We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb wedding”
Review of Jorvik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jorvik Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Myself and my partner (now husband) booked the Jorvik hotel a year in advance of our wedding in April 2013. We had such a wonderful experience and the day was perfect. The staf working at the hotel are totally trustworthy and made our day stress free from the decorating they did for us to the food quality and quantity. Our only concerns were over the size of the bar, which is quite small (and we knew our guests liked to drink), however, it didn't seem to cause too much of a problem and I believe it is to be made bigger as they are having works done. The space was really deceptive and we managed to easily get 50 guests for the day and well over 90 for the evening. Garden works well if weather is good. Really great value for money. I didn't stay there but everyone who did seemed pleased. I would definitely recommend the Jorvik for a celebration of any kind. The only bad experience we had was with the DJ that comes with the hotel. In the end we went for Night Owls who also did a fanatstic job. Thumbs up all round, our wedding day was perfect!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libpixie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hi Laura

It was our pleasure. We would like to wish you both all the best for the future.

Kind Regards

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

A wonderful hotel, with fantastic access to city center and local features such as The Yorkshire Museum and Yorkboat Hire, allowing you to enjoy the river, too.

Situated directly across the road from a beautiful 11th century church, and a scenic public park, there are also numerous restaurants and bars nearby, to make both day and night enjoyable without having to walk to the town center.

Staff were very friendly, and didn't mind accommodating special dietary requirements at breakfast. They were also very helpful in assisting us to navigate the city, choose places to visit, and allowed us to leave our luggage for a few hours after check-out.

Quiet, clean, comfortable. Our room had a Jacuzzi bath and a shower with jet nozzles fitted too, perfect for helping you relax after a day walking the town!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, toward the back, which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordieben_1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Having booked the hotel through late rooms for £40 we were very pleased with the standard of the room. Oak furniture,plush textiles, gorgeous bathroom with bath with colour changing jacuzzi and top shower! Very central and friendly staff. Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location, just a 5 minutes walk through the museum gardens to the city. The hotel is comfortable enough but does need a little attention, a little shabby in places. Our room was on the ground floor next to the bar but was quiet enough. The room was a decent size but the bathroom was very cramped. Don't try and park in the carpark round the back unless you have a tiny car as the entrance is very narrow. However the hotel will offer a good guest rate (£8 per day) for the large public carpark just behind the hotel. One minor grumble was that our room had no TV remote and we didn't get a replacement when reported but not a big issue as we weren't intending staying in the room for long. Breakfast was reasonably priced at £4.95 but not the biggest plateful. In summary, a decent enough place but really a more standard B&B rather than a hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank YorkshireCrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a great location, overlooking the Museum Gardens and St Olave's Church. A short walk to the bottom of Marygate and there's the river. Good position if you're looking for somewhere quiet but within easy walking distance of the tourist sights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelstephens60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Jorvik

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights, in April, whilst sightseeing in York. Very clean, large room with nice bathroom. Breakfasts were cooked to order and were excellent.Desk clerk super helpful and even looked up a laundry service for us to use.Parking fee was fine. woulg recommend and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep but easy enough to use..ask for a lower level if stairs are an issue for you. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We chose this hotel because we had a Thomas Cook voucher to use up & overall were very happy with that choice.The location was excellent with a 10 minute walk from the station & the town centre (even quicker straight through museum gardens) with the hotel situated on a quiet street near to the river. The hotel is the usual three storey old type of building which has been converted into accomodationwith a small bar area & a decent sized restaurant.The room we had was on the top floor (room 3) with only one other room nearby,,it wasn't a large room but was very clean with a kettle and tv & as mentioned in other reviews two single beds pushed together to form a double but this wasn't uncomfortable at all. The bathroom was very small(see pic) but had been modernised & the shower was excellent .Breakfast was off a menu with a good choice of hot food (unlimited toast )& you helped yourself to cereal ..coffee.etc
Overall a decent hotel with very friendly staff for a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holaddictCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Address: 50-52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £60 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 26 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing