We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place, perfectly situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #19 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly place, perfectly situated”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here recently on a short break to York. Top place for location, with a lovely walk through the museum gardens every day to the city centre. Attic room a tad cramped but adequate. Staff very friendly and attentive. Good to offer free parking in city centre even though it was a challenge getting in/out sometimes! One small negative point - coffee is probably the worst I have tasted in years, positively undrinkable. Would return though as all other aspects v positive, would be good to try a bigger room.

Room Tip: Try to avoid attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherpagirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you Sherpa girl 66 sorry about the coffee it must have been "standing" to long or possibly to strong. I live on our coffee and boast about our Brazilian espresso beans which we grind then filter so not sure what went wrong. Anyhow I'm very pleased that you enjoyed it here and if you do return please phone 01904 652780 and I will make a special ...fresh...jug of coffee for you.
Kind regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    137
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
94
372
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FIFE SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Perfect situation 5 min walk from most main attractions.Very friendly, spotlessly clean and a great breakfast. Staff were very helpful with good knowledge of local restaurants and attractions.Great nights sleep.Highly recommended.Will defiantly use again. AAAAA+++++

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRUMM528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Grumm528, thank you for your marvellous review. Its great when people leave here happy and if you return to us please telephone 01904 652780 and we will try to make your visit just as special.
Kindest regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely overnight stay at the coach house in mary gate york.We got a very warm welcome from the owner julie, who guided us into their very small and tightly packed car park where you hand over your key and she moves your car if and when it is needed (looks chaotic but seems to work very well).We booked through booking .com and got the last available room which was very small but paid £140 for one night stay so eould probably recommend booking direct from hotel.Allsaid this was avery pleasant stay but its an old building with very noisy floor boards from the rooms above, however I would definitely goback.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pab222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you Pab222 for your lovely review and Yes we do tend to give the larger rooms to telephone bookings, its just nice to talk to people and we can then provide more accurately what it is that suits you....some people prefer large walk-in showers and others a cosy rooms with a bath etc etc. when you return tell us you have stayed previously and we will endeavour to make your visit even better!
Kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, england
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of Feb. Great location, friendly staff. Decent breakfast, we used the bar late one evening, nice friendly but unobtrusive lady serving just us. There is also a nice pub next door too. My only gripe and reason for 3 stars is that our room was far too small for a weekend stay. Never thought to ask for a different room, the hotel seemed full so assumed this was all that was available. On checkout I think it was the owner who noticed which room we had had and mentioned she thought it was too small for a 2 night stay and recommended that if we stay again to book direct and request a larger room. Would stay again if could guarantee larger room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi Shelley Yes When people book over the telephone they usually get the bigger rooms this is because its so much nicer to "talk" to people! we can ask if you prefer a walk in shower or a bath (personally I like a bath, some older people cannot manage to get in to a bath) we can ask do you like a firm or soft bed etc etc and when we have chatted we feel we can offer the perfect room. When we get a fax booking its just not the same. Interestingly the room you had is a particular favourite with some people, strange but true. Anyhow in the future if you do ring for a room we will endeavour to give you a bigger one.
Kindest Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

lovely little hotel. location spot on. breakfast top notch. staff very freindly with good local knowledge. only short stroll to town centre. car park tad small but with a bit of patience and shunting about, sorted. we had room in atic good enough for 2 nights. if staying longer pay bit more for double room, lower down. overall worth a stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jukey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Jukey, thank you for your review and yes our doubles on the first floor are better for a longer visit. If you return give us a call (phones is answered from 7am to 11pm) and we will make sure you get a relly nice room with a view of the Minster.
Kindest Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

we visited as a couple for an overnight stay, when attending the near by barbican centre for a concert.
upon arrival we enjoyed the complimentary cake on offer and coffee provided.
when we were ready,we were shown up to our room by Julie the owner.
our room was as described at the time of our booking. the bed was comfortable and clean as was the bedding.
the shower room was also clean and the shower fully working. there were ample towels provided for us and a small selection of complimentary bathing products were available.
the bar had a wide selection of drinks and the seating area was comfortable ,clean tidy and an enjoyable place to sit and relax.
breakfast offered consisted of a wide variety of choice. we both had a full english breakfast. the food was of a very good quality and also very tasty.

would i recommend here ? Yes definitely. thank you to julie and all of the staff for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: ask what sizes the rooms/ beds are. the owner is very helpful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hi Anne yes I remember you! thank you for your fab review and I'm really pleased you enjoyed the show and our hospitality. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very nice place quite a good choice for breakfast. location was great central for everything you were made to feel very welcome. Tea and cakes offered in the lounge area rooms very clean bed comfortable had a great time meet other people would recommend the coach house. Will use this place again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoachhouse, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you Andrea, Thank you for your lovely review, I hope you received your little cake and birthday card from the Coach House.
We like to make birthdays and anniversaries special for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 192 in York
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 192 in York
754 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#23 of 192 in York
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing