We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location but Slightly Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
North West
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location but Slightly Disappointed”
Reviewed 23 April 2009

I booked this hotel for my husband's birthday treat after reading other very positive reviews earlier in the year. I asked on booking for a superior double room, requesting a modernised room with the sleek black four poster bed.
On arrival we were greeted by a very polite man who advised us that as there was a wedding on that day, with a disco expected to go on until the early hours, that we may prefer to swap rooms to one in a quieter part of the hotel as the one i had booked was directly over the function room. I asked to look at the alternative room, whilst it was quite nice with a view of the minster, it was dated & obviously not been refurbished yet.The four poster was dark wood with dark drapes, it looked like Henry VIII may have slept in it! I was also told the room we had booked would be very warm with no view only having a velux window - so I felt obliged to accept the alternative room.
Alas we could still hear the wedding celebrations in this room (The Blenheim Suite) at 12.30 AM. Unlike previous reviewers we were slightly cold in the room, the radiators never felt at all warm. I asked at reception about the lack of heating & was told it comes on about 5/6am & again about midnight - no evidence of this.
To be picky, there was no shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom, just shower gel & lotion and no Sky Tv (not that we had time to watch it but would have thought it would be available given the price of the room £130 per night incl breakfast).
We too went to get a drink from the bar at 8.30 pm on Sunday & it was desserted, no-one came to serve us - a good job we had "supplies" in the room!
Breakfast was delicious & very good quality, we ate out in the evenings.
We would stay here again due to the superb location & availability of parking, we had a great time in York but felt slightly disappointed we did not get the room expected, therefore a slightly pricey break for a dated room.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveDalmations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    529
    263
    109
    63
See reviews for
211
1,168
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We had a room right above the boiler room (which could be seen behind the white slatted door when outside). Not only was there a torturous low humming all night, but also a constant high pitched whining sound. Both of us usually sleep very well - but not here. We probably got about 2 hours sleep and that due to frustrated exhaustion. I got up asked about it at reception at about 1am, but was told the person on duty couldn't come and listen to it as they couldn't leave the reception unattended. I complained in the morning and was assured that the manager would be asked to contact me. Having heard nothing, I wrote a letter to complain. There was no response to this. When we were leaving the hotel another couple were leaving and complaining about having had a room right next to the wedding disco that was being held that night.

It's a shame as the hotel decor and atmosphere appear great and when we arrived we'd thought it was all positive. Having one of the worst nights sleeps of your life can however dramatically change this perspective.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMaxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

This might seem a bit of a big statement, but we have stayed in a variety of impersonal posh hotels, Las Vegas ones, beach ones in Asia, Arab ones etc but we enjoyed our stay in the Churchill the most. The character, friendly service and location were excellent. York is a wonderful place and the Churchill is a 10 minute walk from the Minster and central shopping area.

We got exceptional value for money and would wholeheartedly recommend it and we will be re-visiting.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
203 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

we chose this hotel, mainly because it had a car park but also because of it's location.
we could only manage to book a superior single suite (it does have a double bed) as it was quite a late booking. at £110 a night, it's a bit expensive really.
the welcome on arrival was excellent and the hotel is very nice and clean.
i wouldn't get too excited when you see the shower. it doesn't deliver on it's promise. the main shower head is rather like hot water being poured from a watering can.
we obviously stayed at the same time as two of the previous reviewers as there were a couple of functions on and we did notice some cars had been blocked in. however, we were not affected by any noise as we were two floors above ground level. the bedroom doors, however, are very loud when they bang shut.
loved york (though you would never go there for the nightlife - five past eleven and they want you out of the pub - on a saturday!) and would probably choose the same hotel, based on convenience, if visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

If you want a quiet weekend don't choose this hotel, we booked 4 nights and 2 of them were disturbed by the disco held in the function room and we had one of the luxury suits. Music went on till midnight and spoilt the weekend. Customer service was shocking, but there are some staff that have a great attitude. Car blocked in in car park, internet didn't work in room. Not worth the money and does not deliver what it says on the website.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

At first glance this is a reasonably attractive hotel in a good location - just a 5 minute walk from York Minster. However our room (which they labelled a suite) was small and overpriced. I would not recommend staying here if you don't like weddings. There were 2 receptions during our 2 night stay, on both occasions the noise from the DJ was intrusive, with no warning or apologies from the mostly teenage and Eastern European staff. We also had our car blocked in by wedding guests on both occasions - fortunately we weren't planning on driving anywhere. On plus side, the decor is pleasant and the food in the restaurant was very good. In summary though, we felt that this is a hotel that needs to drop its tariffs to reflect the quality of stay that it can offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed in this hotel recently and found it to a little over priced for what it is.

We had the Prince of Wales Suite, described as the most luxurious room in york. It is a nice room but given the description I was expecting better and have stayed in better for this price. The bed is not that comfortable and this coupled with the noise from the street and the room temperature being so warm meant we woke the next morning having slept very little. The bathroom is large and modern with a great shower but watch out for the toilet roll holder coming off the wall in your hand and the same goes for the hot water tap which came away from the wall also.

The location is very good only a few minutes walk from the town centre which was one of the main reasons for staying there.

We were told we could have the room from 2pm when we booked it, not that we cared too much as were heading for town for a shop and some lunch, that said when we got there we were told the room wouldnt be ready for 2pm .................... not a good start to the stay but hey off we went to town. We had lunch in Nineteen and dinner in ASK and both are very good.

Finally if you expect a nigh cap when you get back to the hotel then you will be dissapointed the bar was closed and there wasnt anyone around to ask.

Overall, the hotel could be very good if it paid more attention to detail, improved its service, invested in some double glazing and thought about adding aircon. This isnt much to ask I guess for £235 per night .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing