We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very happy!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night in early January. As it was the quiet season we got an excellent rate. Hotel was lovely - in a very good location about 5 mins from the center of York. They have free parking which is a plus in York. Our room was pleasant, the staff were lovely and the decor of the hotel was very very nice. I wish we had a longer stay so that we could enjoy the facilities more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMainlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    536
    267
    111
    64
See reviews for
218
1,187
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Wow what a fantastic night. The 9 course tasting menu for valentines was amazing. The food was hot when it needed to be not to much and quite exquisite . The room was decorated well and all the staff were helpful and very friendly. This really is a hidden gem. Would I recommend you bet I would

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Only a 1 night stay in this wonderful hotel. On arrival we were upgraded to a beautiful suite with four poster suite, with a rolltop bath in the bedroom. A great location to go sightseeing.A very relaxing ambience at the Churchill Hotel, we had pre dinner drinks in the bar and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel is very impressive from the outside and pretty good on the inside too. We originally booked a twin room as these are larger and according to the website recently refurbished. A bit too recently tho as the decorators were still in it when we got there. However no complaints as we were immediately upgraded to a suite free of charge. Our room (The clemantine suite) was spacious, newly decorated with plenty of storage and a flat screen TV. It included tea and coffee making facilities and some nice toiletries in the bathroom. A couple of minor gripes, the shower was on the cool side, and I found the room too cold for my liking, although my husband found it fine for him. Reception were unable to alter the temperature, but they did offer a fan heater. We didnt eat in the hotel but the bar downstairs was nice and had a good atmosphere. The car park is a bit of a tight squeeze but manageable and the hotel itself is literally minutes from the centre of York. The staff were friendly and helpful and all things considered I would be happy to return here.

Room Tip: Look at the website for room sizes as some are pretty small. The clemantine suite is spacious and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I had a pleasant stay in the Churchill; clean, welcoming and has helpful and friendly staff.. Breakfast is over priced and we couldn't seem to source any beans with a full English for some reason.. Rooms were clean and well presented, bit of a noisy air-con vent that we couldn't seem to turn off. Overall this is a well situated hotel and is worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaemi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a short break at this hotel which was perfectly positioned to enable easy access to the mediaeval centre and city walls. With free parking this was a winner. We were in an executive double which was very spacious and quiet. The room has warm-air heating which is not everyone's first choice but was easily warm enough for our requirements. We were greeted warmly and shown to our room in good time to spend the whole afternoon in York and returned to a good dinner chosen from the a la carte menu - perfectly cooked scallops, smoked haddock and chorizo starters followed by shoulder of lamb in cabbage parcels and pork fillet with belly pork. To finish we chose the cheese and a very light coffee and pistachio dessert (moreish!) which were very enjoyable. The restaurant was full and had good atmosphere and we were able to repeat the experience the following night which, being thursday, we were surprised to find was also quite busy. We had a long day in York the next day following breakfast freshly cooked to order and when checking out on the friday were told we could leave the car in the car park whilst we went for last minute shopping; essential purchases from the famous Bettys! York is a wonderful city for a break and staying at the Churchill helps to get the most out of the time there.

Room Tip: We were in room 113 which is to the side at the back and had no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The building and decor itself is fantastic, everything looks great and it is all kept very well.

Pricey, but you're paying for the surroundings and brilliant location, not forgetting the breakfast; plenty of variety and spacious dining room.

I can't remember anything to point out about the service unfortunately.

Would stop again, great for a romantic break.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bernie_yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 46 in York
1,540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 46 in York
1,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing