We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2009

just enjoyed a long weekend at the churchill hotel,on bootham york.the hotel has just been renovated to a very high standard,food was excellent and the service from the staff top class,so much so that we are going to book our wedding there this christmas.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,886 - 1,892 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2009

Stayed at The Churchill midweek in March 2009 with my family.
The hotel is in a superb location on Bootham around 5-10mins walk to the Minster. It has the benefit of having around 20 car parking spaces. So parking the car and walking into York is a huge plus point.

The building itself is impressive and has been well removated to a high standard.
The rooms are modern and well equipped. My only negatives were that the rooms we had were only windowed by a roof velux window. Ours did not work on the motor and had to be operated manually. It was also quite a warm night for March and was hot in the room. Although there is air con we could not get it to work.
Other than this the hotel, bar and restaurant are beautifully decorated and very plush. This does show on the prices as well. Expect £3.40 for a Guiness and £3.60 for a bottle of Magners.
The cigar bunker is a great touch!

I would recommend the Churchill, mainly because of the location but it is somewhere i woild return to.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rawsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Service was very good, food excellent. We could easily walk into the centre of York . Rooms very clean and of a high standard, very modern decoration. We would certainly revisit this hotel and recommend to other holiday makers.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking for a good quality and value hotel. Location is close to all amenities the vast majority of which are within walking distance. The staff are warm and friendly, the rooms are clean comfortable and well equipped and the food excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

One night was not enough. Will return for a longer break in the near future.We were made welcome as we entered the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We chose to stay at The Churchill due to it's location and because it had a car park. But it's now so much more than that. I loved the building and the decor and the lovely little touches (even if you don't smoke just take a look at the smoking shelter - a snug kitted out with leather chairs - just brilliant!). The room (in the new extension) wasn't the biggest but was an adequate size and very nicely finished. The shower was, literally, breathtaking! As for the owner - rarely, if ever, have we been made to feel as welcome in a hotel..an extremely helpful and knowledgable discussion about the local area helped us find a perfect pub for the evening. We left feeling like our custom was appreciated and that is something very rare indeed in the "service" industry in this country. I have already spread the words amongst my friends, and hopefully we will be able to make a swift return!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights for a midweek break - lovely rooms with modern facilities, immaculately clean, great breakfast's, very friendly & helpful staff. Great location approx 200m from City walls situated on Bootham, free car parking - 5 mins from City Centre but away from the hustle and bustle. Would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowtietowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#18 of 47 in York
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £76 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing