We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday trip with the bf”
Review of Jorvik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jorvik Hotel
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here for my birthday in the middle of May, absolutely amazing hotel, couldn't have asked for more from this lovely hotel. We stayed in a ground floor room which was very quiet and spacious. The breakfast was first class, even catered for my parky appetite. Staff were really friendly, even allowed us to leave our bags there after checkout for the day whilst we went to view more of this fabulous city. Location was central, close to town and the train station once we found the short way to the hotel was brilliant. Top hotel, lovely stay

Room Tip: Central hotel, absolutely amazing rooms with extremely friendly staff. Room on the ground floor at...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine_1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Jorvik Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in York staying at the Jorvik Hotel. I have immediately booked for another stay here when we arrived home.
We visit York many times a year and have stopped at numerous guest houses, this by far is the best we have stayed in.
The staff were fantastic, really pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean and had all the facilities that made a very pleasant stay including thing that you would only expect to find in a luxury room in an upmarket hotel. The spa bath and power shower was fantastic. The bed linen and towels were quality as were the free toiletries.
The hotel is ideally situated a very short stroll through the fantastic
museum gardens into the town but far enough away to be quiet.
The hotel operates on a room only basis whereby you pay extra for breakfast. This is less than £5. Believe me it is £5 well spent and I would recommend that you go for it as it is be best value fiver I have ever spent.
I would like to visit when the weather picks up as the gardens also appear to be a very pleasant area to sit and relax in on a hot summers day.
Really looking forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor about mid way down the hotel, very quiet had a great nights sleep
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here in a twin room with my daughter on a Christmas Shopping trip to York. The hotel is situated an easy walk from the Railway Station over Lendal Bridge and through the park. All the staff we met at the hotel were nice and friendly. The room was fine as was the bathroom. The breakfast at £4.95 was a real bargain, so take it if you stay here. We were able to leave our overnight bags there whilst we went shopping, which was a plus. All in all would we stay here again, that would be a yes from me!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Good Morning

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Jorvik.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location if you're staying in York - Town Centre 10 minute walk away & Hotel ten minutes from Train station. Clean rooms & good service. Breakfast very good & the whole stay was very good value for money. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if I was going to York.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0seyWhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back here hopefully in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I had a "Superbreak" to York in November. The hotel is in an excellent location, opposite the Museum Park and just up from the riverside walk, 10 minute walk and you are in the city centre. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. At breakfast we had every choice and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms although basic are spacious and clean. The bathroom was adequate and clean. The hotel was quiet and we were surprised to see how many guests were actually staying --it was so quiet.We found it excellent value for money and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mylesosmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Jorvik Hotel and hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Although I didn't stay over at the Jorvik Hotel I did attend a wedding with them on 21st September and wanted to compliment their good service and the quality of the food they provided.

The communal areas of the hotel itself are cosy and nicely decorated. The relaxed homely feel to the venue gave the wedding an intimacy that was lovely, particularly the back garden area. We were welcomed with friendly waiters serving sweet and savoury canapés that were just divine. The wedding itself was held outside on a raised decking area. The wedding breakfast was a traditional roast served carvery style which meant food was served warm and fresh. Very tasty. Drinks weren't overly expensive for hotel standards.

All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review. It is lovley to get some feedback from guests who have attended functions here. Valerie and Stuarts wedding was beautiful and we were very honour that they chose to celebrate their special day with us.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for two nights and found the hotel clean, comfortable and close to most main places in york. Staff were helpful and friendly and although we had a room at the front of the hotel and it was very noisy during the night we would definately stay again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Insanitymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at the Jorvik Hotel.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,568 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Address: 50-52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £62 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 26 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing