We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, good hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and very nice. The staff are all just lovely and friendly and so helpful. The communal areas are lovely and well decorated and the piano playing in the evening was fabulous. Breakfast was delicious and a great part of the experience. Like other reviewers the barrier into the car park is annoying and somewhat difficult to tackle as you can't see it once you are in front if it. We had a family room and whilst very well maintained and modern the bathroom was tiny and difficult to master with three people using it. Overall a nice hotel but for £180 a night, it was a touch too expensive but I suspect we were paying for the location. My only other comment would be for the hotel to make more use of the front garden area - two tables are available which is not enough for the quantity of people. You're missing a trick here I think. It's a shame there aren't patio doors out onto the garden - collecting drinks then having to leave the hotel by the front door to get to the garden is not great. Overall very nice and the staff are a true asset.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank PaulaBangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at The Churchill for 3 nights for our Honeymoon.

We had a luxury room "Marlborough", room was a great size with a bath tub in the bedroom which was lovely to relax in. Bathroom was a good size, shower was lovely. Was really clean.

We had a meal in the Piano Bar the first evening, food was good, however, my husband did find a small hair attached to his meal which we did bring to our waitress's attention, they apologised!

Our room was hot at night, we did have our sash windows open, however, because we was situated at the front of the hotel it was fairly noisy and on the Friday night we didn't sleep very well at all.

Also where our room was positioned and because we had the windows when the kitchen was cooking we would get a smell of food constantly in our room and also cigarette smoke.

Breakfast could be improved, I tried a full English on the first morning which was very bland, then poached egg on toast the second morning (again a hair was lurking on my plate) so I couldn't eat it all. On the last morning I tried a bacon sandwich, again very bland. Good choice of continental breakfast and juices.

Great location for the Minster and sightseeing in York, was great to have everything on your doorstep.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dodders1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Let me start off by saying that this is a lovely hotel - great atmosphere, great location (you're only 5 minutes walk from York Mister Cathedral and 10 from The Shambles) and the service was great.

But.....The first thing on arriving is to tackle the car park barrier....stupidly placed right at the front of the gates, so when you pull up, you are blocking the pavement and pedestrians get annoyed at having to walk in the road...assuming you've managed to miss them in the first place!
As you then pull up, you have to judge if you're near enough to start the barrier to lower...but the driver, you can't see the red & green light to tell you if the barrier is down or not.....only the passenger (one of which, I luckily had!) can see it !???

Then once you're in, you notice that you're about to be charged £10 for the privilege of parking there each night!??? This is normally a given in each other hotel I've ever stayed in, and I find this annoyingly penny-pinching.....especially when paying over £200 a night for the room...and when you're staying for 2 nights!

The decor of the hotel is modern and chic and set in stunning grounds - both Churchill and King Edward 7th have stayed here, but as the name suggests, the hotel is adorned with Churchill memorabilia and collectibles that makes sitting in the bar and restaurant an interesting experience.

The rooms (we had a suite) are large, however our toilet was broken and was not secured to the floor - we had to wait until the next day to get it repaired, and the cistern constantly filled-up making it annoying at night - but this was fixed by simply closing the door, so not a huge problem.

This is the hottest hotel I've ever stayed in! I overheard guests asking for the heating to be turned off...but none was on - the hotel is seriously lacking in any type of air con (which is understandable in the old part of the hotel) however there isn't any ceiling fans anywhere or even fans supplied in the rooms to cool them down at night. We had both windows open, but it didn't even make the room bearable. This is also the case in the breakfast room and bar areas.

There are only 2 tables to sit at outside, and as everyone seems to go outside to escape the heat, there often isn't enough seats (let alone tables) to accommodate everyone.

Breakfast gives you plenty of choice of continental items or cooked - the cooked was nice (although the poached eggs were overcooked and tasted purely of vinegar, the sausage was over-held and everything was lukewarm not hot)...however the service was great.

Overall, a pleasant stay in pleasant setting but the hotel needs some basic additions (outside seating, better quality cooked breakfast and room fans) to get it up to scratch and value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RichardF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Churchill for two nights in July - what a nice hotel! Close to town, easy to walk to the many sights we were interested in. The grounds were kept up nicely, and the staff at the hotel were very helpful. The breakfast room was bright and cheery and the breakfast itself great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

At the last minute we decided to stay in York en route to Newcastle. This hotel was very reasonably priced via last minute.com and so we booked it after reading reviews and the fact that it had on site parking, albeit at a charge. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was a buffet of cold items with hot food cooked to order. Our room, 111, was small but had everything you needed. But I wouldn't have wanted to stay in it for more than two nights. The air con didn't seem to work and I couldn't open the window so the room was a bit stuffy. Also couldn't turn off the bathroom radiator which meant the bathroom was a bit like a sauna. Easy walking into town.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LisaWsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A well appointed hotel. We had a last minute booking. The room was small but well appointed. However it was overheated the bathroom could serve as a sauna. Good service from staff. York is a great city by the way.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dr John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for 2 nights b&b approx 18 months ago, just after the Tour de France route was announced. Arrived on Friday afternoon, on first glance hotel looks nice, but on closer inspection it's a bit on the tired side. We were shown to the Jeannie Churchill suite, a very darkly decorated room with a double bed taking up most of the room. The decor is nice but the lighting is poor so no good for putting on your make up. The mattress is shocking, when you sit on the bed the mattress sinks below the bed frame (and we are not large) and creaks and squeaks at the slightest movement, so neither of us had a good sleep. There is no air con, it's an old building so that's acceptable, however the sash windows would not stay up when you opened them so we had to prop the window open with a box of tissues on the first night then had to use the golf umbrella for the second night as the room was stifling with only a few inches open with the tissue box. The wardrobe is not actually wide enough for standard coat hangers and the toilet in the bathroom has no lid. Wedding noise on the Saturday kept the other half up beyond 3am, personally having had no sleep the night before I slept better. Breakfast was nice however on the Sunday morning staff were more interested in selling breakfast sarnies and coffee to people outside waiting for the tour to pass, so hotel guests were left waiting for breakfast, almost an hour for us. Had anyone asked if I'd had a nice stay when we checked out I'd have told them this then, instead of having to type this. Churchill hotel may I suggest you put the £145/ night b&b you charged us towards a new mattress for room 102, it will be money well spent.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Angela01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#19 of 47 in York
1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#13 of 47 in York
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,544 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £79 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing