We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only hotel for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in York
Gedney Hill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only hotel for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

I have just read the recent review of this hotel in utter disbelief. My mother and I have been staying here for years, as often as we can, and have recommended it to everyone we know as being a wonderful place to stay with excellent staff, food and service.

In almost ten years, the quality of the facilities has never faltered, even when there was extensive building work under way, and the staff - particularly the reception staff - have always been welcoming, efficient, helpful and friendly. We always feel that they are delighted to see us and sorry to see us leave. In fact part of our "York experience" is the welcome we get at the Churchill.

It is a truly excellent hotel - read the AA report! - and we are very much looking forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Jeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    517
    257
    107
    63
See reviews for
206
1,138
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed here for one night and was fortunate enough to get the advance purchase price (£60pn) for a Double Executive Room, if i had paid the Full Price (£120pn) I would not have been very happy and the review would of been very different. The Hotel is in an Excellent Location about 5 min walk into town centre. When we arrived the reception staff was helpful and she kindly showed us to our room, the room was of average size but did have a larger than average bathroom which was fitted with modern fittings, however the tap was faulty and dropped off if you went near it, the room was extremely warm and when we tried to open the windows they just dropped shut again, I called reception as we also noticed the batteries and back were missing from the remote control for the tv, they promptly sent up the chamber maid who quickly sorted the remote with new batteries and cellotape to keep them in place!!!! however she opened the window and said "there you go" basically you just hold it open, i said this was not acceptable as it was too warm and we needed some air, she said she would speak to her manager who sent her back up with 2 wine menu's to prop open the window!! the room was above a very large boiler which was very noisey with the window open or shut, also there were 2 other rooms near us and the doors really loudly closed during the night which woke us a few times. The Member of staff when checking out gave appalling service he was rude and very abrupt, he was very unclear about what he was asking and this certainly left us feeling we will definatley not return to this hotel again, it was not only us he was like this with either there were other people at reception too receiving this attitude. It is such a shame because this hotel has the potential to be an excellent hotel in a very good location.

Room Tip: Stroll away from York Minster & Ghost Walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlitterbugHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Two of my close friends got married at The Churchill recently and the whole experience was wonderful. We stayed the night before the wedding and the night of the wedding, we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Every member of staff greeted us with a smile and they were all incredibly accomodating. The rooms were clean and the showers were amazing - I spent far too long in there!! The bridal suite was simply stunning. All food was delicious. The wedding ceremony was conducted in a professional and personal manner, it was a beautiful couple of days.
The hotel is just a few minutes walk to the centre of York, very good location.
I can usually find a complaint about anywhere but genuinely I couldn't about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emk2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

10 minutes walk into the City Centre and free car parking at the hotel (thus avoiding York's rip off car parks) makes this a decent choice if you're visiting York.
Room was a bit on the small side, but not a problem. Good breakfast, didn't eat in the evening, so can't comment on that.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wernda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night while we visited York. We had a lovely room in the new part of the hotel with a view of the Minster. It was quiet, which is what we had asked for. We opted for the Special menu, 5-7pm, and had a tasty meal, very good value for money. The mussels were lovely and plump. Service was excellent and the decor modern without being cold. Breakfast was equally as good. From the hotel it took only 10 minutes to get to the Museum Gardens. Straight down the main road and it would have been 5 minutes to the walls or onwards to the shops. We would definately stay here again on our next trip. The hotel was easy to find and the ample free parking a big bonus.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey5146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Stayed at the Churchill last year for 3 nights on a dinner, bed & breakfast special offer. Excellent value as the food was first class. Room was modern, well furnished & quiet & all the staff were helpful & friendly. Ample parking & only five minutes walk from Minster. Have just booked to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy201177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

The hotel was lovely however due to previous experiences of hotels in the same price bracket the Churchill is over priced. £120 per night without breakfast is expensive due to the size of the room. The hotel is centrally located and approx 5 minutes walk into the main city.We did enjoy our stay and would recommend due to the location and excellant service.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyhale1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#15 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing