back :)

James

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel will no/very little traffic noise so may be slightly better than rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you James for taking the time to write a lovely review. Yes you are quite right the rooms at the rear of the hotel are very quiet (considering we are very central) however because we are down a side road the front is quiet at night. Any how the main thing is you had a good time here which is very important to us.
Kind regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Booked this over the internet, without prior knowledge. Fantastic location and parking may be small, but this is free city centre parking. City walls over the road, and only 10 mins walk from all the main attractions. Staff were very friendly and helpful, felt very much like a family run business.
Room was excellent, with modern shower room/wc and all drink making facilities provided although not really needed as coffee on constant supply downstairs in the lounge. Evening meals very good if you don't want to go out to the hundreds of eateries in the city and breakfast choice more than enough to set you up for a busy day, served promptly and with a smile. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Wrightster, Many thanks for your fab review and we will definitely welcome you back!!! I'm pleased you enjoyed caroline's home made cakes....we all do which is why most of us are round cuddly ha ha
kindest regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Coach House for one night, we had booked and paid by credit card days in advance over the phone. We arrived and the lady on reception could not find any sign of our booking at all. It was only when I repeated the phone conversation she remembered it but could not explain why we were not on their system as we stood there for over 15mins listening to her panic. The hotel was fully booked the propeitor stepped in to assist and offered us a flat to use about a 5 min walk away. We accepted although disappointed. The flat was a 2 bedroomed with a kitchen and bathroom it was nice but we couldnt help but feel let down as we were all alone and had none the the B&B comforts. We also had to go back to the B&B for breakfast which we found a little inconvenient. Breakfast was lovely and the owner was friendly but seems she may have to look at her staffing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sammywhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hi Sammywhizz, thank you for your review, I am now going to eat a whole bag of mini chocolate eggs with the hope that the resulting sugar surge will make me feel less stressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was our first time at The Coach House Hotel and what a find. The staff were so friendly and welcoming, with tea or coffee and home made cake available all afternoon. The room was very well equipped with spotless bedding and towels, and plenty of tea and coffee provided and home made chocolate brownies! The bedrooms are all individual and quirky. Breakfast is superb with plenty of choice. The staff are very helpful with suggestions of places to visit and places to eat. We had a great time and cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Sigrami how lovely to read your wonderful review, I am pleased you enjoyed Carolines cakes and our warn Yorkshire hospitality.
Kind Regards,
Julie Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Even though we had visited York before and parked in Marygate we struggled to find the entrance to the Hotel car park. Eventually finding our way in we were unsure if we in the right place as the car park was minute and we had to block in other cars. Consequently we didnt unload but went inside to check in at reception. The hotel didn't appear that busy but the receptionist immediately put her head in her hands and started muttering "oh god what am I going to do now" this continued for a while and then she said ok I will put you in room 6 have you got your bags? Fearing the worst we asked to be shown our room first and we were pleasantly surprised as it was a nice sized airy room with a good sized bed and shower. So we proceeded to bring up our luggage and settle in. We were a little disconcerted to be asked to leave our car key in case they had to move our car to let others out but gave it over to the receptionist as requested. We overheard further comments one of which was along the lines of just " we might have to ring the Jorvik to see if they have any rooms" so we assume they had overbooked. Then after bringing up our luggage to our room there was a knock on the door by the same lady who advised that she had put us in the wrong room so could we collect our belongings and follow her to room 4 next door. Not wishing to experience another melt down we acceded and moved next door to find a smaller less airy room with a smaller bed and shower room. We didn't unpack but went out to do the tour if York returning in a few hours to change and then went out again to the town for dinner. On returning later to our room we were greated by a sauna and could find no way to turn the heating down so I had to fully open the sash window and we tried to get some sleep on the most uncomfortable bed we have even experienced. Needless to say we slept very little especially once the builders vehicles started to deliver to the site opposite at 5am. We went down at 8.30 for our breakfast which was of a good size and choice but was disappointing bland after which we packed up and left for our next destination.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigeyedpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
ooops sorry pigeyedpete you sound such an unusual guy I am sorry we didnt meet. If we had met I am sure you would have left with a big smile and a strong desire to return!
Kind Regards,
Julie Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing