We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Experience”
Review of Jorvik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jorvik Hotel
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in York
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An OK Experience”
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Arrived at Jorvik immediately put off by the only english speaking female member of staff behind reception. I asked her politely was our room refurbished/upgraded - she snapped back - THEY ALL ARE. She wouldnt look at me, speaking directly to my husband pretending I didnt exist. Both my husband and I found this extremely ignorant. Her lack of customer service skills became quite apparent.
Our room was clean and smart and overall we were happy with the accommodation, however our coffee machine did not work. We left a note for the cleaner, who in return left a note back explaining how to use it! (we have the same machine at home). We gave up. Walls very thin, you can hear next doors going to the loo, talking, laughing, breathing, I rest my case.... Breakfast staff were very helpful, infact all the staff were great apart from the flirt at the front of reception who gave my husband a cheery goodbye and smile, and scowled at me. Oh how we laughed..... Just a note - we got this room for approx £60 per night - any more than this is just not worth it. Try Guy Falkes or Dean Court.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    195
    130
    73
    53
See reviews for
57
337
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed at Jorvik Hotel on Sat 7th March. The hotel was clean and tidy, most refurbishment has finished and our room was very nice and had a high standard of facilities (huge comfy bed, large plasma TV, air conditioning, Jacuzzi bath) although the room itself was a little on the small side. Breakfast was superb and all the staff were very pleasant and eager to please. All in all a very pleasurable stay and the price was very reasonable. Would not hesitate to return,

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stay over the weekend, having arrived by train to York, the hotel was easy to find and only 10 minutes walk which was through the park.
Having arrived early, we weren't expecting to check in so early but the friendly reception informed us that there was a room available and let us check in early.
Clean, spacious, nicely decorated, the room was perfect and looked as if it had just been refurbished. We had been warned on the hotel Website that there would be some going on but it wouldn't hampen our stay, which it didn't. The Public areas, reception and dining room were nicely decorated, a minimal look, but fresh and very appropriate. The corridors still require some attention but with a little more time, they should have these areas addressed.
The management provided more than adequate amenities in the room; more than what i have found in other similar establishments; a coffee machine with capsules, a machine that removed creases in suits or jackets and a jacuzzi bath. The bed was more than comfortable which made it hard to get out of in the morning. The only thing i could say was wrong was the little heater/blower that we had to use to warm up the room. As it was a very cold day, it took a really long time to warm the room and bathroom up.
The breakfast choices were ample, my choice of Full English & thick toast definitely satisfied my needs, however my girlfriend's scrambled eggs was less than satisfactory. But there other items which she was glad to substitute.
All in all, a lovely place to stay in which i would definitely come back to and recomment to others if they visit York.

  • Liked — Amenities in the room, spacious, huge bed, central location, affordable price
  • Disliked — inferrior heating in rooms and bathroom, creaky corridors
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Miaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2008

We have just returned home from a wedding which was held at the Jorvik Hotel in York. The level of accommodation and service was abysmal. We booked and paid for the room back in July 08 we were informed that all refurbishment work would be completed. However the refurbishment was still ongoing and carried on regardless of the wedding party .See attached photos of the hall outside our room these are photos of when it was tidy after the builders had finished for the day before these were taken there were tools strewn up and down the corridor. The wedding party had to walk through clouds of dust and building debris. The building work carried on throughout the whole day! The toilets were out of service on both floors and we were told that the non resident wedding guests would have to use the resident guest’s facilities. After complaints were made and at our suggestion a room was provided to allow guests toilet facilities.
This unfortunate situation was made worse through the total lack of organisation, facilities and total disregard of guest comfort. I can only assume that this was due to inexperience of the staff which is of no comfort what so ever on such an important day for the newly weds the wedding meal was totally disorganised not enough table and chairs for guests, the top table was placed so that all those seated at the top table had to squeeze through a small gap to get to the food, music had to be requested and then it was only the radio. There was not enough to drink at the bar guests were making do with what drinks were available not what they wanted this could be understood at the end of the party but not at the beginning.
Our room was also not finished there were pencil marks all over where the builders had been marking out, holes were not filled, the whirlpool bath did not work, grout in the floor tiles was loose and sticking to our feet as well as being painful when stood on
The final insult was waking up this morning to find a note stuffed under the door informing us that there would only be room service breakfast. Which we filled in and left outside the room as stated on the note only to find it still there when we were packed ready to go and quite frankly at £95 per night I would expect to be able to eat my breakfast at a table not on my lap sat on a bed.
I have got to say that the whole stay seemed like we were just in the way of the builders and the staff. The wedding party was poorly managed from start to finish I have lodged a complaint with the receptionist before leaving requesting a refund. Being a regular traveller and staying at numerous hotels and guest houses I have never stayed at one so resembling faulty towers type service as this one. How they had the nerve to stage a wedding party with such inexperienced staff is beyond contempt. I know that the newlyweds will probably not complain as they would not want to remember their wedding day as being spoilt. A couple of small errors of judgement are understandable when organising a wedding but this was just one complaint after another. The worst thing is that the staff didn’t see anything wrong with the way they had seating arrangements, lack of enough seating etc, etc, etc, etc, etc. Suggestions for compromises had to come from the guests. If you think that the website is misleading the staff will lie directly to your face We never even got a phone call from the manager as promised on departure when we complained about the place the whole attitude of this place stinks not sorry at all for ruining someones wedding no remorse or apology if you think that they will worry about ruining a short break you would be better off pitching a tent in the park opposite the hotel

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank MiddlesbroughGramf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

UK
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from yet again another throughly enjoyable stay at the Jorvic hotel!

We have visited the hotel a few times over the last couple of years and have noticed a number of changes for the better this time. We were a little apprehensive at first as we hadn't visited since old management, but our worries were soon put to ease.

The hotel was lovely and is still being gradually renovated to an excellent standard.From the operations manager Rorie, to all the breakfast staff, bar staff and reception staff you should be proud of yourselves for the excellent service and hospitality you give.

The room was fantastic, had everything you need and more.Good sized bedroom and the bed was really comfy.The location is fantastic and it is very easy to find. Lots sights and restaurants a short walk away! The breakfast was also lovely, fantastic selection and of a very high quality.

I would definatly recommend the Jovic Hotel to all of my friends and family!!

We cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — The friendly athmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet08Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

I was disappointed more than any thing. I had arranged this stay in York as we were celebrating my partners birthday. I had asked for an early check in and was told at the time of booking this was not a problem. We were not able to check in early! Our room was awful! It was not clean and we felt uncomfortable about sleeping in the bed. The mattress spelt of damp as did the whole room. The bathroom had not been cleaned well and there was hair around the sink. We called down to reception to ask if we could change rooms but was advised they were full. Breakfast was awful! We were not acknowledged, when we were we felt we were an inconvenience to the staff. We waited a little longer then left as we had our train to catch. I asked to speak to the manager and was told she was not available as she was not in(9.45am) I asked to speak to any other manager and was told he was too busy in breakfast. We commented on the poor service and our room not being as clean as it should be and was told well maybe next time we could ask for a better room. We were not offered a refund. York is a lovely city and we will return but not to this hotel. It didn't feel like a hotel!

  • Disliked — the damp smell
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezzer129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexalina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

I don't know where to start- it was so bad it was funny.
Arrived, lovely street, position and building. Receptionist friendly, bar area etc, nicely decorated. Got to the back of building where our room was up the stairs- Temperature dropped to icy- smelt of damp and fustiness- got to our room (12) and we were appalled. Looked like hadn't been decorated since 70's. Cobwebs hanging above beds, filthy, stained carpet, terrible damp smell, freezing cold (radiator didn't work), sockets didn't work, marks all over walls, shower so hot it was dangerous, then freezing the next second. Cannot believe a hotel has the nerve to hire a room like it.
Apparently other rooms have been refurbished, but not this one.
We complained about the temperature and state- got £25 off room price initially, they couldn't move us as fully booked. We were out all day and evening. Returned to room and everything smelt of damp. Next morning was hoping breakfast would salvage situation, but it was a joke. The service was a calamity- tables left uncleared for ages- people sat down for 30 mins before orders taken, stuff being dropped on floor, other items running out and not being refilled- and milk served in surgar bowls!! When the breakfast came it was foul- god only knows how the chef had cooked everything but it was rank.
As I said 'funny'- Fawlty towers but without Basil.
Duty Manager polite and apologetic, but he was about 12. They clearly need to sort themselves out, and get staff in to overhaul the place as could have potential to be good as location lovely. Staff there unfortunately didn't have a clue.
Only bonus about this was we got almost total bill refunded and only ended up costing £25 for two of us, but never again!!!
PS Beware of the iron which we borrowed. Should have been condemned!!

  • Liked — Getting it for next to nothing after complaining
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bexalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#15 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Property: Jorvik Hotel
Address: 50-52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 22 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing