We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL FRIENDLY, STILL GOOD FOOD!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“STILL FRIENDLY, STILL GOOD FOOD!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A return to this small but beautifully formed hotel just outside the city walls. Food and service remain splendid and this hotel is ideally situated for those who can walk into the main city area, with the ancient streets, but great shops. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The city has recently introduced some bus lane restrictions on some MAJOR roads in the city centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MENSTRUP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    540
    268
    111
    64
See reviews for
221
1,190
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

As regular visitors to the beautiful city of York we were immediately charmed by this unique hotel and its excellent service after our first stay.
So much so that we chose it as our wedding venue.
We could not be more delighted with our choice to hold our wedding at this wonderful hotel with its gorgeous setting and extremely attentive service and staff. the whole stay was faultless and we cant thank them enough.
We have stayed in and seen a few different rooms and all are to a high standard and very clean. the breakfast at the hotel is lovely and the food we had at our wedding was excellent even though it was served to 60+ people.
All in all we would very highly recommend this hotel and its location is very convenient to the city centre. In addition we had quite a few guests to our wedding staying in the hotel and all have given high praise and would want to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights 11th November onwards and what a wonderful time we had.Hotel brilliant maybe room on the small size but thats not a problem still enough space to do the necessary.We had room 123 which is quite novel as it has a small internal stairway up to the room and no windows excepting a remote controlled roof window.Bathroom very modern with an amazing power shower again small but adequate.Massive wall mounted flat screen TV which probably is a little over the top and a good air con system.Massive double bed and very comfortable,all in all not too bad a room.What really made it such a good place was the staff and the food.Breakfasts served to you with a good choice of hot food,best bacon we have tasted in many a while, plus a help yourself juice, cereals fruit and toast.Wonderful lady waiting on for breakfast which made it more enjoyable as she had a word with everyone whilst serving at the table.Didn't eat in the restaurant at night but instead had room service, the selection of meals was good and after a day wandering around York was just what we needed.There is a small bar which served a good selection of drinks from 5pm each evening and it was good to relax in there before ordering food to be delivered to our room .

Room Tip: upgrade from the standard rooms to get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on our tour. Excellent hotel, the hotel staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had an evening meal included and it was very good, also the breakfasts. The only negative thing I can say is that I couldn't connect onto their wifi and so couldn't a few of the other people on our tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Had this as a gift from Buy-a-Gift, staff were excellent, room was very pleasant and the dinner was superb. Not sure where a couple of the not so good reviews previously have come from, I experienced no problems at all and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkwindSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed Saturday 9th for 1 night, including dinner and breakfast. Room 122 modern, clean and of a good size - four poster bed, nicely set out. A little noise from the Saturday night party but that stopped at a reasonable time. Dinner was lovely and waiting staff very effiicient - particular praise for the slim dark haired man who waited out table - highly trained and new exactly what was expected and what the customer wanted. Food good, nice choice tasty and well presented. Breakfast nice, buffet with hot menu to be ordered - again very nice. Great location, about 5 minutes walk from city walls and Minster. Usually stay the other side of town at the Royal York - this is better by far. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely (122).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hexpansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed Nov 8th &9th on arrival car parking a bit tight but managed to find a space (gateway a bit tight so be careful when turning in. Nice welcome in reception from John (I think)very helpful and informative, with map of where to find places and which sections of the wall walk to take, not for the less able Im afraid. Make time for the Railway Museum. Just wander round and round the city centre so as not to miss any of the narrow streets and history Back to the hotel our room 113 was very well appointed only disappointment on personal note is that the doors are made by a Scottish company and not by the company I work for (sad I know) there was a wedding on the Friday which went on into well into the evening although disco still playing 11.30 pm We couldn't here any noise .We pre booked evening meal (Fri) which was well served and cooked good choices on both menus breakfast was good with a good range of choice all served by friendly staff. Hotel is a credit to all

Room Tip: make sure you do your research with the aid of trip adviser
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ybloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 46 in York
1,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#26 of 46 in York
1,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing