We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was our second trip to The Churchill, and it turned out to be even better than the first. We were given The Clementine Suite, which we accessed via a grand sweeping staircase. The room was lovely with a four poster bed (an unexpected surprise) and a separate sofa for relaxing on and watching tv (perfect for a child free break). The staff are very friendly and helpful. The full English breakfast arrived promptly and was cooked to our requirements. A real bonus is the location, a brisk five minute walk and your at The Minster. Roll on next year, we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,903)
There are newer reviews for The Churchill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,905 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

We booked a night at the Churchill for my wife's birthday after spotting the hotel on a previous visit to York. We got an excellent deal for an upgraded room which included breakfast and dinner. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and presented my wife with a small box of chocolates for her birthday. The room whilst not large was clean with modern decor and a large flat screen T.V. However the highlight of our stay was dinner which although specified three courses included an extra course compliments of the chef and was a really fantastic meal.
If you visit York, whether or not you are staying at The Churchill, we highly recommend you book for dinner which we thought was excellent value for money at £29pp.

Room Tip: Ask about a deal, because the quoted price of room only was quite expensive.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Had a long drive down and was a bit difficult to find the hotel as the sat nav kept trying to take us down roads that were bus lanes! We did find it in the end though and were extremely glad of the free guest parking (even if the car park is a bit of a tight squeeze when full!) The exterior of the hotel and reception area was very grand and well maintained!
Check in was quick and easy and we were shown to our room by an extremely polite man! We were in room 122 which was spacious and clean and we could see a bit of York Minster from our window, which was quite nice! The bed was comfy and bathroom facilities were perfect for us.
We had breakfast both of the mornings we stayed and it was absolutely fantastic, well cooked and tasty and definitely worth getting! The eggs benedict was particularly delicious, and the staff in the breakfast room were extremely friendly and helpful despite the early hours!
It was only a few minutes walk in to the main town and it's not a problem as it was nice to be slightly out of the way of the hustle and bustle!
We looked forward to getting back to our room after long days of sightseeing and shopping in York, and this hotel was our perfect base! We really enjoyed our stay and couldn't really fault it! Would love to come back one day, and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMWindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Churchill recently and where given a lovely room on an excellent b&b rate. The hotel is very close to the city centre, five minute walk to the minster, restaurants, pubs, shops etc. the room was spacious, clean,well equipped with a large bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was excellent. The hotel stands in its own grounds with lots of parking. Perfect for a York break.

Room Tip: 127 is an excellent room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a disappointment - cannot recommend. Recently stayed in Room 126.
1> Bad points:-
Tiny tiny room, very small bed, insufficient storage (or indeed any other) space (e.g. no drawers) - you live out of your suitcase and in any case there is nowhere to store your luggage.
Small (24 in ?) Technika tv. Glad we were only there one night.
Bathroom - no space for toiletries / personal effects, fitted plug in basin does not seal outflow - can't fill the basin.
Nice looking shower but water pressure so poor that only one of three options work and temperature control does not work - and the door leaks onto the floor!
2> Good points:-
Good location, fairly central.
Nice breakfast, good quality sausages and bacon.
WiFi (but signal variable)
3> Staff
Staff in breakfast room - friendly & efficient
Young woman at reception on arrival - friendly, helpful & efficient
Middle aged man on reception - officious, unpleasant, odious jobsworth who thinks he is doing you a favour by letting you through the door.
4> Summary
Stay here if you must - it is reasonably comfortable BUT try elsewhere first; it is overpriced, small, poor value and some members of staff are unpleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boro_Traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at the Churchill on 22-23 November 2013, during a shopping trip to York. The hotel is a short walk (5-10 mins) from the city walls (and lots of nice pubs and eateries). The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the staff gave us a very warm welcome, maps and general advice about the area. Free parking was a real bonus too! The breakfast is brilliant - a buffet (cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants, toast etc) and then a choice of full english, salmon / scrambled eggs, veggie breakfast, breakfast sandwich. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Selected an hotel, close to the centre of York, for ease of access. The Churchill only being five minutes walk to the Minster. Very attractive building, with good free parking.
Standard of accommodation is very good, albeit we did upgrade to a superior room, furniture etc all quite new, only problem in room, was lack of drawer space.
The food was clearly of very high quality, hence it's two rosette rating. The only downside for my wife and self, is that the quantity is small, albeit very good, more would volume would have helped.
Breakfast was very good, cooked to order, in addition to normal buffet selection.
Staff all helpful and friendly.
Would certainly recommend and return.

Room Tip: A number of ground floor rooms available, with Superior ones larger in size.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-ChrisMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#18 of 47 in York
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £96 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing