We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Christmas"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is the 2nd Christmas we spent at the Churchill and the 4th time stay, and has everything we wanted in a fine old Hotel. The Christmas Package was the best! Rooms were excellent, food outstanding, full service bar great, service the best I have seen in the UK, and the location great with an easy walk into the city of York. Will all ways stay at "The Churchill", when traveling to York from the U.S.

Room Tip: All rooms at The Churchill Hotel are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Two night treat for my Christmas present. Beautiful building with parking which is a bonus. Staff were friendly & our room was big & the bed extremely comfy. We had one night with a meal included & the restaurant was quiet but the lighting made it very romantic, we had a great night & the food was lovely. The romance may have been added by the snow beginning to fall outside but the staff were friendly & happy to talk to us about the courses available.

Second day we ventured in to a snow covered York which was just wonderful. Leaving the car behind & enjoying some of the local pubs. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivvy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had our wedding reception here in 16th Nov 2013, we had 58 day guests and 100+ at the evening.

The day was everything we wanted and more, the food was superb and everyone commented on how good it was. We had three courses and guests were able to pre order, when the food was brought to the table, the staff knew who was having what and so it was presented to you, no having to call out. All dietary needs were catered for, even those that came up on the day.

Wine was continually topped up, no need to ask for a refill.

The setting is also superb and was have many gorgeous photos taken both indoors and out and on the most magnificent staircase.

Smokers were thrilled with their own personal bunker in which to slope off for a sly fag!!

John and his team looked after us so well, and with ease. Knowing what you wanted and when.

Choosing a venue is so hard, but we chose so well, could not have asked for more, Thank you to the team at Churchill Hotel.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night on a room only basis.hotel is only a few minutes walk into York with car parking.Could not fault the value for money and restaurant is available but we chose to eat elsewhere therefore Could not comment on food.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Myself, my sister and my partner were apart of the christmas package at the churchill hotel over christmas and it truly exceeded our expectations.

The food was delicious, came out on time and all together, no waiting on food or having food cold, everything was perfect, felt like 5 star dining.

The environment was lovely, the decor was beautiful and they created a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, with live piano music to make it feel a bit posh :)

The staff were just excellent, they truly cared about your experience and did an awful lot to ensure you were happy, they entertained us, had us laughing, took us to a show, had us joining in on quizzes and raffles, it was just incredible.

I had an excellent christmas this year and it is all thanks to the churchill hotel, i really appreciate the effort put into the christmas package and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntyhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The staff here are rude and abrupt. They do not deserve any custom at all. Helpful and accommodating !!!! They do not know the meaning of the word. Nice building, huge shame about the reception staff. I would never step foot in the place or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Well located hotel. Staff were, without exception friendly polite and helpful. The room in the new block was very nice comfy bed and good shower. Heating was a bit of a problem though but we turned off the heating and asked for another duvet which was perfect. Dinner was yummy. Breakfast nicely cooked and. Not buffet cold bacon and stale eggs. There wasn't a table available until late but they were honest about the time and actually we enjoyed the experience as we were v hungry by 915 PM. This was a little pre Christmas break & we so enjoyed it. Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyfenSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#19 of 47 in York
1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,536 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £76 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing