We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near to city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is a lovely hotel, well decorated with clean and modern room. The staff were extremely helpful and there was ample room for parking outside if you have a car you don't want a door clashing against in a tight multi storey.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,905)
There are newer reviews for The Churchill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,347 - 1,353 of 1,905 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed at the Churchill for one night and were really made to feel like valued customers right from the initial booking stages. I phoned up to inquire about availability and was given a great deal. When we arrived the receptionist could not have been more helpful, chatting away and giving us sightseeing tips as he showed us up to our room. We were even upgraded to a superior room, which gave us more space for relaxing. The decor was lovely and everything was spotless. My only complaint would be that the room was a little too warm when trying to sleep (but then again, that's not entirely negative as it is winter!). Also it would have been nice to have more than two teabags in the room, having said that staff were more than happy to provide additional tea and fresh milk when we asked. Breakfast was good, with both continental and cooked options. As we did not have a car, they were kind enough to let us keep our bags there after check-out, so we didn't have to carry them around while sight-seeing. All in all, I felt like staff went out of their way to deliver the best service, we would definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to anyone looking to visit or stay in York. Thanks to all the staff!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank EdinburghGirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Dirty room on our arrival, dirty tissue behind the curtain. We raised this issue to a member of staff who argued that it may have been a dirty cleaning cloth and not a tissue! It was a tissue, a dirty tissue. Would the hotel staff find a dirty cleaning cloth acceptable?
The light on the shaving mirror was not working. On returning the following day, the room had not been cleaned-the sink was dirty and there were dirty wine glasses still in the room. This was again reported at reception, the response being-" do you want to check out? " No apology was offered. On using the hairdryer I found a dirty pair of knickers in the hairdryer drawer, size 14 Sainsbury's knickers!!! I am a petite size 6 and would not dream of wearing Sainsbury's knickers. We were very luck to get a cancellation at an excellent hotel nearby, and checked out of the Churchill. The manager was rude, argumentative and unapologetic.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

We are truly sorry that a piece of the blue tissue roll that we use to clean the windows etc had fallen behind a curtain.

We understand that it was a major issue for you that the two wine glasses from which you had been drinking had not been taken from the bedroom when it was serviced on the second day of your stay (from speaking to the housekeeping staff they were unsure as to whether you had finished with them since they were left on the side next to an open bottle of wine which they were not happy to discard). The offer was made to replace the glasses with two clean ones but your request for a substantial refund was considered to be disproportionate and unreasonable.

The subsequent and immediate episode in which a piece underwear was found in a drawer was most bizarre. If this item had been left by a previous guest and overlooked then we are genuinely sorry. We were happy to issue a complete refund regardless of any doubts and were pleased that you were able to find somewhere else to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed at the Churchill with a Living Social voucher, as previously reported by other reviewers the rooms are very small, we were glad we we only booked in for one night. The hotel was very clean and all the staff polite and helpful. We dined in the hotel, the food was good and the decor and atmosphere very pleasant. The only negatives were the basic quality cutlery and glassware.
Our room had a very noisy fan which could only be controlled by reception! We enjoyed our breakfast in the other dining room.
The convenient location, just 10 min walk to the Minster, made the hotel a good place to stay for a break in such a lovely place as York.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We had stayed at the Churchill before so we knew how good it was, so for a birthday treat we stayed in the Prince of Wales suite. What a wonderful room, so spacious and well decorated. The only small problem we found was that the large bath in room had no place for soap or shampoo. The welcome by the reception staff was warm and efficient. The ambience of the hotel is of a past age of elegance, but lots of modern touches as well. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff. The evening meal was delicious and plenty of choice, the early bird menu looked very good but we chose to have the main menu. Breakfast was tasty, relaxed but efficient. The location of the hotel could not be bettered, a leisurely 10 minute walk to the Minster and other tourist attractions. We would definitely stay again if wanting to be in York.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

stayed with friends for 2 day birthday treat.Have stayed beforewith my daughter in standard twin,this time had superior double.Big room but in need of some upgrading/maintenance,cold radiator not working,toilet needed several tries to flush and some mould on window frame and around bath all issues pointed out to reception on checking out.Staff very nice and helpful.Breakfast mediocre.Did not take cooked breakfast but selection otherwise limited especially for price. Hotel within easy walking distance to centre with parking on site.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

As always, we were thoroughly spoiled by all the staff at the Churchill, and over-indulged ourselves extensively in the dining room... The food was outstanding - we've come to expect excellence, but our meals on this visit were utterly superb.

Fantastic service, immaculately clean, food to die for, I slept like a log and I can't praise this hotel highly or often enough!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Jeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#18 of 47 in York
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £96 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing