We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in York
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break in York”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 day b&b break at the Churchill Hotel in York.The hotel was extremely clean.We stayed in room 128 which was very small and a small window with virtually no view.The double bed was quite small.The only way to watch the telly was to lie in bed as there was no seating area.The breakfast was average.It was only a five minute walk into York which was a bonus.I don't know if we would stay there again,if we did it would have to be a much bigger room with a bit of a view.Overall we were a bit disappointed

Room Tip: When booking make sure you know a bit about the roon you will be staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanandJimHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    514
    256
    107
    63
See reviews for
205
1,133
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our small room was OK, overlooking the car park, with a modern bathroom. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, a simple buffet, with cooked breakfast ordered, created and served to the table.

We enjoyed our overnight trip to York, the central pedestrianised area of the ancient city is full of life, and so many interesting nooks and crannies.

Take care of your car when entering the narrow stone gateway of the hotel!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tonyj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lciester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend at the Churchill hotel for a friends wedding. Unfortunately I had a spasm in my back and was unable to attend the wedding due to the pain. The hotel staff were very attentive to me even though there was a. Wedding going on and even drive to collect medication from the hospital that I desperately needed. Ref the actual hotel the decor is very classic and clean and only downside I would say up is the room size as for £125 a night I didn't think it was great value, however the standard off the rooms was of a high level. We are planning on visiting York again and will stay here again but opt for a suite this time.

Big thank you to Hannah for helping me and the staff and hope my little thank you I left on top of our bill made it to you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pauliooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just went for a meal at The Churchill and didn't stop overnight as we live in York, but the meal was so good we thought it worthy of a review. We were using a Smart Voucher experience that we'd been bought and chose to eat here, out of the many restaurants featured within the voucher experience. We were warmly greeted on our arrival and sat in the bar with a bottle of sparkling wine. We arrived early (the restaurant doesn't open until 5pm) but they still made us feel welcome and put some music on in the background. There was a lot of choice on the menu so we struggled to decide what to choose but in the end we went for Pumpkin veloute and my husband chose a chicken starter. We then had beef and pork and for desert I had chocolate delice with peanut ice cream, which was heavenly. The service was top-class and the ambience (even though there was only us two for most of the meal) was lovely. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel for ourselves and a few family members to stay in for a few nights for our wedding. Our first experience of the hotel was a tour and viewing followed by reception telling us they had no vacancies on our chosen date. However we chose to double check on line and managed to book 5 rooms. The rooms were great! My husband booked a table in the restaurant for the night before our wedding, he checked his booking with reception that morning. When it came to the evening the restaurant was fully booked and they had no recollection of his booking. There was barely An apology and it was only after his firm insistence that they sort it out, that we were even offered any form of dining. Finally my sister in law left a couple of bags in her room, phoned to ask reception to keep hold of them and someone would pick them up the next day. When my father went to pick the bags up despite giving details staff new nothing of the bags. A bit of extra stress for our wedding day! Terrible!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ldclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked The Churchill as we were attending a wedding at the Hospitium in the museum gardens and wanted somewhere we could walk to from there. It stands well in its own gardens off Bootham with a small but pleasant reception area. 5 minutes walk gets you to Bootham bar and into the city so very handy for wandering around, shopping, food etc.
The room was quite small but had everything we needed and the bathroom was nice and modern with a good shower, we had a nice big window which looked out onto some small grassy area at the back of the hotel. ( room 114) Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and I would recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 114 had a large patio window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonJG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a beautiful staircase. Our room was OK- quite nicely decorated and had obviously been refurbished. The bathroom was particularly lovely and new. But oh dear- the water pressure was atrocious!! When we tried to have a shower in the morning it was literally a trickle out of the shower head! Managed to wash but it took twice as long and was rather surprising- you'd think that if you went to all the trouble of refurbing the bathroom that you'd sort out the pressure while you were at it.

Also, when we went to bed and pulled back the bedspread there was a stain on the bedclothes! I think the sheets had been washed, but it's not very nice to see a small dark patch when you pull back the covers. At this point it was 11pm and we were knackered- had we noticed it earlier in the day we would have asked them to change it.

The reception isn't constantly manned, which is another slight disappointment, particularly as guests are asked to leave their keys at the desk when they leave the building. People had abandoned their keys on the desk because there was nobody there- hardly good security measures!

Despite these drawbacks it is a lovely hotel with a beautiful façade and common areas, but with a little attention to detail it could be absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holdot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 45 in York
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 45 in York
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#15 of 45 in York
1,525 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 45 in York
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing