We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Churchill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$202
US$107
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$204
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
US$68
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,221)
Filter reviews
2,221 results
Traveller rating
1,025
673
320
130
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,025
673
320
130
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince of wales suitered lettercigar bunkercar parklovely hotelluxury roomshort walkcity centreeggs benedictfour poster bedfree parkingyork minsteron site parkingleave the carfamily roomvisiting yorkfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,721 - 1,726 of 2,221 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The rooms were fine, the batheroom was small with few amenaties. Since it was summer the room was hot and the only relief was to open the window which was on the main street.
There was a sense of luxury without the luxury. Breakfast was fine. The restaurant was of a high standard with a veried dinner menu. The staff was outstanding and went out of their way to help.

Room Tip: when booking ask for a garden room - less noise
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

the church is alovely hotel staff friendly food very nice location excellent for near by york centre rooms lovely small but needs air con thats a must will stay again thanks every one we had a great time xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

From the moment we checked in we had a warm welcome from Dave who kindly showed us to our superior room which was very comfortable. Handy having the free car park and only a short stroll into the centre. There was a good variety of choice at breakfast catering for all tastes and can recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs although the other half enjoyed the full English. Had dinner on our second night and it was to die for - the presentation and taste was second to none wish we'd eaten here on our first night. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble even fixing the plug in the sink!! Will definitely stay here again next time we visit York. Only downside was the dodgy wi fi signal

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A family member stayed there a while ago for a special occasion and we wanted to surprise them by paying for their room in advance. Rang and spoke to John (? manager) - who agreed to sort it all out. I left my credit card details and left it to him - hardly difficult to arrange I would think....

Clearly nothing was sorted as my relatives checked in and were charged as normal for their room - no surprise gift!!

When I rang to ask why I spoke to John again who just kept saying he couldnt understand it but would find out and let me know. I'm still waiting for the explanation some weeks later- and have had not a word of apology for the mix up - they ruined what was meant to be a lovely surprise and haven't even had the decency to apologise.

Poor poor service........

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank YorkshireCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Very comfortable hotel, helpful service, immaculately clean room and excellent selection of breakfasts. Our room was a bit small but perfectly functional, very helpful to have on-site parking so close to City Centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindyaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews