We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at the Churchill on 22-23 November 2013, during a shopping trip to York. The hotel is a short walk (5-10 mins) from the city walls (and lots of nice pubs and eateries). The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the staff gave us a very warm welcome, maps and general advice about the area. Free parking was a real bonus too! The breakfast is brilliant - a buffet (cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants, toast etc) and then a choice of full english, salmon / scrambled eggs, veggie breakfast, breakfast sandwich. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,911)
There are newer reviews for The Churchill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Selected an hotel, close to the centre of York, for ease of access. The Churchill only being five minutes walk to the Minster. Very attractive building, with good free parking.
Standard of accommodation is very good, albeit we did upgrade to a superior room, furniture etc all quite new, only problem in room, was lack of drawer space.
The food was clearly of very high quality, hence it's two rosette rating. The only downside for my wife and self, is that the quantity is small, albeit very good, more would volume would have helped.
Breakfast was very good, cooked to order, in addition to normal buffet selection.
Staff all helpful and friendly.
Would certainly recommend and return.

Room Tip: A number of ground floor rooms available, with Superior ones larger in size.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-ChrisMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had a two night stay in this hotel 17/18th November 2013, during a shopping trip in York. Hotel was just a short walk into the the town centre. Food was excellent and all staff made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, it was good to find a hotel in York that had free car parking and also no charge for our small dog. We will definitely return!! Highly recommended.
Sue & Alan Kelsall, Derbyshire

Room Tip: Speak to hotel direct for any special requests for room that you may need, they will advise on room...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013


We stayed at the Churchill for a 2 night stay costing £340. The Problems with the Hotel and our room were as follows. 
The Hotel carpets on the stairs the hallway and the landings had a lot of large stains, they looked like bleach stains. The Doors on the landings etc were covered in black scuff marks,
Our Bedroom had outdated cheap flimsy black ash effect furniture, it was very worn out looking and was marked and chipped. 
 Poor quality bed, mattress, duvet, and bedding, 
The Bed was not even made properly, the Window frames are in a bad state of disrepair and will not stay open unless you wedge something sturdy under them to prop them open. Which I noticed from outside the hotel that the same had been done in other rooms. 
Very Large hole ripped in one of the net curtains. 
Low water pressure on sink and the bath taps. 
Hole in the bathroom ceiling above the shower which had toilet paper stuffed in to block it. 
Two holes drilled in the tiles, possibly where a shelf once was. 
Toilet was not secure and moved when you sat on it. 
Only one set of towels in the room, I was given another set from reception. 
scaled kettle. 
Crack in the large full length mirror. 
At at a room rate of £340 for a 2 night stay i found the standard of upkeep appalling, Churchills are happy to charge 4 star prices but fall woefully short of the standards expected. The faults were so ridiculously numerous that it is shameful. Maybe our room was an isolated exception to the rest of the rooms but The standards of upkeep for our room and some other parts of the hotel are shocking! 
The room we stayed in is basically very tired and worn out, which can only lead me to believe that the rooms are not checked regularly for upkeep or that they are checked regularly but nobody cares. Which is a shame because it is such a wonderful  period building, and I was really expecting so much more. 
Hopefully on reading this the issues can be dealt with, otherwise you will see for yourself if you decide to check in. 

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyrew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at The Churchill in York after our friends wedding. The room was a reasonable size with nice decor and immaculate. We managed to check in early and the staff couldn't do enough for us. This is highly recommended - especially if you are going to the registry office as it's about 50 yards away!
(Although the room has very good heating/cooling controls the rest of the hotel and even the corridors were very warm - I'm sure they could save some money on their heating bills by turning this down a bit!!)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A return to this small but beautifully formed hotel just outside the city walls. Food and service remain splendid and this hotel is ideally situated for those who can walk into the main city area, with the ancient streets, but great shops. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The city has recently introduced some bus lane restrictions on some MAJOR roads in the city centre...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MENSTRUP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

As regular visitors to the beautiful city of York we were immediately charmed by this unique hotel and its excellent service after our first stay.
So much so that we chose it as our wedding venue.
We could not be more delighted with our choice to hold our wedding at this wonderful hotel with its gorgeous setting and extremely attentive service and staff. the whole stay was faultless and we cant thank them enough.
We have stayed in and seen a few different rooms and all are to a high standard and very clean. the breakfast at the hotel is lovely and the food we had at our wedding was excellent even though it was served to 60+ people.
All in all we would very highly recommend this hotel and its location is very convenient to the city centre. In addition we had quite a few guests to our wedding staying in the hotel and all have given high praise and would want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#18 of 47 in York
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £94 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing