We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minster Walk Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minster Walk Accommodation
Ranked #19 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GLEN RIDGE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed in the family suite, which has 2 bathrooms and ample room for our family of 5. It was nice to fit everybody comfortably, but I felt that the furnishings, especially the carpets, were dated and worn. The room was on the top floor so having to carry large suitcases up 2 flights of winding stairs was a bit difficult, but not unexpected since we knew we were staying in an old B&B. There was an exterior fire door that reduced some of the charm of the family suite and probably could have benefited from some kind of curtain. The smells from the kitchen were surprisingly strong given that we were 2 flights up. Breakfast was buffet style, which is not what I expected from a B&B and we ate in the restaurant for dinner and found the service to be incredibly slow. We actually missed a ghost tour because we had to wait more than 30 minutes for our bill. The location was excellent, though, but I felt the place and staff lacked warmth.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaLancaster, Manager at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
We're very glad you enjoyed the room, and we have taken your comments and we are going to replace the carpets and some furnishings to improve the 'dated' look of the room, however it is against fire regulations for us to cover the fire door, so unfortunately that will have to stay for the time being. We can only offer our deepest apologies for your missed ghost walk - we would have been more than happy to have given you the bill when you returned from your walk if we had known this was the case. Should you come back to York we will make sure that this does not happen again and that your stay is nothing short of fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    135
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
93
358
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Whilst we didnt stay at this hotel the four of us did had a lovely meal there and felt compelled to say so.. The food was lovely and the staff were very attentive. What we saw of the restaraunt and the service I dont think this would be a bad choice of a place to stay. Thank you for an enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squiggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

After booking on line about a month in advance we arrived to be told "There's a small problem with your room" the problem was they had sold it to someone else probably because we were only staying for one night and the other family could offer more profit by staying longer.

The young receptionist was pleasant enough but offered very little assistance in trying to resolve our problem. No manager was appeared present or certainly didn't show their face whilst i was trying to trawl the internet on my phone to find a family room for 5 during the school holidays.

Poor show Coach House very poor !

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank f0xy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaLancaster, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 27 February 2011
Here at the Coach House we take double bookings very seriously, and we are deeply sorry that this happened to you, although I would like to make it clear that our rooms are not re-sold to higher bidders. Your situation was most unfortunate, and there are no excuses, all we can offer is our most sincere apologies and we would like to promise that, should you come back to York again, we will do everything we can to make your stay extra special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Excellent value the room we had was quite small (# 9) but very cosy, clean & warm with all ammenities that you need. Breakfast was just superb and the evening meal also was great. Plus was that no charge for Car parking, also great location easy to get to town, shops, restaurants, pubs etc ... and very near the Theatre Royal - will stay again when next in York

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooting
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights having booked via a 'Visit York' 3 nights for the price of 2 offer. The hotel is very close to the centre of York & only 10 minutes walk to the train station & National Railway Museum. We chose a Minster room which gave views of the Minster through a gap in the city walls. This was a lovely sight to wake up to.
The room itself was fairly small but adequate for our needs. The bathroom had a good sized bath and powerful shower. Our room faced the road but it is a quiet side street so traffic noise was not a problem.

The Coach House is an old building with small corridors & twisting and turning stairs which add to it's charm. The decor is a little old fashioned but that did not bother us.
The breakfast selection is excellent with various cereals, fruit, grapefruit, yoghurt & a buffet style full English - you will not go hungry! If I have one minor complaint about this hotel it is the buffet breakfast. I think it would be better if the breakfast was cooked to order so it is not sitting around at the buffet getting cold. I don't think this would require much extra effort from the hotel.

The hotel bar was cosy & fairly quiet during our visit. They served 1 well-kept local real ale and also some good homemade evening meals. My lambs liver was delicious. There is also a very good pub next door called the Minster Inn which has a good atmosphere and a good ale selection.

Overall I would certainly recommend the Coach House.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband and couldnt have wished for a better location. The staff were great, nothing too much trouble. Breakfasts were lovely and we ate in the restaurant both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Our room was clean and comfortable, but what I liked best was everything was in walking distance from the hotel, just cross the road and you are in the museum gardens, no need to move the car at all while we were there. we will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to York.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattilou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaLancaster, Owner at Minster Walk Accommodation, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
I am so pleased that you had a good time at the Coach House, it really gives us a boost when we have feedback. I will show the girls your review.
kind Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with my partner on a weekend away in York. Can't praise it high enough. Was really lovely. We were worried before we arrived because the snow had come down quite thick and we didn't know if we could get there. I phoned ahead and the staff were very helpful and put my mind at rest.

The bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in, the room, whilst quite small (As expected for a small place like this) was very cosy and had full of character.

Ideally placed and we had a really great weekend, will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster Walk Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster Walk Accommodation

Property: Minster Walk Accommodation
Address: 22 Marygate | Bootham, York YO30 7BH, England (Formerly Coach House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minster Walk Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old cosy hotel Quiet central position. Short 2 minute walk to all main attractions. Minster 300 yds, museum gardens across the road. Owner managed. Train station and bus station 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Minster Walk Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing