We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the right room and its more of a 4 star than a 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Churchill Hotel, York

This is a 3 star hotel which is far superior to other similar starred hotels in York (and even down the same street). In many ways it is more like a 4 star hotel but you have to book a superior room to get the full benefit of a stay here as it seems some of the rooms are quite small.

We stayed in the Blenheim suite, which was large and comfortable. The bed afforded a good night’s sleep even though an occasional train passed by on the railway line across the road. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Get the room at a discounted price and it represents good value for money. At the full price some niggles will leave you feeling dissatisfied. For instance the Jacuzzi bath did not work, there were not enough milk cartons in the room, and the radiator valve had to be turned beyond number 5 and back to 1 before it got hot.

The hotel has a traditional style and is pleasant to be in. The staff were helpful and in particular, Dave, the Concierge. There is plenty of parking unless a function is on, in which case you might have to wait awhile. Although in Bootham, outside of the city centre, it is within easy walking distance of all the attractions.

Room Tip: Get a superior room as it will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

We got a room here at the last minute due to having a terrible experience at a B&B on Wiggington Road. After a bad night's sleep and rude service elsewhere, arriving at the Churchill was instantly welcoming and soothing with pleasant staff at check in. The room was warm, clean and attractively decorated with a luxurious feel to it and we had a great stay. The shower was amazing. Another good feature was the off road parking so close to the city centre which makes everything so much easier.

We didn't use the restaurant as there were no vegan options for dinner, and we had a lazy morning and skipped breakfast.

We paid between £60 and £70 for a Sunday night stay, which we felt was extremely good value (and on a par with the awful B&B we'd just come from.) The room rates look a lot higher for Saturdays and peak periods, and for the larger rooms. I have to say that this was good quality accommodation and that we were very happy in the smallest size rom as it was so nice. Also if you go to the hotel's website you can sign up for special offers. Completely recommend it for a treat close to the city centre.

Room Tip: If you're not staying for a very long period the small rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peeriething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Superb hotel, great value, 5 minutes walk from all attractions, easy to find, warm, very helpful and friendly staff, lovely 2 star restaurant, liked the warm friendly and welcoming feel of this hotel, would recommend to anyone, this hotel we couldn't fault, lots parking space which was great to be able to leave the car and enjoy without parking worries. Dave on reception gave us maps and information about York as we have never been before, hope to go back later this year and meet friends here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank raymond w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed the week before Christmas for our wedding anniversary.......NEVER AGAIN!

We would normally overlook a small issue however so many together and the attitude of staff left a lot to be desired.
It passes itself as a Boutique Hotel which do NOT have,
THE ROOM
Worn furniture
Holy bed linen
Curtains which do not shut( floodlights next door)
Aircon /heating controlled at reception
Afore mentioned only stops buzzing unless switched off

The bar fits 10 people in, when we stayed a coffee table was being used for 4 people to eat at. At
breakfast they had not cleaned the room from the party the previous evening...... trails of cake smeared all over the floor, balloons stuffed in lampshades.

We had the same breakfast at Frankie and Bennys the morning before and it was far superior to the one we had that morning
We had to pay for the room when we checked in and were not even asked how our stay was when we checked out.

Please don't give them your money, they are far more interested in the outsiders eating in the restaurant...you will be disappointed!

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nufmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Great location only 5 minutes walk into the historic heart of the city and free parking make this an ideal hotel for exploring York. This combined with spotless rooms, friendly and efficient staff and an excellent reastaurant mean that I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Its worth upgrading to a superior room for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rykmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our stay at the Churchill was a delight...the staff was first rate; particularly Dave at the front desk. He had ideas and knowledge that made our visit to York that much more enjoyable. The restaurant was excellent, the bar fun and beautiful, the parking on site was a nice plus, and the location was within 5-6 minutes of the Minster...we highly recommend the Churchill.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here for an overnight trip on our Anniversary. We wanted to explore York and so the location was perfect. Its literally 3-5 mins walk into the Shambles area where all the shops, bars and restaurants are.

The great thing about this hotel is that it has on site parking, don't be put off by the narrow looking entrance on the photo's, its an easily accesible carpark.
The room was adequate. Everything was clean, tidy, warm and in perfect working order.....its a standard room and for the money we paid was more than OK.

Breakfast was slightly disappointing. The open buffet with the breads, jams, cereals etc was fine. We both ordered dishes with Poached Eggs, and in both cases all the eggs were cooked solid and the portions were a bit stingy considering the price you pay for it (about £10 each if I recall). Having said all that its still way better than microwaved sausages from a Premier Inn.
A definite plus though is the hotel bar! This is much better than almost ANY hotel bar I've ever been in. Really large range of quality products in a cosy setting.....the hotel really should make a larger selling point of it.

Overall this is a good quality hotel from which to base a trip to York, and the rooms rates are very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazinSalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#19 of 47 in York
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £80 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing