We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel, food, location - spot on!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel, food, location - spot on!”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night while we visited York. We had a lovely room in the new part of the hotel with a view of the Minster. It was quiet, which is what we had asked for. We opted for the Special menu, 5-7pm, and had a tasty meal, very good value for money. The mussels were lovely and plump. Service was excellent and the decor modern without being cold. Breakfast was equally as good. From the hotel it took only 10 minutes to get to the Museum Gardens. Straight down the main road and it would have been 5 minutes to the walls or onwards to the shops. We would definately stay here again on our next trip. The hotel was easy to find and the ample free parking a big bonus.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey5146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    559
    280
    116
    65
See reviews for
237
1,231
29
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Stayed at the Churchill last year for 3 nights on a dinner, bed & breakfast special offer. Excellent value as the food was first class. Room was modern, well furnished & quiet & all the staff were helpful & friendly. Ample parking & only five minutes walk from Minster. Have just booked to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy201177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The hotel was lovely however due to previous experiences of hotels in the same price bracket the Churchill is over priced. £120 per night without breakfast is expensive due to the size of the room. The hotel is centrally located and approx 5 minutes walk into the main city.We did enjoy our stay and would recommend due to the location and excellant service.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyhale1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Had to leave a review for this hotel, i was skeptical after reading some negative comments on here, however, what a surprise!!! It was better than I anticipated, the photographs don't do it justice. One of the bonuses of this hotel is the free parking. We arrived well before check in but were allowed to leave our car on the car park whilst we wandered into the centre. When we arrived back we were shown to our room, yes it was small but ample for the two of us. It was modern and very clean, a wonderful room. We then had breakfast in the gorgeous dining room, full english was slightly disappointing but certainly wouldn't put me off staying here again! We will definitely be returning, an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We arrived at the Churchill at around 10am for a one night stay. Although check-in wasn't until 2pm, the hotel were happy to allow us to park in the car park free of charge (they even provided a tourist map and directions into town). As the hotel is five minutes walk from the centre of York, it was ideal and we really felt that it was a good start to our stay.

We had booked a double room on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal (directly through the hotel's website). After returning to check in, we were shown to our room (111) by a very friendly receptionist. The room itself was modern and exceptionally clean, although quite small. It did have nice touches like an iron in the room, flat screen TV, desk with internet access and a walk-in shower with body jets. There is some noise from the corridor outside but it didn't inconvenience us.

When checking in, we'd made a reservation in the hotel's Piano restaurant. The three-course menu is fantastic - we were blown away by the standard of the food and it deserves it's AA rosettes and other awards. The house wine was reasonably priced and good quality. The restaurant itself is stunning and there's a lovely atmosphere. Service was unobtrusive and attentive.

Breakfast was just as enjoyable - there was a good continental selection on the buffet with hot dishes cooked to order.

This hotel is a little gem!

Room Tip: Order the slow cooked beef fillet - divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Excellent stay - again !
Welcoming, helpful staff.
Contemporary furnished rooms - very clean & comfortable.
Divine dinner.
Would unreservedly recommend !

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lookabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Our stay at this hotel was eagerly awaited. It was a family gathering,( 8 of us) all coming together from different parts of the UK for the weekend. We had 2 rooms booked, 1 twin and 1 double, the other party of 4 were arriving later). On arrival we were told that they only had 1 room booked in our name and that 1 had been cancelled the night before. One member of staff said 'not to worry we do have a double available' and offered to take us up to our rooms. But the other member of staff insisted on looking for the mistake on the computer while we stood there for at least 15 mins. It was then discovered that one of the hotel Receptionists had cancelled the wrong room. We were shown to our room, with no offer of an apology and discovered that it was very small and cramped really with a smell of smoke, but on a positive side, was very clean.
At breakfast the next morning my 76 year old mother had come down first and asked for a table for 8 so that we could all sit together which was useful to be able to catch up and also plan our day together and the staff obliged. The following morning our mother requested a table for 8 of us again,but was refused! No reason was given.
To sum up our stay, we found that generally the staff were very unfriendly and would suggest that the odd smile and warm, friendly greeting would not go amiss to all their customers.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelfeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#22 of 47 in York
1,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing