We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for winter weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in York
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for winter weekend stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hotel is in a good spot for sightseeing and free parking a real bonus, though watch those gates on the way in and out!. I booked this as part of my partners birthday present. We spent Friday 21st and the subsequent Saturday. We had a room in the new block, which despite not having any windows was very pleasant. There was a sky light. The room was warm overnight and we used the air con unit even in Feb. All staff we encountered were very helpful and pleasant. We didn't eat in the hotel for dinner but we did have breakfast which was fine. A couple of big tables were in both mornings but on both occasions the waitress managed our expectations well with regard to any delays. Would totally recommend the hotel for anyone looking for a good location for a city break stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    514
    256
    107
    63
See reviews for
205
1,133
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This charming historic hotel is a great choice when your visiting York. Easy walk from the train station and to the central part of the city. Our room was on the top floor, no windows but a large skylight, the room was modern and clean and a pretty good size for the UK. Breakfast was included in our stay and was good. No wi-fi but you can get computer access in the lobby.

Didn't use the cigar bunker but what a cool feature to have. Would have to stay longer but would not hesitate to book again at The Churchill and I am very happy to recommended it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTimeCDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were given a Red Letter break at the Churchill Hotel as a Christmas present. We visit York on a regular basis and knew where the Churchill was and we were excited about a luxury break. The hotel is a fine building situated a short walk from the city centre and minster.
Having had a reasonable experience booking our date (this can sometimes be frustrating with red letter deals) we arrived early to park the car and go exploring. We checked with reception and this was ok. We arrived back at the hotel to book in properly and get changed for dinner. The staff had changed ! We were shown to our room by a frosty receptionist. The room was really only for one and that would be a squeeze. It had a double bed a table a tv that could only be viewed if you stood in the shower. There was only one bath towel and two coffee sachets, when we complained to miss frosty she said she would put it right, along with the lamp that didnt work but she never did. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful and the staff were wonderful but thankfully miss frosty was missing.

Room Tip: If there is more than one of you check the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Booked for my birthday and wasn't disappointed. Dropped off our cases early and went exploring. Lovely friendly staff. Food was good. Only downside no residents lounge. I was looking forward to sitting beside a roaring fire in comfy chairs. Would go back

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurad5342015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to have an overnight break in York and had seen this hotel when driving in to York on a previous visit. It was a good decision to book here as it was an easy walk into York. The room was very comfortable, staff extremely helpful and the food at dinner and breakfast was well prepared, presented and delicious. I think we need to make a return visit soon!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatyDelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Churchill on valentines weekend. The staff were very friendly on arrival and showed us to our room. The room was pretty small, but had everything we needed. The shower and beds were excellent. In the morning breakfast was great. The full English appeared small, but was excellent quality and was very filling so I was well satisfied. The parking was a bit of a nightmare as the car park was very crowded and we struggled to get our car out of the space, but thats York for you! The city wasn't really designed for cars! We would go again, and perhaps try the Havana cigars in Churchills cigar bunker!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire,UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here with my wife for just the one night. This was as a Red Letter Days gift from our daughter. I did read many of the previous reviews and to be honest I can't really relate to the negative comments the the exception of the fact that only one one set of towels was provided in the room. Not a great problem though.
We had a really pleasant stay although we only ate breakfast which was included in the package.
We arrived early as we had purchased two day York Passes and wanted to see as much as possible using them. We went straight to the hotel where we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who informed us that our room would not be ready until after 2pm but that we were more than welcome to leave the car in their car park and check in later whenever we were ready. This allowed us to have a good day sightseeing and to have a meal in York before returning to the hotel, which is only a few minutes walk from The Minster area.
Check in was no problem and another very pleasant member of staff showed us to our room in the newer part of the hotel added a few years ago. The room was very nice and well equipped with free wifi, good sized tv, kettle and drink making sachets. The room was a good size with a modern four-poster bed. The room and well equipped bath room looked as if they had been recently redecorated and were nice and clean, warm and quiet.
After a decent nights sleep, we went down to breakfast where my wife chose from the well stocked breakfast buffet, whilst I choose the full English breakfast. We were both very satisfied with the choice and quality of the food on offer and we were served by the very friendly and helpful member of staff in charge of the dining room.
We checked out slightly early in order to get the most out of the second day of our attraction pass and asked if we could leave the car where it was. Once again this was no problem, probably because the hotel was not fully booked, and so we were able to leave after an early evening meal in York.
Just a hint to drivers. The entrance is quite easy to miss. Look out for for the two stone gate posts topped by lamps with the entrance in between.
The building itself and decor were lovely. This is a building of historical significance which was been well restored, extended and decorated. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. We had a great short stay. Would have liked longer but would not hesitate to book again at The Churchill and am very happy to recommended it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank struttybanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 45 in York
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 45 in York
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#15 of 45 in York
1,525 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 45 in York
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing