We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jorvik Hotel and staff”
Review of Jorvik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jorvik Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in York
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Jorvik Hotel and staff”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My beautiful wife Brenda booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday.
On arrival a very smart young man called James welcomed us and booked us in efficiently and then escorted us to our room. The room was overlooking Castle Gardens and had everything that was needed apart from the bathroom door that managed to lock Brenda therein! Waiting in the room on arrival was a bottle of wine (free gratis) and more soap than you could shake a stick at!
The following morning at breakfast (£4.50 pp extra) but well worth it, we were welcomed by the Manager, Rorie (Yes I know, stupid spelling!) He had a look about him of Sam Byron a Leeds UTC player, plus he was very professional and courteous to us and everyone else.
I can highly recommend this Hotel. The location in York is fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a front view of the gardens and the lovely church
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCasey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Good Morning

I am pleased to hear that you and Brenda enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    203
    131
    75
    57
See reviews for
60
353
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here on a midweek night and room was lovely, my only quibble was the cobwebs in the shower and the fact we booked online at set arrival at 12 and when we turned up we were told room wasn't ready and official check in is 2pm!!. The Jorvik Hotel is in a perfect location to all the major attractions and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast lovely to! We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review.

We do have a check in time of 2pm but we do try and have rooms available earlier when requested.

We hopefully can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here and have been more than satisfied on both occasions.
I stayed with my wife this time. I had requested champaign and roses in the room which were provided to a great standard. The room itself was nice and tidy, a small bit of rubbish on the floor but nothing to get upset about.
I asked for so a room with a jacuzzi bath which was provided, though the jets weren't very good on this particular one. We were probably just doing something wrong, haha!
Location is spot on being on the entrance to the museum gardens. Straight from there and you're into the city centre.
Staff are friendly and attentive, hotel is just great for a stay in York. Excellent price for what we had.
Many thanks and I imagine we will be one day staying again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel was in an excellent location close to the train station, York Minister, Railway museum and all major attractions in York. Reception very nice, bar area nice and breakfast area nice. Gardens looked lovely but due to weather we didn't sit in them. Our room was on the bottom floor. Room fairly small compared to the pictures I had looked at (we had a twin room) but with two beds, wardrobe, drawers, tv and tea/coffee the room had all we needed for a two day stay. However the room was VERY dusty. Even the remote control had dust on it. The walls were even dusty. In the bathroom the toiletries smelled lovely lol. The shower is AMAZING and although I never had a bath my friend did and loved the Jacuzzi bath with mood lighting. The bath however is pretty small. A 6ft there was no way you could lie comfortably in it. Either feet out or knees up :-D

Breakfast was fine - scrambled eggs a tad watery and therefore was unable to eat the toast it was on. But poached eggs and fried eggs were fine, good tea and cereal selection. Personal preference is I would have liked yoghurt but that's personal.

Had little interaction with the staff so cant really comment although they seemed happy enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamrocks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and beautiful location. The room was very nice and clean. And the jacuzzi was a surprise. The breakfast was good with a great selection of cereals and a cooked breakfast too. The staff we're so friendly and welcoming. Will recommend to friends and family.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyMaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Beautiful room, fantastic bathroom, even a patio. Very helpful and courteous staff. Well worth every penny. Will definitely use this hotel again and highly recommend it. Really enjoyable stay and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coby-Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at the Jorvik Hotel York at the weekend I booked a superior room.and asked for wine on arrival in the room. I did not get the wine and the room was certainly not superior, it was very small and in the attic three floors up three flights and no lift. Although the hotel is in a good location it was shabby and needs a lick of paint. The breakfast came with an hair, other guess sent their breakfast back too. I would never stay at this hotel ( more like bed and breakfast) again Definitely NOT worth the money my advise is go elsewhere ..Very disappointed spoilt our weekend in beautiful York

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GED5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your review. If I can address each of your points in turn.

As a hotel we do not advertise Superior rooms as all of our rooms are the same with either king size double or twin beds, flat screens tv and all ensuite with either a five point power shower or power shower and jacuzzi bath. We do not advertise having a lift here as we are a listed building and are not permitted to have one unfortunately.
You were resident in one of our larger rooms which has a lovely view over the museum gardens.

I have had a look at your reservation that was made on line and there are no special requests on there. It just confirms that you reserved our executive package which includes bathrobes, slippers, fruit and mineral water.

I am sorry that you felt the breakfast was less than satisfactory. I have spoken to the duty manager on that day and there is only one record of breakfast being sent back on that day due to a change of preference in eggs. I am not sure where the hair could be from as both our chef and duty manager have none but I will certainly look into this for you.

If you wish to discuss any for the points raised further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,077 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Property: Jorvik Hotel
Address: 50-52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 22 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing