We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My fiancé and I have recently returned from a romantic getaway at the Churchill earlier this week and had a wonderful experience at this hotel. We received a very warm welcome from the attentive staff on arrival and throughout our stay.
We stayed in one of the luxury bedrooms, which was situated at the front of the property with views over the garden. The room itself was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated, emphasising the elegance and splendour of the property. The bed was large and comfortable, great to come back to after a busy day of sightseeing! and the roll top bath was most definitely the highlight for me.
The hotel is in a great location, a short walk (a few minutes) from the old town and popular York Minster (which is very handy, you can just leave your car there and walk to town, stress free.)
Lastly, I would highly recommend eating here. The meals are cooked to perfection, very high quality, beautifully presented and are very reasonably priced (they actually match what you would spend in a lot of the pubs and restaurants located in the town, which I was very surprised at.) The cooked breakfast menu offered a lot of choice, along with your usual cereals, fresh fruit etc available for people to have also if they wish.
My fiancé and I were very impressed with this hotel and were made to feel very welcome.
We loved it so much, we plan to visit again in October for my birthday celebrations.
Can't praise The Churchill enough, an absolute 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the luxury bedroom, they are stunningly beautiful and ideal for couples wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denisebell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    527
    263
    109
    63
See reviews for
210
1,163
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Unfortunately, we stayed only one night at the Churchill Hotel, but wish it had been for longer. Ideally located for accessing the York Minster cathedral and the old town, our room at the back, off the main street, was modern, quiet and comfortable. The staff were super friendly and we enjoyed a very tasty and interesting dinner at the in-house restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on an upper floor with be quieter, with less flow-through traffic in the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddandvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm on Tees, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our son and daughter had their wedding reception at this beautiful hotel. The staff could not have
been more friendly and helpful to make the day go well. The meal could not be faulted and was beautifully presented. The room was very comfortable followed by a leisurely and fulfilling breakfast. Well located for anyone visiting the beautiful city of York

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at the Churchill Hotel. Beautiful. Lovely room although a bit on the small side, but hey ho, with a city like york you are only in the room to sleep, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. No springs on show like a previous reviewer. gorgeous bathroom facilities.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful. we had a great breakfast, and the dining staff were wonderful.
all in all a great place to stay, location, parking and a five minute walk into the city.
I would recommend it, and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry63033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights as members of a Rick Steve’s tour. Our room was small but it was comfortable and well appointed. The staff was warm, funny, friendly and helpful. They offered a generous selection of items for breakfast. The dining room is open for dinner if you choose to eat there, and they had a full bar that offered some lighter selections for dinner or lunch. My wife and I ate at the bar one night and it was perfect. A nice sitting area in front of the hotel and away the street offered a place to relax and enjoy a pint or two. The location was perfect – walk about three blocks and your within the city walls of York. Walk a little further and you can get to the main train station.

Room Tip: Rick Steves uses this hotel for his tour groups - how can you go wrong?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Mannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I ordered from the A la Carte menu and we enjoyed every mouthful from the warm homemade bread and speciality butters throuh to the beautifully presentdd desserts which were a work of art and we wished we could have taken a photo of them. The service was slick and the room had the perfect atmosphere for a romantic meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently stayed at The Churchill for a one night break using a 'Buy a Gift' voucher. We have stayed at several hotels in York previously and we were excited to stay at the Churchill following positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, we did not feel the hotel matched the glowing reviews. The room we stayed in was well-decorated but quite small and dark. The bed was very uncomfortable and several springs were protruding which made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. When this was mentioned to the front desk staff the following morning, the response was simply, 'sorry about that.' Not particularly helpful! We were also looking forward to breakfast as many people commented on how nice the food was. My husband's breakfast (full English) looked like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for some time and my choice (eggs benedict) was claggy and flavourless. It's a shame we had this experience as it looks like such a beautiful setting. Next time we stay in town we will be looking elsewhere for accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kash2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing