We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient comfort in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed one weekend to attend a wedding. Late booking consequently paid the price though still represented good value in comparison to competitive hotels in York. Standard room somewhat cramped for a couple though well appointed and well presented. Friendly efficient service from all members of staff. The breakfast menu offered a good choice of freshly cooked
quality produce.We didn't sample the restuarant due to other commitments but heard complimentary comments from other guests. Being in a convenient location close to the historic city centre, and all toursit attractions with free parking, we would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stirky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Churchill 29/12/13
Went with friends and we requested the room with the bath as a treat for our friends, we were so pleased when they were upgraded and given the chosen room.
We were on a DBB basis and I can honestly say the food is some of the best we have ever had !
The presentation and taste was fantastic, the chef even sent out an appetiser. We were a bit dubious of eating here because of the cost £150 for two people which we considered reasonable.
We had a great stay and close to York centre shops and great old pubs.
Only slight criticism there was a few good cobwebs and plenty of dust in hall and stairways but could put that down to being after Christmas and decks getting a bit tired, otherwise fab this was our 2nd visit and we will definitely return.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeep24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was a little worried reading some of the other reviews on trip advisor for the hotel but it was fantastic. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who gave us directions and a map to the town centre when we turned up rather early.
Our dog came with us and the staff could not have been more accommodating, offering us breakfast in the bar so the dog could join us and telling us of the local dog friendly pubs!
The room was lovely and spacious and had everything we could need - kettle, iron, ironing board, hair drier.
We ate in the piano room restaurant and the food was delicious and very fairly priced.
The hotel added to a fantastic weekend in York and I would definitely reccommend The Churchill!
The only one negative was that price didn't include breakfast, it wasn't the cheapest room and would have been nice to have been included and not as an optional addition for a cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simba198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is the 2nd Christmas we spent at the Churchill and the 4th time stay, and has everything we wanted in a fine old Hotel. The Christmas Package was the best! Rooms were excellent, food outstanding, full service bar great, service the best I have seen in the UK, and the location great with an easy walk into the city of York. Will all ways stay at "The Churchill", when traveling to York from the U.S.

Room Tip: All rooms at The Churchill Hotel are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Two night treat for my Christmas present. Beautiful building with parking which is a bonus. Staff were friendly & our room was big & the bed extremely comfy. We had one night with a meal included & the restaurant was quiet but the lighting made it very romantic, we had a great night & the food was lovely. The romance may have been added by the snow beginning to fall outside but the staff were friendly & happy to talk to us about the courses available.

Second day we ventured in to a snow covered York which was just wonderful. Leaving the car behind & enjoying some of the local pubs. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivvy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had our wedding reception here in 16th Nov 2013, we had 58 day guests and 100+ at the evening.

The day was everything we wanted and more, the food was superb and everyone commented on how good it was. We had three courses and guests were able to pre order, when the food was brought to the table, the staff knew who was having what and so it was presented to you, no having to call out. All dietary needs were catered for, even those that came up on the day.

Wine was continually topped up, no need to ask for a refill.

The setting is also superb and was have many gorgeous photos taken both indoors and out and on the most magnificent staircase.

Smokers were thrilled with their own personal bunker in which to slope off for a sly fag!!

John and his team looked after us so well, and with ease. Knowing what you wanted and when.

Choosing a venue is so hard, but we chose so well, could not have asked for more, Thank you to the team at Churchill Hotel.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night on a room only basis.hotel is only a few minutes walk into York with car parking.Could not fault the value for money and restaurant is available but we chose to eat elsewhere therefore Could not comment on food.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#20 of 47 in York
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £79 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing