We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location”
Review of Jorvik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jorvik Hotel
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 11 August 2013

the best thing about this hotel is the location. we had a room on the front of the hotel which looked onto the museum gardens, at the bottom of the street is the river, and its not far from the minster and other attractions.
it would have been nice to have a hairdryer provided in the room, but after reading previous reviews i brought my own! i wouldn't complain about the temperature of the shower but the pressure was a little low.
breakfast was not included in price was good value for money.
would recommend this hotel as a good base for sight seeing

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666s_k_8_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do provide hair dryers. These are kept at reception. On request we are more than happy to take these to your room. Information on this is in the guest service directories provided.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Jorvik Hotel.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

I spent one night here with my boyfriend as a short trip to york sight seeing. This hotel was booked due to the reasonable price and central location and it certainly delivered on these aspects. Breakfast (extra charge on booking) was reasonable, the beds had very firm mattresses however my back and I loved that and I had a great nights sleep. We had an air conditioned room towards the back of the hotel on the ground floor which was very quiet and very clean. All staff we met were polite and helpful, in particular the man on reception when we arrived (Thursday 8th August, 3pm) The hotel is set just opposite the beautiful grounds of the abbey gardens and a short walk to all of the main shopping, sight seeing etc. The river is just down the bottom of the road also. Carparking (extra charge of £8 for the duration of your stay) was fine but the carpark is very tight to get into. This would be helped if the wall into the carpark was removed/made shorter however I suppose there may be restrictions on this etc due to the age of the building. I would say if you have a large estate or 4x4 then you might struggle to even get into the carpark though. Overall a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room in warm weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norro1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your compliments to the member of staff mentioned.
Our car park is only small but as you mention we are limited on what we can do due to the surrounding wall being listed. However we do provide parking permits for the Marygate car park just behind the hotel.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is in a perfect central location. With a less than 5 minute walk to the Minster it is close to all of York's main attractions whilst not being in a particularly noisy area. Hotel is well maintained both inside and out but could use a lick of paint in a couple of places. The room we ordered was double bed for 3 nights and we were put in room 3 on the top floor. The room is spacious with all the necessities like a wardrobe, bedside lamps, en suite, tea and coffee making facilities, toiletries, towels, free view TV with DVD player etc. The bed consisted of two singles together however it was an actual 2 singles bed where the two were joined together so there was no falling through the gap in the middle of the night. Bath was not jacuzzi as advertised however the shower was definitely a power shower which is all we needed. The bathroom was quite narrow which wouldn't usually be a complaint but the toilet was stuck right beside a shower making it quite uncomfortable to use the toilet. The staff were friendly and helpful however beside our room were two "staff only" storage rooms and there was some people going in and out of these at about 11pm which I found quite inconsiderate. The room was locked via a key card however this had to be topped up at reception each time we returned to the hotel which we were told until the last night so we spent a lot of time getting up 2 flights of stairs to discover out key didn't work. Since we took our trip to York during a hot spell the room was quite uncomfortable to sleep in due to lack of air conditioning and not being able to open the window particularly far. The hotel had a bar which did a variety of drinks at reasonable prices however we didn't visit it.

Room Tip: Ask for some air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review on your recent stay here at the Jorvik Hotel. I am sorry to hear you we're not informed about our key card security system. This should have been mentioned to you on check in. During your stay it was very warm and York had some of its highest temperatures for the year so far. The listed part of the building that you were staying in has great character but unfortunately does not allow for air conditioning. In these rooms during this time we were providing fans to make our guest more comfortable. The information on this is held in our guest service directory.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Yes, location is AWESOME. Right across the street from St. Mary's Abbey, a very short walk to the York Minster, easy access to the walls, etc.

The rooms were less than average. Beds were rock hard, no amenities whatsoever. The whole interior is just... funky. Service was fine (a little strange, but fine.)

You're definitely paying for location... and that's about it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The room was claustrophobic, the bathroom was incredibly dirty and the staff were rude and unfriendly. When I brought these issues to the attention of the manager, she was equally rude and denied everything. Terrible customer service. And one night for 120 pounds! What a rip off.

Trust me, go somewhere cheaper and save the money or go somewhere nicer for a bit extra for two nights.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Jorvik Hotel - the rooms are cramped and claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Good Morning

Thank you for your recent correspondance and your Trip Advisor review. I am sorry that you feel your stay was less than satisfactory.
Every room before a guest stays is cleaned throughly and then inspecte by our Deputy Manager. I have had a look at his check list before you arrival and all areas had been checked to standard. Here at the Jorvik we take great pride in ensuring all of our rooms are cleaned to the highest standard. The housekeeping stafff we emply have worked with the hotel now for five years and they take great pride in their work.
We have had a look at the shower this morning and we did not identify any problems. We did have some guests who occupied this room last night and they did not raise any issues and when asked they said everything was fine. Our showers are maintained on a weekly basis as they have such heavy usage so that we can eliminate any problems arising.
I would like to thank you again for bringing your comments to the forefront.

Kind Regards

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Found getting to the hotel car park very confusing so parked in Pay and display which was reasonably priced. Hotel reception was basic but clean and guy on reception was polite and helpful, carrying our bag to our room. Room was ok for 1 nights stay, plenty of towels and bathroom was big, however, no shaving mirror over the sink and shower was adequate. My wife could not dry her hair very well as there was no mirror over dresser or at the side, it was behind entrance door to the room in a dark area. Bed was ok and we both slept well even though we had a street facing room. Breakfast was good and fresh, as you would expect for a small hotel and found checking out easy although we did think it quite pricey, however, the location was very good, just a few minutes walk in to the centre of York.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Good Morning

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at the Jorvik Hotel. I am pleased to hear you had a plesent experiance. To address the point on the dressing table mirror. The mirrors are in the dressing tables. The top of the dressing table lifts up. This is where the mirror is and also some compartments for storage for smaller items. From your feedback we have now put this information into our Guest Service Directories.

Kind Regards

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I spent the weekend at the Jorvik and was pleasantly surprised given that I'd read a few iffy reviews about there being no hair-dryers or irons in the rooms, but we'd managed to get a good deal on a room and risked it, and when I asked about this on reception they were all handed over to me as free, on request items. The room was lovely and had a nice view of the front of the museum gardens and we were able to leave the window open all night without too much disturbance. They have also have a lovely bar; very open and bright, we were able to have a few drinks there before we went out exploring for the evening and very much enjoyed the service we got. I would highly recommend this hotel as being nice, friendly, and very close to the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review and feeback.We hopefully look foward to welcoming you back to the Jorvik Hotel soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Address: 50-52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £54 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 26 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing