We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Churchill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,255)
Filter reviews
2,256 results
Traveller rating
1,041
688
323
131
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,041
688
323
131
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince of wales suitered lettercigar bunkercar parklovely hotelluxury roomshort walkcity centreeggs benedictfour poster bedfree parkingyork minsteron site parkingleave the carfamily roomvisiting yorkfull english
Filter
Updating list...
1,789 - 1,794 of 2,256 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My first time at The Churchill Hotel but definitely not my last! I took my Mum and Stepdad for the weekend as we were going to York Races and it was an absolutely brilliant stay. From the initial booking right through to check out it was simply the best customer service I have received in a long time (and as an Events Manager that travels for work that is saying something!). We ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening and again the service was impeccable as was the standard of food - the only minor niggle was lack of a fish knife but that really was a minor thing. I can't rate this place highly enough and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is in an amazing location, only 10 minutes to York and to add on top of that the free parking it was so ideal, they were also kind enough to let us leave our car parked for our last day of sightseeing.

We were only with the Churchill for 2 nights so didnt sample any of their food but everything looked to clean and looked after so im sure it would have been tasty...ooh I lie, I ordered some room service, some pasta...which was indeed tasty and my partner had a sandwhich which was also fresh and plentiful.

The rooms were pretty small, the smallest I have ever seen...but we didnt plan to spend time in our rooms, we had a great view of the minster, it has everything you needed, an amazing power shower...they made great use of the room size!

I would certainly not hesistate to rebook the Churchill....just perfect for what we wanted!

Enjoy your time in York...also have some tea at Bettys it is lovely...we also loved the Punch Bowl pub, great staff and food! :0)

Room Tip: Request the view of the Minster, nice little side room overlooking gardens and of course the Minster ;0)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Booked a year in advance for my brothers wedding (the bride and groom and five other rooms were booked separately too) but two days before we left for York the Churchill phoned to say we had been double booked and we were being moved to another hotel. Very disappointing as we really wanted to stay here, the hotel we were moved to was not as nice and resulted in a £50 car park fee (The Churchill is free) so don't get your hopes up booking in advance....

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank jess161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We are very sorry that we inadvertantly double booked part of your group. We do not intentionally make double bookings but in this instance an error was made and we had insufficient bedrooms reserved for you.
When mistakes are made our philosophy is to try to make amends to the best of our abilities and to look after our customers as we ourselves would like to be treated. On this occasion we thought that the Dean Court Hotel would offer the most suitable alternative for yourselves and, in consultation, we reserved bedrooms for your whole party there (so as not to split the group up). As the fault lay with ourselves we readily took responsibility and paid the difference in room rate for your group as their bedrooms command a higher price than our own.
I reiterate our sincerest apologies.
John Wallace
The Churchill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Excellent place to stay. We were greeted by Dave Perry on arrival, who we found to be to be very polite and very helpfull as were the rest of the staff. Will go back again in the near future and would highly recomend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Although we had booked two nights we were bumped from our flight so only had one night. David Perry checked us in and very graciously upgraded us to the Prince of Wales Suite to make up for our lost day. The room was spectacular! The service in the hotel was excellent all around and besides our beautiful room with a large and comfortable bed, excellent bathroom and beautiful living room area we also enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine in the beautiful garden at the front of the hotel. If you are a smoker there is a unique little covered area called Churchill's Bunker with comfortable seating and automatic lighting across the drive from the front doors of the hotel. It was a perfect beginning to our holiday and we will definitely return for a longer stay! Location was easy walking distance to everything yet away from noise and crowds. Thank you to the excellent staff, particularly David, who gave us all kinds of great information in hopes that we would love York as much as he does. We definitely fell in love with the place and the people.

Room Tip: The Prince of Wales Suite is absolutely amazing! Directly over the bar/restaurant at the front of the house but we did not hear anything. Beautiful views from the large windows out to the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank destinationplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews