We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Churchill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,256)
Filter reviews
2,256 results
Traveller rating
1,041
688
323
131
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,041
688
323
131
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince of wales suitered lettercigar bunkercar parklovely hotelluxury roomshort walkcity centreeggs benedictfour poster bedfree parkingyork minsteron site parkingleave the carfamily roomvisiting yorkfull english
Filter
Updating list...
1,522 - 1,527 of 2,256 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had a two night stay in this hotel 17/18th November 2013, during a shopping trip in York. Hotel was just a short walk into the the town centre. Food was excellent and all staff made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, it was good to find a hotel in York that had free car parking and also no charge for our small dog. We will definitely return!! Highly recommended.
Sue & Alan Kelsall, Derbyshire

Room Tip: Speak to hotel direct for any special requests for room that you may need, they will advise on room number before placing a hotel booking.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013


We stayed at the Churchill for a 2 night stay costing £340. The Problems with the Hotel and our room were as follows. 
The Hotel carpets on the stairs the hallway and the landings had a lot of large stains, they looked like bleach stains. The Doors on the landings etc were covered in black scuff marks,
Our Bedroom had outdated cheap flimsy black ash effect furniture, it was very worn out looking and was marked and chipped. 
 Poor quality bed, mattress, duvet, and bedding, 
The Bed was not even made properly, the Window frames are in a bad state of disrepair and will not stay open unless you wedge something sturdy under them to prop them open. Which I noticed from outside the hotel that the same had been done in other rooms. 
Very Large hole ripped in one of the net curtains. 
Low water pressure on sink and the bath taps. 
Hole in the bathroom ceiling above the shower which had toilet paper stuffed in to block it. 
Two holes drilled in the tiles, possibly where a shelf once was. 
Toilet was not secure and moved when you sat on it. 
Only one set of towels in the room, I was given another set from reception. 
scaled kettle. 
Crack in the large full length mirror. 
At at a room rate of £340 for a 2 night stay i found the standard of upkeep appalling, Churchills are happy to charge 4 star prices but fall woefully short of the standards expected. The faults were so ridiculously numerous that it is shameful. Maybe our room was an isolated exception to the rest of the rooms but The standards of upkeep for our room and some other parts of the hotel are shocking! 
The room we stayed in is basically very tired and worn out, which can only lead me to believe that the rooms are not checked regularly for upkeep or that they are checked regularly but nobody cares. Which is a shame because it is such a wonderful  period building, and I was really expecting so much more. 
Hopefully on reading this the issues can be dealt with, otherwise you will see for yourself if you decide to check in. 

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyrew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at The Churchill in York after our friends wedding. The room was a reasonable size with nice decor and immaculate. We managed to check in early and the staff couldn't do enough for us. This is highly recommended - especially if you are going to the registry office as it's about 50 yards away!
(Although the room has very good heating/cooling controls the rest of the hotel and even the corridors were very warm - I'm sure they could save some money on their heating bills by turning this down a bit!!)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A return to this small but beautifully formed hotel just outside the city walls. Food and service remain splendid and this hotel is ideally situated for those who can walk into the main city area, with the ancient streets, but great shops. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The city has recently introduced some bus lane restrictions on some MAJOR roads in the city centre. Beware!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MENSTRUP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

As regular visitors to the beautiful city of York we were immediately charmed by this unique hotel and its excellent service after our first stay.
So much so that we chose it as our wedding venue.
We could not be more delighted with our choice to hold our wedding at this wonderful hotel with its gorgeous setting and extremely attentive service and staff. the whole stay was faultless and we cant thank them enough.
We have stayed in and seen a few different rooms and all are to a high standard and very clean. the breakfast at the hotel is lovely and the food we had at our wedding was excellent even though it was served to 60+ people.
All in all we would very highly recommend this hotel and its location is very convenient to the city centre. In addition we had quite a few guests to our wedding staying in the hotel and all have given high praise and would want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews