We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Churchill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$202
US$107
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$204
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
US$68
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,221)
Filter reviews
2,221 results
Traveller rating
1,025
673
320
130
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,025
673
320
130
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince of wales suitered lettercigar bunkercar parklovely hotelluxury roomshort walkcity centreeggs benedictfour poster bedfree parkingyork minsteron site parkingleave the carfamily roomvisiting yorkfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,421 - 1,426 of 2,221 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

After a recommendation, we recently had a private dining birthday party at the Churchill.

I can't speak highly enough of the team who looked after us. We organised a private room for the ten of us, which was fantastic and gave the night a really special feel.

We'd asked for the tasting menu and weren't disappointed by the quality. The chef has great flair and imagination and all the dishes were brilliantly put together...the best meal I've had in York for a very long time.

Thanks Churchill! - see you again for Sunday lunch tomorrow!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mydsdsamilkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is the perfect jumping off point for visiting old York City centre. Leave your car in the hotel's access controlled private car park and its only a five minute walk to York Minster and onto Shambles in the city centre. The hotel has plenty of history itself, built as a private mansion, commandeered to be an army HQ -hence the Winston Churchill connection and finally becoming a splendid hotel. It has AA rosettes for culinary excellence and we thoroughly enjoyed dinners and breakfasts. The aptly named luxury room was very comfortable, quiet and had a modern en suite bathroom. We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Located within walking distance to the old city center this is a really nice place to stay. The room was very nice and had coffee maker, tv and free wifi. Breakfast was not included in our rate but reasonably priced and very delicious. Only serious minus here is that they charge GBP 10 for overnight parking which seems like a rip-off considering that you are a guest and that the parking area is within the hotel property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Anders,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

A quick word of explanation on our policy of charging for car parking; we are endeavouring to keep our room rates as low as possible and are trying to allow guests to book and pay for just those services which they require.

We offer a variety of rates already such as room only, B&B and half board plus a non-cancellable rate and the car parking is simply an extension of this idea so those who are travelling by train or other means can have the cheapest price available and are not, by way of an inflated room rate, being asked to contibute to maintaining or monitoring our car park.

We are aware that, historically, guests have come to expect free car parking from us hence there is still an offer of free car parking made to those following us on tripadvisor and facebook (see top of this page). We can still keep the room rates low and absorb this as the offer code is only valid for bookings made directly with us which offsets the commission charged by the online travel agents.

We hope to see you again, give us a call or look for our offers and you'll hopefully also park for free!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My mum and I have just returned from a weekend break in York at the Churchill which included 2 nights B&B with dinner on the first evening. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the minster and a really excellent location being only minutes from all the attractions. There are plenty of car parking spaces available and the staff are happy to assist and allow you to park if you arrive prior to check in. The staff are all excellent, always happy to help you and with a smile the service really is 5*. The breakfast is amazing, well stocked, fresh and amazing full cooked breakfasts. We were fortunate enough to eat in the restaurant in the evening and the food was fantastic. We had 3 courses and the food was delicious and fresh and again the service was fantastic. Lovely piano background music really sets the scene. The room was lovely and airy with plenty of space, a huge tv and exceptionally clean and decorated to a very high standard. Will definitely visit this hotel again, if you are looking for 5 * service,food with an excellent location then dont hesitate when booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a Sunday night at The Churchill hotel, stayed here several times and still my favourite hotel in York. Dave who is always on the desk on arrival remembered us and we were lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade. The room was fantastic. Lovely night out in York which was still buzzing for a Sunday night. As always will definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank holiday5redcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews