We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Churchill Hotel York is ideal for a getaway in a close but quiet area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Churchill Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in York
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Churchill Hotel York is ideal for a getaway in a close but quiet area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just had a few days staying at The Churchill Hotel in York, the place is very clean & the rooms are spaceous. The Bar & Restaurent is tastefull & the staff are wonderful & welcoming. Nothing is too much to help out. Onlky thing I would have liked (but did not ask for) is a bath mat for the bath as we used the shower & find the bath quite slippy with a over head shower so a bath mat would have made me feel a lot safer whilst having a shower. The walls are very thin as you can hear people coming & going & talking but only if you are a light sleeper like me, But please do not look on this a a negative, it is a lovely place with love staff & the food is very good value for money,

Room Tip: We asked for a room with an ensuite bath in as I perfer baths, our room was lovely & we had a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tara19710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    495
    248
    106
    62
See reviews for
190
1,095
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Recently booked short notice to stay here for 2 nights. We stayed in the Marlborough suite.

Very close and ideal for walking to and from the city centre. This was booked because of parking advertised but was frustrated to see a £10 charge per night.

The suite was of a good size with a lovely bathroom. The mattress wasn't of a high quality in respect to the rest of the room.

I would stay in the churhill hotel suite again if visiting York.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Room 109 at The Churchill left a bad taste in my mouth quite literally! After spending 2 nights in a lovely hotel suite in Harrogate we wanted 1 night in York to complete our 1st wedding anniversary celebrations. On arrival we were told parking would be another £10, so £80 in total for Room only (I've since learnt that Facebook & trip advisor have a voucher code). We were allocated an Executive Double though Room 109 was a poor example of a double, the size of a store room next to the broom cupboard & reception more like. Although clean & contemporary there wasn't much work surface for toiletries etc, good job I didn't bother unpacking. On our return late evening we enjoyed a drink in the bar which was nice & friendly, with pianist music to create atmosphere, but it was settling down to sleep that caused the issue. The room was noisy, created by a lowered ceiling which housed a large air conditioning vent, even the TV volume didn't help. By this time my throat as feeling dry from the large amount of air con in such a small space. My husband noticed large extraction vents on the external wall where the extension met the old building. After not settling, I found someone at midnight in the restaurant who said they could isolate the air vent for our room?. There was no offer of a room swap, so I asked for water to drink & back I went, although we slept our stay was short, we were awake early due to noise & the location of our room. By this time we just wanted to leave, so quickly showered in the cold room as the air con was also the heating system they had turned off! we left at 9am, when asked about our stay we explained, received an apology from the man behind the desk, but nothing else. Nice hotel & in close proximity to York centre, but unfortunately we didn't get a nice room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have read some of the reviews, and can honestly say the ones that thought tat the potion were small, perhaps they should have gone to the greedy get all you can eat tasteless pub food.
We felt xo welcome on arrival, and walked to our beautiful room, the Marakesh suite, it was stunning mixed with modern and antique style. We had the 3 course meal which was amazing beautifully cooked with amazing flavours, though the portions appear to be slight, they are not, my husband and I were full at the end of our course. The staff were so were professional helpful and very pleasant. After a very comfortable sleep we went down to a perfect breakfast with local sauced bacon and sausages, it was gorgeous. if you like Mcdonalds or pub grub stay away, but if you like the best of the best it is for you.

Room Tip: they are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roza7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a small boutique hotel with an excellent location within easy walking distance of Central York. The decor is modern, fresh and well-maintained. The bedrooms are well-appointed and extremely comfortable.
Car parking is £10 per night which might seem a bit expensive but the convenience of secure parking and the hotel's location help balance this out.
The hotel restaurant may not suit everyone. The menu is over-complicated and fancy as if the chef was showing off. Two fish courses included squid oil; one of the desserts was decorated with chocolate soil whatever that is; the venison was available as either 'medium-rare' or 'well done'....i.e. done to within an inch of its life. Extra costs also seemed unnecessary - £2 extra for scallops; £5.95 extra for cheese. Overall rather pretentious with excellent produce spoiled by concentrating on style rather than substance.
In summary accommodation is fine for a short stay but think carefully before booking the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Recently stayed here for two nights. Nice hotel and an excellent breakfast,
Close to centre of York. The downside was very small rooms with warren like corridors. We ate in the restaurant one night and found it extremely expensive serving very small portions and the service was so so slow!
We would stay again but eat out as there are so many nice places in York to enjoy a meal,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARW1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a overnight Saturday stay, planned for a peaceful child free weekend getaway.

On arriving, found that the car park was already full and luckily managed to squeeze our small car through a gap down the side of the building to park in a bay that had a collection of stored items from the hotel !

We were shown to our room, which can only be described as being on the small side. We headed into York for the day, the location is quite good for access to the city centre.

We were woken not one, twice but three times by the fire alarm going off. At 00:30, 00:40 and 08:15 which was annoying to say the least. After the last alarm we decide to get up and head for breakfast, having a shower first. Unfortunately our room had NO HOT WATER at 8:30am, so a shower was impossible.

We had a great time in York, unfortunately however the Churchill contributed very little to our experience. We will not be staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry that the fire alarms disturbed your stay.

The fire alarm going off is an extremely rare occurrance but unfortunately on Saturday night a guest knocked against an alarm panel breaking the glass and setting the alarm off and it resounded on reset. On Sunday morning a diner at breakfast put a pastry in the toaster causing a smoke detector to sound the alarm. It was very unlucky that these two incidences happened on the one night and it will no doubt be many months before any such thing happens again.

The hot water was indeed briefly off after each fire alarm, we invested in a modern system for guest's safety and all gas and pumps switch off on the alarm sounding but do come straight back on once the alarm has been reset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#17 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing