We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break in a lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Churchill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in York
Buxton, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in a lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

From the moment we checked in we had a warm welcome from Dave who kindly showed us to our superior room which was very comfortable. Handy having the free car park and only a short stroll into the centre. There was a good variety of choice at breakfast catering for all tastes and can recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs although the other half enjoyed the full English. Had dinner on our second night and it was to die for - the presentation and taste was second to none wish we'd eaten here on our first night. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble even fixing the plug in the sink!! Will definitely stay here again next time we visit York. Only downside was the dodgy wi fi signal

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    493
    247
    104
    62
See reviews for
188
1,084
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

A family member stayed there a while ago for a special occasion and we wanted to surprise them by paying for their room in advance. Rang and spoke to John (? manager) - who agreed to sort it all out. I left my credit card details and left it to him - hardly difficult to arrange I would think....

Clearly nothing was sorted as my relatives checked in and were charged as normal for their room - no surprise gift!!

When I rang to ask why I spoke to John again who just kept saying he couldnt understand it but would find out and let me know. I'm still waiting for the explanation some weeks later- and have had not a word of apology for the mix up - they ruined what was meant to be a lovely surprise and haven't even had the decency to apologise.

Poor poor service........

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Very comfortable hotel, helpful service, immaculately clean room and excellent selection of breakfasts. Our room was a bit small but perfectly functional, very helpful to have on-site parking so close to City Centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindyaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The recently refurbished room (Executive) was quite small, but adequate. Fixtures & fittings were of better quality than most. Good shower, although fixed head, enough storage space and a very very comfy bed Had no problems sleeping although admittedly they were alcohol induced.
Free car parking (major bonus in York) and close to the city walls, less than 5 minutes walk.

Minor negatives in my opinion only are,
We had a ground floor room which had no secure lockable window facility. Humid during the evening so would love to have had the opportunity of leaving the window open but did not feel safe enough to do this. Room did have AC but unsure as to whether this is centrally controlled. Certainly could not locate any local control

Second minor gripe, Only two tea bags per day left in room. Would imagine reception would supply more on request but felt that. Wife likes a cup in the morning, afternoon and evening.

Date of stay 15/16/17-08-12

Room Tip: If possible avoid the ground rooms purely because of the safety aspect of the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thealmighty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

First, we booked is hotel for the free parking and short walk to the town centre and the free wifi and both of those were fine except the wifi signal was not very strong and had to be chased around the room from time to time.

The hotel is very stylish and I loved the decor. The restaurant and bar are also nicely decorated and the smoking bunker in the grounds is super.

The rooms are very compact, as other reviewers have said, and it was quite a challenge for the two of us to stay there for a few days but OK. We had some problems with the room however but a different room or a different season would mean these problems may not have been encountered so possibly not representative of the whole hotel.

First, the room was very warm and there was no airconditioning or fan or any way of cooling it. Being on the ground floor with the windows opening from the bottom, you could not leave them open at night because of security so we did suffer a bit. And it was only 22 degrees outside during the day. Any warmer outside and the room would have been unbearable.

Secondly, the shower door seal didn't work very well and we couldn't have a. shower without water going all over the floor.

The wifi was a bit temperamental. They only supplied two large and one small towel for two of us.

We had to room by the fire door which opened constantly with a whooshing and then squeaking noise and people went past talking loudly at 2am!

We had a great meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid the room by the fire door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehzoyzdcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This isn't the worst hotel but certainly isn't what the reviews we read and the hotel website make it out to be. Firstly, the rooms are more akin to storage closets, they are so small and decorated in such dark dismal decor that they are depressing. Be aware that room 102, Jennie Suite is above a generator in the grounds that is on continuously, the noise prevents a good nights sleep. The windows have to be open due to the lack of air in the room, so the choice is suffocate or suffer the noise.
We were moved to room 105, the Admiralty suite on our second night. No complaints here, much more room and airy.
We had breakfast which was acceptable, I thought the sausages were too strong for a breakfast sausage, although good quality, this is obviously a personal preference. Sadly whilst eating breakfast I was facing the window. Each had an old radiator in the window bay that was covered in thick dust one had an old pencil at the back. Evidently had not been cleaned since the last decoration.
We sat outside in the grounds on two consecutive days, each time the table was filthy and had not been wiped for some time, covered in glass rings and spill stains.
The barman who served me, I don't know his name but had an Irish accent, insisted on carrying my drinks outside for me. He was very polite and obliging.

Room Tip: If your not sure ask to see the room before booking in and handing over your credit card details
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend in april the weekend of the grand national. I had been to York a fair few times having been based at Thirsk with the Army but had noit been for a few years and after telling my girlfriend what a lovely City it was we decided to visit.

We looked at many hotels and decided on The Churchill and i must say i am glad we did, it was easy to find and although there was a rotary club (or something of this kind) meeting on and we could not check in early the lovely chap on reception told us where we could park and told us if we came back at 1330hrs they would check us in early. We followed his advice and he was there waiting for us with a smile. We were led to our room and it wasnt massive in fact it was quite small but if you are in York then why on earth would you spend any more time in there than you needed to, it had everything we needed and was very clean and crisply decorated, the shower was awesome and the bathroom good. The bed was comfy and i had an two excellent nights rest. it is in a superb location literally a five minute walk from the city walls, just inside those were various bars and restaurants and the York Minster was two minutes further walk.

All in all i had a fantastic weekend made better by my stay at The Churchill, i would recommend without doubt, infact i already have to my mum! Thanks to all the staff who madee our stay a pleasant one, hopefully see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hungry_Chef_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#26 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#18 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing