We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The building and decor itself is fantastic, everything looks great and it is all kept very well.

Pricey, but you're paying for the surroundings and brilliant location, not forgetting the breakfast; plenty of variety and spacious dining room.

I can't remember anything to point out about the service unfortunately.

Would stop again, great for a romantic break.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bernie_yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    536
    267
    111
    64
See reviews for
218
1,187
26
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Small room barely any better than a travel lodge, smallest toilet i have ever seen in a hotel and £170 a night?

Awfully rude service on more than one occasion during my one night stay. The onl positive was it was clean.

The worst value and overrated hotel i have had the displeasure to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I visited the Churchill Hotel over the New Year period intending to find out what festivities York had to offer. Upon our arrival we were informed that the hotel celebrated New Year with a Gala Buffet evening and as a result we were invited to attend. What a great night it turned out to be. Outside guests also attended and like us sampled a fantastic hot buffet together with music from a Scottish Piper and a live disco to dance the night away. Although slightly expensive it was well worth the money. During our two night stay at the Hotel we were allocated a family room which was clean and spacious with a modern bathroom. Unlike one previous reviewer we found the staff to be friendly helpful and eager to please particularly during the Gala evening when they went out of their way to make it a night to remember. The breakfast each morning was freshly cooked and the menu seemed too cater for all tastes. We have no hesitation in recommending the Churchill Hotel and are considering another visit to celebrate New Year 2014.

Room Tip: Would advise an early arrival prior to checking in as the car park can get very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This stay was for a romantic night away with my partner We arrived very early, asked if we could be cheeky and leave the car in the car park and check in later. We were asked which car was ours and we felt a little off with the reaction of the gentleman on the desk as we weren't in a brand new BMW like most other cars outside of the hotel.
Once checked in and shown to the room we felt he attempted to be amusing by commenting he didn't understand why there was a bath in the bedroom, however we thought this was a nice feature and therefore failed to amuse us!

The room itself was nicely presented, spacious and homely. The bed was very comfortable and the modern bathroom was a nice touch compared to the oldy worldy feel of the rest of the hotel. The presentation of the Hotel is very good and creates and lovely atmosphere.

During check in we were asked if we could leave the key at reception when heading out, for security, and in the evening we opted to dine out in York at a lovely little French restaurant. When attempting to leave the key on the way out there was no one around to actually hand it to which left us standing around until we found a random member of staff to take it off our hands!

We left early the next morning due to travel arrangements and when checking out we didn't feel like our custom was valued as much as others, maybe because we didn't use the hotels breakfast facilities??
We did however get a good nights sleep in the comfy bed and the black-out curtains were fantastic and welcoming!
The hotel itself is in an ideal location however we may research elsewhere to stay next time we visit York. Such a shame as the look and the other reviews made the Hotel an easy choice to make but just felt a little let down.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macca7955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I were in York for our 21st Wedding Anniversary, I had carried out some investigation prior to our visit and identified the Piano Restaurant at the Churchill Hotel as the venue for our celebratory evening. The atmosphere was delightful, the soft ambiance of the lighting accompanied exquisitely by the enchanting compositions from the piano. The service was familiar but executive providing a relaxed but efficient delivery of the culinary splendor. The wine was presented impeccably, the steak was divine and the desert was a bombardment of pleasure.
We did not stay in the hotel itself but from the experience we had dining I will stay there next time I am in York.
Thank you to all the staff who made our evening special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. We had an executive room which was basic and was extremely small. Breakfast was very disappointing! Cheap ingredients and tasteless. Would not return. It's a shame as the hotel looks stunning and location was good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

The standard bedrooms are indeed pretty small but are ample for the shorter stay or business trips. For a longer visit perhaps the larger Superior rooms might be worth the extra £10-£20 per night.

I'm afraid that we disagree that our breakfast ingredients are cheap though. Within the confines of keeping breakfast competitively priced and affordable we buy quality local produce as much as possible ie the sausages are delivered on foot from Ye Olde Sausage Shop on the Shambles, the eggs are delivered in person by the farmer and the breads are not supermarket sliced rather come from Howard's Bakery in Harrogate. I've drawn your comments to the Head Chef's attention about breakfast tasting bland and for this we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We booked a Friday and Saturday night stay and had a really relaxing break despite a heavy downpour on Saturday afternoon.
This was a Living Social deal and included a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine, which we had on the first evening, and it was fabulous!
Situated a short stroll from York Minster with free residents car parking, The Churchill is well placed for visiting York's attractions.
We were looking to dine in York centre the second night but the food here was so good we booked a table for the second night and again it was exceptional.
The Executive room we were given was, to be honest, quite small but thanks to a really helpful, polite and efficient receptionist, Lauren, we were given a more suitable room.
Lauren's obvious willingness to provide exceptional customer service, along with that of all the people at Churchill,made our stay very special.

Room Tip: The Executive room we were first given does not have a bath, only has a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkw15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of the hotel. In particular you really have made Lauren's day, she's actually an apprentice with us and is already proving an asset to the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 46 in York
1,540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 46 in York
1,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing