We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Jorvik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jorvik Hotel
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in York
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel was in an excellent location close to the train station, York Minister, Railway museum and all major attractions in York. Reception very nice, bar area nice and breakfast area nice. Gardens looked lovely but due to weather we didn't sit in them. Our room was on the bottom floor. Room fairly small compared to the pictures I had looked at (we had a twin room) but with two beds, wardrobe, drawers, tv and tea/coffee the room had all we needed for a two day stay. However the room was VERY dusty. Even the remote control had dust on it. The walls were even dusty. In the bathroom the toiletries smelled lovely lol. The shower is AMAZING and although I never had a bath my friend did and loved the Jacuzzi bath with mood lighting. The bath however is pretty small. A 6ft there was no way you could lie comfortably in it. Either feet out or knees up :-D

Breakfast was fine - scrambled eggs a tad watery and therefore was unable to eat the toast it was on. But poached eggs and fried eggs were fine, good tea and cereal selection. Personal preference is I would have liked yoghurt but that's personal.

Had little interaction with the staff so cant really comment although they seemed happy enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamrocks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    199
    131
    73
    54
See reviews for
58
345
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and beautiful location. The room was very nice and clean. And the jacuzzi was a surprise. The breakfast was good with a great selection of cereals and a cooked breakfast too. The staff we're so friendly and welcoming. Will recommend to friends and family.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyMaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Beautiful room, fantastic bathroom, even a patio. Very helpful and courteous staff. Well worth every penny. Will definitely use this hotel again and highly recommend it. Really enjoyable stay and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coby-Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at the Jorvik Hotel York at the weekend I booked a superior room.and asked for wine on arrival in the room. I did not get the wine and the room was certainly not superior, it was very small and in the attic three floors up three flights and no lift. Although the hotel is in a good location it was shabby and needs a lick of paint. The breakfast came with an hair, other guess sent their breakfast back too. I would never stay at this hotel ( more like bed and breakfast) again Definitely NOT worth the money my advise is go elsewhere ..Very disappointed spoilt our weekend in beautiful York

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GED5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your review. If I can address each of your points in turn.

As a hotel we do not advertise Superior rooms as all of our rooms are the same with either king size double or twin beds, flat screens tv and all ensuite with either a five point power shower or power shower and jacuzzi bath. We do not advertise having a lift here as we are a listed building and are not permitted to have one unfortunately.
You were resident in one of our larger rooms which has a lovely view over the museum gardens.

I have had a look at your reservation that was made on line and there are no special requests on there. It just confirms that you reserved our executive package which includes bathrobes, slippers, fruit and mineral water.

I am sorry that you felt the breakfast was less than satisfactory. I have spoken to the duty manager on that day and there is only one record of breakfast being sent back on that day due to a change of preference in eggs. I am not sure where the hair could be from as both our chef and duty manager have none but I will certainly look into this for you.

If you wish to discuss any for the points raised further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

On arrival the staff could not do enough for us. The rooms are lovely for the prices, and the breakfast was well worth the price. Loved the whirlpool bath and spa shower. There is a large NCP carpark behind the hotel thats arounf £11.00 for 24 hrs.
Will be returning in a few months. Loved it .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here overnight for our anniversary, arrived for midday as per my booking but was told check in wasn't till 2-3pm. After explaining to the reception, that a time was specified when I made the booking they told us that it was a mistake on the website, however when we had planned our travel to suit our specified arrival time we were pleasantly surprised for them to arrange for our room to be done next and half hour of waiting we had our key. Room was clean and tidy, nail polish marks in the bath tub but bathroom was clean. Bed was comfortable and had a good nights kip, until an inconsiderate guest left their telly on too loud, for the porters and other guests to be banging on their door to turn it down. There was an ironing board resting in the corridor and whilst people were arranging for the telly to be turned off this fell and caused a lot of noise on top people walking loudly and shouting in the corridor. We may stay here again, as money paid was worth it. Breakfast was also good, and a good choice of food, again, great price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your review.
Check in time at the hotel is 2pm. You can request an earlier check in which we will always try to accommodate. As you can appreciate check out is not until11am so when the hotel is busy we can not always accommodate these requests.
I am sorry to hear about the noisy guest. This was reported to me by the night porter who did rectify this situation at the time. We do ask guests to be considerate of their neighbours especially when they arrive back to the hotel late.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and the rest of your stay.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My family of 4 stayed here for one night to explore York. We were traveling by train and the hotel is very easy to get to from the station especially if you cut through the gardens. We had 2 rooms beside one another and they were both very good. We had breakfast at the hotel and found it to be good value for money with a wide choice of cooked and continental breakfast. We would certainly recommend it especially if you are arriving by train.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you backto the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 46 in York
1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,073 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Property: Jorvik Hotel
Address: 50-52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 22 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing