We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for the night on the 8 September with our dog. The manager was really nice and friendly and the hotel was fab. Room was a bit small but it was spotless and nicely decorated

Our dog was made very welcome and they set up a table in the bar for breakfast so that we could have our dog with us

Shower was one of the best we have had

Free parking was very welcome

Very close to everything

Next time back in York we would want to stay here again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sue259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    537
    268
    111
    64
See reviews for
219
1,188
26
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What a find! This hotel has it all. It's 3 star but feels much more. The décor is wow and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is very much appreciated after a long drive from the ferry in Scotland. The food in the Piano Restaurant was original and very tasty and all within walking distance of York St John. I'll be back and my brother and wife (on my recommendation) are now booking for this spring :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryna222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Beware this hotel can cancel your advanced booking at very short notice - giving the excuse of double booking!! I was actually travelling on the train, on the first leg of my journey from the Midlands when i received notification of "THEIR DOUBLE BOOKING" . I was unable to take their first call, and it was some time before I received their information. Considering that I had already left home, and was on the way to Kirkham, to join my friend whom I was travelling to York with the following day,this information was a disaster. When I met my friend we had to cut short our arrangments for that afternoon, and spend several hours - yes SEVERAL HOURS trying to organise alternative accommodation. This hotel advised me that they had found accommodation at a 2star alternative - note 2 star not the 4 star we really required. Unfortunately because of time limitation we had to accept their alternative - and what a failure that was!! The only comment received from this hotel was "We have found you alternative accommodation which is cheaper than what you would have paid to stay here"!!! Having looked at other comments Double Booking seems to be a constant problem for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I booked this hotel for my daughter and her boyfriend as a treat after attending her half sisters wedding. She had never visited York before so I deliberately chose a quality hotel close to the city centre. They travelled more than 200 miles to the wedding and arrived at the hotel at 8.00pm only to be told that the room had been double booked despite being paid in full weeks in advance. They had to move to a different hotel and being unfamiliar with York took a while to find it. This meant that they not only missed their dinner reservation ( booked as a birthday surprise) but it was too late to return to the wedding dance. It ruined our evening. How on earth is this allowed to happen? No personal apology from the hotel, only an offer of a discount on a future visit, I would not go within a million miles of the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry that we overbooked and did not have the reserved bedroom available.

I can assure you that we never intentionally overbook our bedrooms despite it being common practice amongst hotels. We have also invested heavily in the latest technology to ensure that online booking agents are given accurate and live availability.

Unfortunately though human mistakes are made on occasions and when something does go wrong we strive to act with the utmost integrity and with the guest's best interests at heart. We will always accept responsibility for our mistakes and would never fail to offer a guest our full assistance including researching and booking suitable accommodation and also paying for any additional expenses incurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We've stayed at the Churchill hotel 3 times, and loved it each time. The rooms are lovely, very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the location is great - just a couple of minutes walk into the centre.

We held our wedding at the Churchill on 31st Aug 2013, and it exceeded all our expectations! Christian the food and beverage manager was extremely helpful and calming (even when I was having a bridal flap ) all the staff worked very hard and the wedding ran smoothly without any hitches. The food was beautiful, all pur guests commented that it was the nicest food they'd had at a wedding! tge evening reception room was great, staff again worked hard. The Prince of Wales suite was just perfect, so luxurious and spacious.

We can't recommend the Churchill highly enough and will definitely be visiting regularly in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEATHERSTONE ENGLAND
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be a great location being just a short walk to the minster and many other points of interest. The room was a fair size, nice and clean with a comfortable bed and the chocolates on the bed when we arrived was a nice touch.
Breakfast had many options and was very nice and the staff being so friendly made it a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights for first time. The hotel is situated about a mile to York Minster and 1/2 mile to the Bootham Bar (old city gate). The hotel is a converted house, with several of the premier suites in the "house" portion, and the remaining rooms in an add on building to the back. We stayed in the Jenny room, which was very nicely decorated, but still small (10x10) for a "luxury suite", and a little crammed. Its the room with the black knobbed 4 poster that you can see in pictures on the web site. We didnt eat at the restaurant, but it looked empty, other than the wedding that was there on the Saturday we stayed. The bar was also empty. The front desk was nice and helpful nd arranged cab for us on way back to train station. There is a grocery store nearby for water and necessities, as well as a few local bars we stopped in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 46 in York
1,540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#26 of 46 in York
1,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing