We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away break”
Review of Jorvik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jorvik Hotel
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My hubby and I try to get away the night before New Years eve,we found this hotel only two days before going.We picked a good place,just on the outside of the city walls,with just a walk through the park to get straight into the hub of York.we had room one,which we have actually booked same time 2014.staff we're very helpful, lovely breakfast.If you go out for a meal,you MUST try Rustique,it was fab,it was a set menu,but unlike a lot of places that do not have much choice on a set menu,This had PLENTY...we had three courses,drinks,capacinno and a Baileys,came to £41 for the two of us,well worth going,but would advise you make a reservation.We went to the new Rustique (there are two) ,but either is as good as each other!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyboo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us!! Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for one night at the Jorvik hotel and on the whole was a pleasant experience. The young staff were all very friendly, polite and helpful. The décor is a little tired but the hotel is in a good central location and served a hearty breakfast which although not included in the room price was good value. After a day out, was looking forward to a hot bath but my only real complaint was the water was luke warm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetcat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your recent stay here with us.
I am not sure what happen with regards to the luke warm water. We have since checked this since your review but have not found a problem. However our maintanance team will continue to review this incase it is to happen again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Ok hotel for the price. Our room looked in need of a refresh but as just a place to sleep on a busy shopping weekend was fine. My biggest gripe was that the bathroom was FREEZING. We had a jacuzzi bath but that was no way we could experience it is layers were needed just to pop to the loo! If you just want a place to crash rather than a romantic night away this place is fine as it's in a great central location and is very quiet.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank StamfordHem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for you recent review. I am sorry to hear that your bathroom was cold during your stay. It sounds like your heated towel rail that would heat the bathroom had been switch off. If this had been mention during your stay we would have been more than happy to rectify this for you as we would not expect you to endure a cold bathroom especially during the winter months!! This however should have been check prior to arrival and i have since discussed this with the staff concerned so that this does not happen again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here for my birthday in the middle of May, absolutely amazing hotel, couldn't have asked for more from this lovely hotel. We stayed in a ground floor room which was very quiet and spacious. The breakfast was first class, even catered for my parky appetite. Staff were really friendly, even allowed us to leave our bags there after checkout for the day whilst we went to view more of this fabulous city. Location was central, close to town and the train station once we found the short way to the hotel was brilliant. Top hotel, lovely stay

Room Tip: Central hotel, absolutely amazing rooms with extremely friendly staff. Room on the ground floor at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine_1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in York staying at the Jorvik Hotel. I have immediately booked for another stay here when we arrived home.
We visit York many times a year and have stopped at numerous guest houses, this by far is the best we have stayed in.
The staff were fantastic, really pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean and had all the facilities that made a very pleasant stay including thing that you would only expect to find in a luxury room in an upmarket hotel. The spa bath and power shower was fantastic. The bed linen and towels were quality as were the free toiletries.
The hotel is ideally situated a very short stroll through the fantastic
museum gardens into the town but far enough away to be quiet.
The hotel operates on a room only basis whereby you pay extra for breakfast. This is less than £5. Believe me it is £5 well spent and I would recommend that you go for it as it is be best value fiver I have ever spent.
I would like to visit when the weather picks up as the gardens also appear to be a very pleasant area to sit and relax in on a hot summers day.
Really looking forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor about mid way down the hotel, very quiet had a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here in a twin room with my daughter on a Christmas Shopping trip to York. The hotel is situated an easy walk from the Railway Station over Lendal Bridge and through the park. All the staff we met at the hotel were nice and friendly. The room was fine as was the bathroom. The breakfast at £4.95 was a real bargain, so take it if you stay here. We were able to leave our overnight bags there whilst we went shopping, which was a plus. All in all would we stay here again, that would be a yes from me!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Good Morning

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Jorvik.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location if you're staying in York - Town Centre 10 minute walk away & Hotel ten minutes from Train station. Clean rooms & good service. Breakfast very good & the whole stay was very good value for money. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if I was going to York.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0seyWhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back here hopefully in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#40 of 47 in York
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#13 of 47 in York
1,599 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton York
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Address: 50-52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £68 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 26 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing