We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, teeny rooms but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, teeny rooms but worth it”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is in an amazing location, only 10 minutes to York and to add on top of that the free parking it was so ideal, they were also kind enough to let us leave our car parked for our last day of sightseeing.

We were only with the Churchill for 2 nights so didnt sample any of their food but everything looked to clean and looked after so im sure it would have been tasty...ooh I lie, I ordered some room service, some pasta...which was indeed tasty and my partner had a sandwhich which was also fresh and plentiful.

The rooms were pretty small, the smallest I have ever seen...but we didnt plan to spend time in our rooms, we had a great view of the minster, it has everything you needed, an amazing power shower...they made great use of the room size!

I would certainly not hesistate to rebook the Churchill....just perfect for what we wanted!

Enjoy your time in York...also have some tea at Bettys it is lovely...we also loved the Punch Bowl pub, great staff and food! :0)

Room Tip: Request the view of the Minster, nice little side room overlooking gardens and of course the Minster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    536
    267
    111
    64
See reviews for
218
1,187
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
deeside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Booked a year in advance for my brothers wedding (the bride and groom and five other rooms were booked separately too) but two days before we left for York the Churchill phoned to say we had been double booked and we were being moved to another hotel. Very disappointing as we really wanted to stay here, the hotel we were moved to was not as nice and resulted in a £50 car park fee (The Churchill is free) so don't get your hopes up booking in advance....

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jess161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We are very sorry that we inadvertantly double booked part of your group. We do not intentionally make double bookings but in this instance an error was made and we had insufficient bedrooms reserved for you.
When mistakes are made our philosophy is to try to make amends to the best of our abilities and to look after our customers as we ourselves would like to be treated. On this occasion we thought that the Dean Court Hotel would offer the most suitable alternative for yourselves and, in consultation, we reserved bedrooms for your whole party there (so as not to split the group up). As the fault lay with ourselves we readily took responsibility and paid the difference in room rate for your group as their bedrooms command a higher price than our own.
I reiterate our sincerest apologies.
John Wallace
The Churchill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Excellent place to stay. We were greeted by Dave Perry on arrival, who we found to be to be very polite and very helpfull as were the rest of the staff. Will go back again in the near future and would highly recomend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Although we had booked two nights we were bumped from our flight so only had one night. David Perry checked us in and very graciously upgraded us to the Prince of Wales Suite to make up for our lost day. The room was spectacular! The service in the hotel was excellent all around and besides our beautiful room with a large and comfortable bed, excellent bathroom and beautiful living room area we also enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine in the beautiful garden at the front of the hotel. If you are a smoker there is a unique little covered area called Churchill's Bunker with comfortable seating and automatic lighting across the drive from the front doors of the hotel. It was a perfect beginning to our holiday and we will definitely return for a longer stay! Location was easy walking distance to everything yet away from noise and crowds. Thank you to the excellent staff, particularly David, who gave us all kinds of great information in hopes that we would love York as much as he does. We definitely fell in love with the place and the people.

Room Tip: The Prince of Wales Suite is absolutely amazing! Directly over the bar/restaurant at the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destinationplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Went here for a romantic weekend away. The Churchill was a good place to stay. Our room was modern and had a nice view of the gardens. Some interesting art in the rooms. We ate at the restaurant downstairs. Food was tasty though the atmosphere a little dull as there were few other diners. There was a wedding party that night, but the noise was well contained. Churchill's bunker (usually used by smokers) was a nice quiet and cosy place for a drink and some fresh air (no smokers in sight as it was a cold January night).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting York. The location was excellent - close enough to walk to all the attractions and the train station. We even had a view of the Minster from our room! The rooms are tiny but very modern and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We did not eat breakfast but we ate dinner here both nights. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. We will definitely stay at the Churchill Hotel when we visit York again someday!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PookDog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Churchill and will be booking again. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is only a short walk from the city center so it is an ideal location. The only thing that let the hotel down slightly is that we felt that there could have been a wider choice for breakfast but apart from that we were very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmalouise27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 46 in York
1,540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 46 in York
1,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing